We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, friendly staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mam Papaya

Mam Papaya
Walking street, Ko Lipe, Thailand
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 47 Restaurants in Ko Lipe
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Manchester, UK.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food, friendly staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Amazing authentic food, very well priced, surprisingly excellent service, friendly staff always smiling and chatting with the guests.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    26
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Delicious mango sticky rice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great place for dinner, very good value for money, lovely waitresses, delicious food; we particularly loved the mango sticky rice.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great northern thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Of the three nights we had on Koh Lipe we ate here twice. We ate ffom their Northern Thailand menu as we just love grilled chicken, papaya salad and sticky rice and its sll great. The salad is prepared in the streetside kitchen and the hot dishes from out the back.
Service is great too.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“best food in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

papaya mom is a small thai restaurant in the middle of the walking street. the food and the drinks are extraordinary delicious and there we had the best mango with sticky rice we ever ate. the restaurant is leaded by a thai family. all the members are extemly friendly and very communicative. it is possible to observe streetfood-selling "back-stage" and everytime we had a lot of fun with these beautiful people, who own this special place for very good and cheap thai food.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Tasty, authentic Thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I ate here twice, having the massaman curry and tom kha gai as these are my two favourite Thai dishes and were certainly done justice by the chef at Papaya Mom. Service was efficient and friendly.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mam Papaya also viewed

Ko Lipe, Satun Province
 
Ko Lipe, Satun Province
 

Been to Mam Papaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mam Papaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.