We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best beach huts on Koh Lipe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castaway Resort Koh Lipe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Castaway Resort Koh Lipe to your Saves list
Castaway Resort Koh Lipe
Sunrise Beach, Ko Lipe 91110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Ko Lipe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best beach huts on Koh Lipe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

We stayed a couple of nights on Koh Lipe at this resort on the back of reviews from TA and The Lonely Planet guide and were not disappointed.

On Sunlight beach at the far right hand side these two storey huts were perfectly placed on white sands next to turquoise water. We were lucky enough to walk in and get a sea view room and thoroughly enjoyed staying there.

The beach had a welcome breeze compared to that of Pattaya which was ideal given the temperatures. The resort had a good reasonably priced menu so much so we ate there all but once. Candlelit at night for a bit of the old romance.

Koh Lipe is much busier than it used to be due to development but you still have to admire this gem of an island for it's scenery and waters. The part of the beach outside the resort was quite due to it's location and there was excellent snorkelling among the coral just offshore.

My only gripe was that out of the several islands we visited on honeymoon in Thailand, Lipe was the only one with pieces of glass on the beaches so beware if walking barefoot.

Sunsets are amazing on the tip of the island by the Mountain Resort but expect it to get busy late in the afternoon for that perfect photo for your album.

Highly recommend the Castaway resort for that shipwrecked holiday feeling though if it's a luxury room you want then this isn't the resort for you.

NB No swimming pool but only a couple of the high end resorts do on Lipe. You don't need one with such beautiful water on your doorstep though.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    140
    52
    24
    9
See reviews for
56
219
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
168 hotel reviews
Reviews in 177 cities Reviews in 177 cities
319 helpful votes 319 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

A hotel that is what it says and looks like it does on the website. The wooden structures are quite basic rustic feel but in a good beach front location. The sea view breezy bungalows have a great view of the beach. The garden view ones also would enjoy good views but between the sea breeze ones. Further back the garden comfy bungalow looked fine although at the very rear you’d struggle for a glimpse of the sea. Fan cooled instead of air con was OK but unfortunately no fridge or hot water shower were some shortcomings but to be fair we were aware of this when booking. Prices for food and drink, especially breakfasts, here were significantly higher than elsewhere on the island. Immediately next door was a fine place for breakfast at less than half the price of Castaway. The beach was great, long and not at all crowded. No rows and rows of sunbeds that have become a feature of most of Thailand. The walk from Castaways sunrise beach to Pattaya beach on the other side was only 10/15 minutes. Most of it is on a concrete small road lined with shops, bars and restaurants from the one side to the other. I think Sunrise is the best beach in the day as Pattaya seemed busier with more long tailed boats. However, at night Pattaya beach enjoys restaurants set out on the beach whereas Sunrise beach mostly closes down but this does allow for peaceful evenings in Castaways bar. Clean room, clean bedclothes, great view but yes, you will get the odd insect. It is the tropics and this is made of wood but if you’ve picked the right room for a beach front view you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

We stayed 2nights at Castaway and we left the resort with mixed feelings. The bungalows are lovely and spacious with a modern bathroom area and a lockable chest for your valuables.
The main restaurant area is stylish and relaxing. The food and drink was very good although expensive and you are certainly not receiving anything more exceptional. The staff were pleasant and helpful.
Overall we enjoyed our stay at Castaway, however the ambiance of the resort is somewhat cold and it feels it is perhaps trying a little too hard! The bungalows are typically of high end quality, with that in mind you would expect to pay a high end price. But the rates charged still seem abit over ambitious (eg no hot showers). The 'style, no substance' comment made previously does ring true. We were pleased with our stay but in our opinion we would not stay for a longer period and it was ideal to fit our purpose as go-between while travelling.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

We went as three friends and the website implied that the 'bungalow' would be big enough for us 3 - but as soon as we saw the room we could see that with a rolled up mattress at the end of the bed there would be no room to walk! Also the bathroom is 'open plan' - no door - so that was another problem for us. So my friends went and found somewhere else that was far far cheaper and given that we weren't planning on spending much time in our room we regretted having booked Castaway. The hotel didn't help us at all with our dilemma - didn't seem to care much. I continued to stay but thought it was all quite impersonal and not particularly friendly. Ate there once but thought it wasn't that great - far too many onions - so went to excellent bars and restaurants further down the beach. You pay for a trendy bathroom and wood building - not worth it I think.

Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cl212hk
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

Was there in September with a friend. Perfect low season to enjoy the beach for yourself. Diving was very nice too with Private dives due to the low number of travelers. Visibility under water was not "transparent blue" but more than enough to do some nice shots. Marine life is diverse and even for the snorkels they would appreciate a few outings on the boat. The staff was very very nice and friendly. The accommodation is simple but well designed in wood and palm trees and enough to feel like Robinson on its island.
Food and cocktails were better than any other place we tried around. Internet is working randomly but honestly do we need internet in paradise?
Koh Lipe is a treasure island which we all hope won't be built too much in 10 years. Must go now and enjoy this hidden and secret jewel of south East Asia and Castaway is for sure the best place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

Me & my husband had a wonderful time staying at Castaway Resort. Although there is no hot shower and air-con but we are very happy with our Eco-Friendly bangalow. It is really good for the environment and quite unique in a way.

We did a lots of swiming and snorkeling and it was fantastic! The beach and the island itself was absolutely gorgeous and I hope it will stay that way.
It's a really special place and hard to forget.
I highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

Just catching up with writing reviews of places my girlfriend & I stayed during our year trip...
We stayed just one night before moving to the other side of the island. To be fair the cabins are very pleasing on the eye, but to say they are over priced is an understatement! For the amount of money paid we at the very least expected hot water showers, but no!
Better value for sure on Pattaya beach, where we certainly felt more welcome.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castaway Resort Koh Lipe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Resort Koh Lipe

Address: Sunrise Beach, Ko Lipe 91110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Satun Province > Ko Lipe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lipe
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lipe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Castaway Resort the spirit of ‘The Beach’ is brought to life. Amid the beautiful setting nature has given Koh Lipe, our spacious wooden bungalows and large chill out deck overlooking the beach definitely make Castaway the most atmospheric of Koh Lipe’s resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Castaway Resort Koh Lipe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Resort Koh Lipe Hotel Koh Lipe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castaway Resort Koh Lipe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.