We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, smelly room” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Kasirin Resort

Baan Kasirin Resort
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ko Lipe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baan Kasirin Resort
Save
You added Baan Kasirin Resort to your Saves list
Ko Lipe, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Ko Lipe
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Dirty, smelly room”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights as a last resort, my partner and I were I'll and desperate for some AC and a good nights sleep. We paid £35 per night for a dirty, smelly room that was infested with bugs, worms in the toilet and bathroom and mosquitoes everywhere. The AC did work though so that was a blessing. Lipe is a hard place to find accommodation on, it's busy an expensive so shop around.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    10
    4
    10
See reviews for
4
10
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

located at walking street
the room is clean and comfortable
they provided free wifi and hot shower.
please book early to get better price instead of walk in
room price is reasonable

the 2 lady staff is nice and helpful

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Location of this place is very good, on Walking Street 100 meters from Pattaya beach.
It can get a bit noisy at night but at midnight music is tourned off everywhere so you can get good sleep at night.
In the morning the other guests will not pay much attention at your quiet so be' prepared to be waken up at around 8.
There are several places nearby where you can have your breakfast, lunch and dinner and nice bars also.
Longtail bar was my favourite, with live music every night and a cozy atmosphere.
My room at Kasirin had no AC and no hot water, but had a good fan. More expensive rooms have AC.
Room was basic but clean, with TV (almost alla channels were Thai channels, no movie channels, so pretty useless...).
Bathroom was very very basic, with toilet with no flush, but okish.
You get wifi internet in your room, but very very slow, as on most of Ko Lipe island.
Prices in peack season are quite high (I payed 1250 bt per night) and you can find much cheaper places on the island.
But in the end location is very good and sometimes it is worth it to pay a bit more for it. I spent 2 weeks there and I enjoyed it.
If they charged lower prices like 800-900 bt per night that would be perfect.
Nevertheless I was there for Christmas and New Year and they were almost always fully booked. So do consider advance booking for this place anyway as for that period you will not be likely to find rooms available just walking in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed in Baan Kasirin 2 which was perfectly situated amidst all the activities..
Rooms were decent, clean with an attached bathroom..
The room can accommodate 3 adults.
Good place to stay and the price is pretty reasonable

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
376 helpful votes 376 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

A nice quaint little terrace accommodation. Small room (able to sleep 3) with TV and wifi. No hot water. Generally clean room and the air condition functions well. When staying in this property, look for Baan Kasirini 2 instead of the older block. The BK2 is located further east in Lipe walk nearer to the Sunrise beach.

Pros
- cheap and located in heart of village
- air con, wifi, tv
- quiet even during peak season
- clean at Baan Kasirini 2 terrace
- staff not very hospitable but they fix your woes (very few)

Cons
- no hot water
- a walk from the beach
- no shampoo/washes/soap etc (yes to towels)
- no housekeeping

It's a nice property and cheaper if you walk in than book online. In fact all hotels we checked we're cheaper/can be bargained if you do a walk in. Online rates during peak or high season are crazy.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. We booked the hotel from an agent website a month before which is apparently a lot more cheaper because the price can go really high if you just walk in to get the room. However, the problem with booking though an agent website for places like this is that they may not know about your booking because the do not have those high tech system where they can get notification immediately after making the booking. As a result, they might just rent your room to some else. So to overcome this problem, you can email them or call them to remind them about your booking and cross your fingers that no bad luck would happen to you when you get there. The same almost happen to us as they were not informed about our internet booking but we are lucky that they havent rent out the last room..fuuhhh!!

Room:-
We got the room for just 95baht but be advised that this room is only equiped with a small wall fan with no breakfast. The cleanliness was ok but definately could be improved. They provide us with two towels, TV with most of the channels in Thai, two pillows and a blanket. At night can get very hot and sweetie. It would be wise to buy a mosquito coil because there is no mosquito net provided. However, I am happily to report that there is no gecko or lizard spotted but got cockroach though..but I managed to kill it..unfortunately..

Location:-
This place earns it highest rating just on the location. Situated on the walking street, freaking near to the food stalls and the beach. Just less than a minute walk to the beach.

Overall:-
The place is not too bad and I would stay here again if I have to choose a fan room but I would rather spend more on an A/C room next time definately!!

Room Tip: Spend more money by picking a room with air-conditioner because it can be freaking hot in Koh Lipe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

5 minute walk from Pattaya beach so good location for getting on/off the boats.

Friendly manager. Laundry service. Didn't get our room cleaned but saw others getting cleaned so maybe because we were in when they were doing it. Our room (fan only but A/C ones available too) only had cold water shower. No mosquito net but window grates.

Ok value for money (approx 1200B a night for a double with fan) but cheaper/more basic accom available elsewhere.

No wifi or other facilities. Shop right next door.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baan Kasirin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Kasirin Resort

Address: Ko Lipe, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Satun Province > Ko Lipe
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Ko Lipe
Number of rooms: 191
Also Known As:
Baan Kasirin Hotel Koh Lipe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baan Kasirin Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.