We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but too expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Idyllic Concept Resort

Save Saved
You added Idyllic Concept Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Idyllic Concept Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Sunrise Beach, Taorutao National Marine Park, Ko Lipe 91110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 hotels in Ko Lipe
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good but too expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed 4 night in Idyllic resort. Best hotel on the island, staff was great. So helpful. The hotel looks nice and location is perfect. The rooms are large and beautifully designed, however very poor maintained. Our room was build in 2011 and already a lot of things were broken. Also outside the room it was a kind of messy ( all sunbeds stored under the stairs, looks very poor). The beach in fromt of the hotel is clean, but we were schocked about the mess on the rest of the island. Horrible. It looks like a garbage belt in many spots. All over our stay on Koh Lipe was great. If they clean the island, it is beautiful and people are amazingly friendly.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachot S, Manager at Idyllic Concept Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Sir,

Warmest greetings from The Idyllic Concept Resort!

Thank you for posting your review with us on Tripadvisor.

Seems to be that your stay with us was an enjoyable one and we are glad to learn that you were satisfied with our products, services and facilities. Thank you for the kind words and lavish praises bestowed upon our team members, we will definitely share your positive feedback with them and they must be really happy to hear from you!

We would like to inform you that we plan to maintenance in this low season then our room will be new look in the near future.

Thank you for choosing our resort, we look forward to welcoming you back to our resort on your next visit to this beautiful island.

Sincerely yours,
The Management of Idyllic Concept Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    83
    23
    12
    4
See reviews for
58
144
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I was really looking forward to our stay at Idyllic resort from the reviews and pictures from Tripadvisor. However, our stay was a huge disappointment and I wanted to share our experience.

First off, we were warned by the hotel that there might be on going building works within the hotel during our stay. We had the option to cancel our reservation, but we decided to keep it nevertheless. So my review will not contain any criticism regarding the building works as we were warned.

Check-in to the hotel were absolutely fine, the staff were friendly and we were checked in without any issues.

After we settled in, that's when the trouble started:

- One of the lights was unplugged, and when I plugged it in, it tripped the fuse for all lighting in the room. This issue took about 20 minutes to sort out and we were told there is a known issue with that light and we should not use it. It would have been nice to be notified at the beginning without all the trouble.

- After we had showered to get prepare to go out for dinner, my wife saw some water leaks in the living room from the shower. So we mentioned to reception on our way out to dinner. And after we got back, the water leak was still there and nothing was done.

- Next day I requested an electric mosquito repellent in the morning, and was told it would be there after housekeeping has cleaned up the room. When we returned there were no repellent,
and I had to call reception again for it. However, we noticed now the shower leak is now being covered with a towel on the floor.

- On our checkout day, our boat was scheduled to leave Koh Lipe at 9.30, and we were told we should be ready to leave at 8.45 at reception. When we were preparing to leave the room, someone from reception called and said our boat is leaving at 8.30 and we should have been ready. I questioned this information and he apologized and hanged up. I'm not really sure what happened here, because as far as I know there is only one boat each day that leaves Koh Lipe and that's at 9.30. If I know this, surely someone who works at the hotel would know it by heart.

- After arriving at the boat to leave the island. We were asked for our return ticket. I remembered that during check-in to the hotel, the receptionist asked to see it, but I do not remember that she gave it back to me. Unknown to me at that precise moment that she actually gave the ticket back to my wife. So it was a little hectic that we were looking around, I was certain we do not have it and they were certain they gave it back. After a few minutes my wife found something in her purse and asked me if that was the ticket. I felt very embarrassed and tried to apologies, but the staff member that took us to the boat didn't wait for my apology and scolded my wife! This was beyond rude and before I could say anything he left.

Before the rude staff our stay was actually not so bad (forgetting the issues I've mentioned) the room was good apart from the leak and mosquitoes. And most of the staff were very friendly and helpful. However, the rudeness of the person that took us to the boat was unforgivable. To me, it shows the kind of training they provide their staff is inadequate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachot S, Manager at Idyllic Concept Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Sir,

Having reviewed your commentary on your recent stay with us, we’d like to take this opportunity to thank you for notifying us of your observations. As a resort dedicated to providing superior customer service we are continually striving to best serve our customers. When our efforts fail to meet expectations, it is important for the matter to be brought to our attention so that it can be corrected as soon as possible.

We’re sorry to learn that your recent stay with us was a disappointing experience. I wanted to take this opportunity to address some of the commentary rendered.

All of your inconveniences in the room have been examined and found. It is the employee’s fault for the lack of communication. We apologize for the inconvenience and frustration. Meanwhile, the management of the hotel has ordered to increase training, and the process of informing the customer.

The management of the hotel realizes that clarifying and providing information to customers is very important. In this case, our employees urged a faster check out because they had been advised by the boat that it was fully booked that day and the customer should get there earlier to get good seats. Therefore employees urged customers to check out faster without informing you of the reason. The hotel apologizes for the lack of the information communicated to the employees, and will improve. This service is for the better.

We’re so sorry to hear that one of our staff members was unpleasant and rude. We will investigate and will have seriously penalty action if it may require immediately.

Our efforts in regard to staff training have proven fruitful, as evidenced by the glowing remarks rendered on the individuals cited in your commentary. Of course, there are those that require a bit more intensive training, and your observations will allow us to continue reinforcing the basic aspects of Customer Service to those who’re most in need.


We apologize for the inconvenience and frustration that you experienced while with us. Customer service is the most important issue that we in the Hospitality Industry are faced with, and one that we try to tackle to be best of our ability each day.

In closing, we are constantly attempting to improve ourselves, to meet the goal of providing a memorable guest experience for each of clients.

We do thank you for having selected our resort, and hope that you’d consider visiting the island once again.

Sincerely yours,
The Management of Idyllic Concept Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here during the start of peak season in oct 2011 and still have fond memories of the place.
Staff were extremely friendly, alway smiling and very attentive.
Rooms were great - clean and modern. Tried both the garden and pano room.
Small resort with access to the beach. Beach on this side of the island is much more quiet.
Short walk away from the main street. We would take the 10-15 min walk to the dive shop on the other end of the main street.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachot S, Manager at Idyllic Concept Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greeting from Idyllic Concept Resort !

Many thanks for the kind review of your recent stay with us, here at the Idyllic Concept Resort! We’re thrilled to see that you’d mentioned individual staff members by name as that indicates our efforts in improving the quality of our Customer Service has proven fruitful! We’ll make sure that all of those cited receive a copy of your review also.

We’re glad that you took the opportunity to immerse yourself in all that Idyllic Concept Resort had to offer and judging from the last line of your review, and I’m assured that we’ll see you once again in the near future!

Sincerely yours,
The Management of Idyllic Concept Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I have just been staying at the Idyllic Concept Resort, and had a wonderful time there. The hotel is beautifully designed - modern and stylish, and respectful of the local area too. After one night in one of the iGarden rooms (which was nice), we upgraded to one of the iPool rooms for the rest of our stay, which was fabulous. We were able to step straight into the pool from our balcony, and the room was very spacious. In my opinion, Sunrise beach is by far the best beach of the three main beaches on the island, with lovely views across to smaller islands, and we loved sitting out on the hotel terrace drinking (very generous!) cocktails as we watched the moon rise over the sea - just stunning. I had to almost pinch myself to believe I was really there sometimes.
The staff were very attentive, polite, and helpful, and we also enjoyed talking with them about the island. Breakfast buffet very good - would have loved to have been able to get a proper cup of coffee before 11am though.
We ate at the restaurant several times, and food was very good, and very well presented. It is more expensive than other places to eat on Walking Street, but then you don't have the presentation, quality of service and the stunning view of course. Coming from London, the food was still very good value indeed, and we would expect to pay at least twice as much back home.
We came in the wet season, and although prepared for some rain, we were very lucky indeed and had beautiful weather for our whole trip - so when you think "Wet Season", don't imagine it's torrential rain for days on end! Talking to the people there, they said that wet season is often much less of an issue on Lipe, and the wet weather often blows over in a couple of hours.
The sea around the island is beautiful - and on the day we went on a snorkelling trip it was crystal clear, giving us a wonderful view of the corals and fish. Our guide for that day was a wonderful man who has lived on the island all of his life, and really knows the best spots - ask the hotel reception to arrange a day out with him in his boat for a great experience.
One plea! Please respect the sea and the coral reefs around this enchanting island. Don't touch or step on the coral - it kills it, and thereby damages all of the beautiful marine life that depends on it. And take your rubbish away with you. Although hotel staff always pick up any rubbish that gets washed up, it is a constant battle that we all have to take responsibility for.

Room Tip: Worth paying a bit more for one of the larger and more luxurious rooms - you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachot S, Manager at Idyllic Concept Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Mr.Julian W,


Warmest greetings from The Idyllic Concept Resort!

Thank you for posting your review with us on Tripadvisor

Seems to be that your stay with us was an enjoyable one and we are glad to learn that you were satisfied with our products, services and facilities. Thank you for the kind words and lavish praises bestowed upon our team members, we will definitely share your positive feedback with them and they must be really happy to hear from you!


Thank you for choosing our resort, we look forward to welcoming you back to our resort on your next visit to this beautiful island.

Sincerely yours,
The Management of Idyllic Concept Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

From the start everything was extremely well prepared and nothing was overlooked. A real treat feeling at home on an island so far away. Will revisit this resort again and again. Friendly staff, superb food and the best cocktails on the island. Thanks again idyllic.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachot S, Manager at Idyllic Concept Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Sir,

Warmest greetings from Idyllic Concept Resort.

Thank you for sharing your experience and thoughts on your recent stay with us.

We are glad that you had a wonderful and memorable experience at our resort and we really appreciate your positive feedback regarding our service and facilities. Further, we are pleased to learn that everything we offered you along your stay has exceeded your expectation.

Here at Idyllic Concept Resort we strive to provide our guests with indigenous and exceptional experience all the time.

We hope that your flawless experience will lead you back to Idyllic Concept Resort.

Sincerely yours,
The Management of Idyllic Concept Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 days/2 nights.Upon arrival,were smitten by the amazing view of the Andaman sea.The resort is very well maintained.We booked iSky which is very near to the beach (amazing sea view from your room).I have nothing to complain about the room,the outdoor shower was a bonus.Just tiny bit detail,perhaps the management could add towel hooks (though they provided a wooden ladder,which is okay to hang stuff as well).The space is okay,I don't find it small or anything (and of course there's always wardrobe for your luggages).Liked the concept of the bathroom,very industrial.

The gardens were pretty,especially with the pretty white moke flowers all around.The water is crystal clear,white sandy beach.Beautiful marine park,felt like a 5 year old kid whenever I saw fishes (jellyfish/village itself is very laidback,people are friendly.

Loved the staff,they are very attentive & friendly.Well trained!The staff helped me prepare a surprise birthday cake & sang for my husband (esp one of them,I forgot her name,the chubby long haired lady with the sweetest smile -thank you!).

Local food are not bad at all!Can't say for other type of cuisines because we only ate Thai food (seriously,why would you order Western food when in Thailand?go local!)

Overall,we enjoyed our stay.Definitely worth the time travelled all the way there (low season,worth it).We missed Lipe,hope to return sometime in the future.

Ps: must see the sunrise!one of the most amazing scenic view I've seen.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachot S, Manager at Idyllic Concept Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Sir,

Warmest greetings from The Idyllic Concept Resort!

Thank you for posting your review with us on Tripadvisor.

Seems to be that your stay with us was an enjoyable one and we are glad to learn that you were satisfied with our products, services and facilities. Thank you for the kind words and lavish praises bestowed upon our team members, we will definitely share your positive feedback with them and they must be really happy to hear from you!

Thank you for choosing our resort, we look forward to welcoming you back to our resort on your next visit to this beautiful island.

Sincerely yours,
The Management of Idyllic Concept Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have been really impressed by this hotel. We arrived on koh Lipe and spent two night in a nice little hotel on walking street. However, we quickly decided to go check something else as it was too noisy (works going on from 7.00 am to 6.00 pm which was perfect to have a lie in...!) So we went to check Mali resort on pattaya beach, which was lovely but inconvenient as we would have had to change room during our stay. So We finally ended up at Idyllic Concept Resort.
First of all, we would like to thank the staff and especially Ornn, for making our stay one of the best ever. They were amazing, available. The room was huge, overlooking the swimming pool and the bedding just perfect to rest. This hotel which is not part of a branch is very well managed, clean, and offers really high quality of services ! The only few things that we can point out are the internet which is not available in rooms and really slow in the lobby area. The booking policies : we booked the room online so they were supposed to charge our credit card straight, however, they told us to pay at the end of the stay which did not really matter except if they did not have an extra 5% credit card payment fee (as long as the hotel still offers online booking, it is not supposed to request you to pay on site for this extra fee. We would have appreciated that the online booking remain an online booking). At last, unfortunately, the pool towels were a little smelly. But on overall, we highly recommend this hotel and will return for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachot S, Manager at Idyllic Concept Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Sir,

Many thanks for the kind review of your recent stay with us, here at the Idyllic Concept Resort! We’re thrilled to see that you’d mentioned individual staff members by name as that indicates our efforts in improving the quality of our Customer Service has proven fruitful! We’ll make sure that all of those cited receive a copy of your review also.

We’re glad that you took the opportunity to immerse yourself in all that Idyllic Concept Resort had to offer and judging from the last line of your review, I’m assured that we’ll see you once again in the near future!

Sincerely yours,
The Management of Idyllic Concept Resort,Koh Lipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Idyllic Concept Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Idyllic Concept Resort

Address: Sunrise Beach, Taorutao National Marine Park, Ko Lipe 91110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Satun Province > Ko Lipe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lipe
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lipe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Idyllic Concept Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllic Concept Resort is situated on the beautiful sunrise beach overlooking Andaman Sea at Kho Lipe, Thailand. Idyllic Concept Resort has lush tropical gardens with its own beach access. Surrounded by the unique modern style accommodations with spacious landscaping, beachfront setting, great panoramic sunrise views and sound of breaking waves make this one of Kho Lipe's most romantic place to stay. We are pleased to provide the contemporary guest room style and repeat the privacy of a customer's need, thus then you arrival at Idyllic Concept Resort, you will found the facilities are very comfortably arranged in every a part of the room, including the unique amenities that are extracted from the natural and local herbs, free from chemicals especially those that are poisonous to the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Idyllic Concept Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Idyllic Concept Hotel Koh Lipe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Idyllic Concept Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.