We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow and easy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bila Beach Bar, Bungalow & Bistro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Lipe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bila Beach Bar, Bungalow & Bistro
Save
You added Bila Beach Bar, Bungalow & Bistro to your Saves list
Bila Beach, Ko Lipe 91110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lipe
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Slow and easy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed here for about 4 days in December last year, took a few days before we got into the pace here which is very slow and relaxed. But once we got the hang of doing nothing and being served great Pad Thai we found ourself to enjoy the place :)
We did enjoy having the place almost to ourself except for a few other guests as there is just around 4 bungalows, much better than having people everywhere.
The only thing worth complaining is the beds, after two nights on that hard bamboo-bed your back wasn't that happy :)
We would defintly recommend Bila Beach if you are looking for a place to wind down and take it easy!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    7
    3
    1
    5
See reviews for
3
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

How does one describe paradise? This intimate, rustic, artistic gem in one of the worlds most beautiful settings is as close as we've come to pure bliss. Confused bookings and less than regular housekeeping and plumbing is all forgotten within seconds when weighed up against the superb ambience, hospitality and multiple talents of Taum - owner, musician, artist and brilliant cook, the hugely likeable (Rasta) Mon - killer Barman, firedancer & DJ, then Shu - backgammon genius, consistent, quiet and reliably grounding the experience.
White sands, crystal waters, arty chic, great island music(never too loud), best fresh & delicious food, great cocktails and huge welcoming personalities in this tiny enclave make staying here an unforgettable experience. A cautionary note to these 3 charming young men - remember we are all guests - not just the curvy ones in bikinis.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

Bila beach is a little piece of paradise! My boyfriend and I spent 5 idyllic days there and didn't want to leave! Tam & his staff are great and went out of their way to spoil my boyfriend on his birthday arranging a birthday cake, fire dancing, sky lanterns & making him a necklace & bracelet. Tam is a fabulous cook - try the chilli chicken with cashew nuts & their fresh prawns with curry - AMAZING! Will definitely be back! Thanks Bila Beach (hope you enjoy your Bop It!) Kim & Chris

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Ok I had 3 days and it was still not yet high season and flooding and miserable in Bangkok. I was able to get into Bila Beach on a last minute I was soooooo lucky! The staff is absolutely amazing! Taum (the owner), Mon and Shu took such good care of us, cooked the most amazing fresh fish and southern Thai delicacies ever! The bungalows are incredible! Outdoor bathrooms, super comfy beds, spotlessly clean. THis is the secluded beach bungalow that you only hear about other people finding. I am sooo lucky. Did I say that already? And be sure to ask Mon to fire dance for you!!! He's incredible.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nørager
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

nicest people
great food & drinks (the best mojito)
quiet and peaceful - when there is no raveparty at the next beach!!!(We had two nights with dancemusic)
Chili the dog is good with children

Room Tip: They are all good I think. They have a dorm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

On arriving at Bila you notice how well it's blended into it's surroundings. Bamboo, foliage and a lovely wee beach and all lovingly built by Taum and his crew. I stayed here for 12 days with my mate from Oz and it was awesome. We had Mon Rasta, June All and Taum to look after us and they did a brilliant job. Mon's slush Mojitos are the best I've tasted and June's cooking was excellent. Breakfast of fresh fruit shakes, muesli with fresh fruit and pineapple pancake yummy... Then a choice of Pad Thai, Curry's or pretty much anything you ask for.
If you want hot showers and a flushing loo then Bila is not for you!! But for the more adventurous types out there you have a warmish shower and water bowled toilet which is fine and the rooms are excellent with good beds, good size and nice balconies. It's a pretty quiet spot but only a 5 min walk from Pattya beach.
We went when the season was winding down so I can't say how noisy it would be during the summer months but there's not a lot around but in saying that a 10 min walk takes you to Mia Luna beach and it's moon parties which were pretty awesome, just don't go for a swim with your camera in your pocket!!
This place is well chilled out and if that's what your looking for then look no further. Smiling faces all round and you might even get Mon to do the fire throwing and give you a shot too...
I can't praise this place highly enough, it was just what I was looking for. Really nice guests to chat away with and as I've said the staff are excellent and very friendly.
Mon, June and Taum I'll hopefully be seeing you guys next year.
All the best from Stevie Kidd xxx

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

My husband & I stayed at Bila Beach for 7 nights in February. I had booked long in advance (4 months prior) and was glad I did! I was asked so many times during out stay how we had gotten a reservation...it's called planning ahead! :) With only 5 bungalows on a perfect little beach, it is becoming so popular you should definitely book in advance if you want the privilege of staying here.

We had a week of pure bliss. We hardly left the property. We didn't need to! With a quiet beach with snorkeling right off (they have equiment you can borrow) and the bar always happy to mix a cocktail or Taum ready to make you a wonderful lunch, I would cop a squat under a palm tree every morning and laze the day away, maybe moving to a hammock for variety for a few hours. The music was always perfect...perfect volume, a little reggae or Morcheeba or world beat, but the perfect soundtrack to my days in paradise.

The staff is one happy family, and we felt part of it too by our second day. Taum, Peter, June, Man, and Jie (& the pups!) were always obliging and never were too busy to have a chat. And the atmosphere - no shirt, no shoes, that's service! - was exactly what we needed for our taste of island life. Every meal was great. You have to try the banana pancake for breakfast and hope they have a fish BBQ while you were there...best meal in our whole 3 weeks in Thailand.

I could go on and on, but honestly, if you are planning a trip to an idyllic island in the south of Thailand, this is a fantastic choice. It takes an effort to get there, but it is well worth the trip.

Thank you Bila Beach for the wonderful memories...I think of you everyday and hope to be back someday. You are always welcome in Canada!

Cheers,
Pam & Tony

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bila Beach Bar, Bungalow & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bila Beach Bar, Bungalow & Bistro

Address: Bila Beach, Ko Lipe 91110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Satun Province > Ko Lipe
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lipe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bila beach bungalow, bar & bistro is nestled in the jungle and situated on a small private beach on the sunset side (west) of the island. our beach boasts terrific offshore snorkeling/kayaking, a secluded chill-out atmosphere and superb sunset viewing while sipping on our tasty cocktails! Our open-air bistro is just steps away from the sea and is an ideal spot to catch a spectacular sunset and to catch ‘the catch of the day’! our inventive yet causal menu changes according to the fishermen’s luck of the day and is a testament to Thai cuisine with fresh island ingredients. Bila’s spacious bungalows feature bamboo verandas-all with incredible views of the Andaman sea , airy outdoor bathrooms and a relaxed atmosphere to unwind on your island holiday. Each bungalow is just steps from the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bila Beach Bar, Bungalow & Bistro Hotel Satun
Bila Beach Bar, Bungalow And Bistro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bila Beach Bar, Bungalow & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.