We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanom Beach Lipe Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Lipe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sanom Beach Lipe Resort
Save
You added Sanom Beach Lipe Resort to your Saves list
216 moo 7, Pattaya Beach, Ko Lipe, Thailand (Formerly Sanom Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 24 Ko Lipe B&B and Inns
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Perfect Place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

We stayed there in December for 6 Days and booked the first 3 days in advance to have a place to stay. Our plan was to have a look aroung to check if there are other nice accommodations. After our stroll we decided to book 3 more nights. There is no other place on this island for this price. The rooms a simple but what do i need more than a bed, a moscitonet and a fan?

The best thing is the beach. It is a small beach part, which is isolated from the main beach. It is quiet an most of all there is nearly no longtailboat in the water. All the other beaches on the island had massiv amounts of longtailboats in the water.

The kitchen is simple aswell but very delicious. We always had breakfast and lunch there. For dinner we went to the other parts of the island.

So in total the perfect stay in Koh Lipe. If we go there again this is the only place we would stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    12
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
7
26
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laholm, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

This resort is placed at a perfect spot, right at the beach front. The beach is very nice and has only a few visitors daily. Snorkeling is also very good. The staff is very friendly and the food is quite good. The bungalows are a bit austere but in this place, who cares? You are in paradise!

Any drawbacks? Well, the beds are rock hard and the restaurant is only opened until about five a clock in the afternoon.

However, if you like your own private spot with a touch of paradise, stay at Sanom Beach.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

If your after a quiet, 'real' Thailand beach feel this is the place to go. The whole island is perfect but Sanom Beach especially is an oasis in the bustling tourist trap of Thailand.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Stayed for 5 days and enjoyed it . Was so pleased not to be on Pattaya Beach which is too busy and so noisey at night. You get a bit of 'old Thailand' here. Well worth the effort if you don't mind the bugs. Go to Sunrise and Sunset beach for variety and avoid Pattaya. Also avoid the snorkelling tours as they are very disappointing if you after good coral.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Sanom Beach is one of the places i would recommend on Lipe which becomes more and more like a target for package tourists, families and the rest of the travel circus. Most of them settle on Pattaya Beach which is by now filled with drinking stalls, massage places and the longtal boats in front of the coast waiting for costumers are giving you the feeling you sleep next to a parking lot. Sanom instead is a bit secluded but still perfectly reachable by a ten minute walk. dont expect to much for the huts though, very simple huts with a bed, moskitonet, running cold water and electricity from 5pm to 9am. yes, there are animals (frogs, rats, sometimes snakes) but the staff takes care of it when you alarm them. some of the (bungalow 1-4) have great seaview and stand directly over the stones of the beach, perfect for a hammock on the veranda. the bar at the place is ok for what you need during the day, for a propper breakfast though a little walk to Lipe Cafe or so might be better. From Sanom (as from all places on Lipe) you can always catch a longtail to other parts of the island or snorkeling trips and so on. the staff runs a bbq twice a week which is much nicer than the other bbqs at the larger beaches.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olsztyn, Poland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed on Koh Lipe for 8 days in beginning of November. Initially booked other bungalows located on Pattaya Beach, but had to leave them after first 2 nights as we could not sleep because of rats. It was biggest surprise for us as rats are really serious problem for Koh Lipe and most of bungalow resorts have problems with them. So after 2 nights we had to change our place and went for a short walk around the island to review other bungalows. Sanom Beach was absolutely amazing. This place with its perfect location, small and peacefull beach and friendly and warm owners was our choice and we could not make better decision.

Bungalow was very simple, but clean and cosy. Terrace with its view definitely made our stay. We had Bungalow #3, it is the one located closest to main building just few meters from water and sandy beach. We enjoyed it very much and had great time during our stay at Sanom Beach Resort. Lack of hot water, electricity during day hours and wifi was not a problem for us as we were not looking for 5* resort on Koh Lipe, but experiences and Samon Beach with its location and surroundings is very unique and highly recommended travel experience on this island.

Room Tip: It is possible to order boat to pickup you directly from Sanom Beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lewes uk
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Sanom beach is a short walk from Pataya beach, it's small, pretty with some nice trees for shade at the back of the beach. You reach it either by boat or there's a woden walkway around the rocks at the end of Pataya beach (you walk under Pataya Song Bungalows)
The setting for the bungalows is pretty idyllic and you are spared most of the noise of longtails that can blight some parts of Pataya... also the music from late night parties at the bars on Pataya beach seems to not quite reach here.
The bungalows are basic, but if you just need a bed, a deck and a bathroom then are fine for a stay on a tropical beach, they are expensive for what's on offer, but then most of Lipe is and the setting makes up for the huts. The owners are really nice, very helpful as are all the staff. Food here is fine, mostly traveller staples, although they do do fish BBQs if enough people are interested.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanom Beach Lipe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanom Beach Lipe Resort

Address: 216 moo 7, Pattaya Beach, Ko Lipe, Thailand (Formerly Sanom Beach Resort)
Location: Thailand > Satun Province > Ko Lipe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lipe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be wellcome at Sanom Beach Lipe Resort on Koh Lipe, Thailand. Probably the best kept secret on the island. Nestled at one of the most unknown spots on the island our place has only 11 clean and charming bungalows . Acces is via a 5 min walk by the wooden bridge across the rocks at the western end of Pattaya Beach. Created in 2007 by Jeang, Sanom Beach Resort is one of the few places that are still locally run. It isn't much far that time when Koh Lipe was just an isolated island habitated only by few hundred people of an ancient tribe of sea nomads. Here in Sanom you'll travel back to those days and get a touch of the real Koh Lipe and its people. Trying to be even more respectful with the paradise where we live and for environmental reasons like saving water, less waste, ... All of us have to be consequent with our Beach carrying capacity. The Restaurant & All Services will be exclusively for Sanom Beach's Guests. The goal of it is to provide better service to you and be sensitive to sustainability issues. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sanom Beach Hotel Koh Lipe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanom Beach Lipe Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.