We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely the place to go for a lovely relaxing weekend away.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dufferin Coaching Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Killyleagh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Save
You added Dufferin Coaching Inn to your Saves list
33 High Street, Killyleagh BT30 9QF, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killyleagh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Definitely the place to go for a lovely relaxing weekend away.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

This is such a lovely location,,it is the old ulster bank building..Leontine..the lady who owns and runs the place has done an amazing job..The room that we stayed in was to say in the least fitted out to a very very high standard...The four poster bed was one of the most comfortable beds i have ever slept in and Linda really enjoyed relaxing in the whirlpool bath..... The main sitting room is a lovely place to sit and chill... Leontine goes that extra little bit to make you feel so welcome and her breakfasts are absolutely delicious. Friendly,pleasant infectiously cheerful and extremely helpful are a few words i would use to describe the lovely Leontine..Both Linda and myself would highly recommend the DUFFERIN COACHING INN to anyone who would be thinking of staying in the Killyleagh area and we will definately be returning in the future

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hi Robin and Linda.
Thank you for your wonderful review and thank you for deciding to stay at the Dufferin Coaching Inn. It is very easy to be pleasant and well coming to two such lovely guests. So glad that you enjoyed your breakfasts and the whirlpool bath.
Come and see us again soon.
All best wishes
Leontine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    26
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
21
92
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Helensburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Our second visit here and we were not disappointed. It's difficult to separate the Coaching Inn from the pub next door. Leontine provides bed and breakfast with old fashioned style and a sure touch. Elegant and understated surroundings, great breakfasts, friendly advice and genuine understanding of, and concern for, guest's needs - without the slightest hint of a grovel.
The Dufferin Arms next door provides the chance to abandon the car for the evening and dive in. Like a box of chocolates you never know what you are going to get, who you are likely to meet or what you'll end up talking about. It'll be fun though if you go with the flow. The food is honest pub fare served by friendly folks and there's plenty of it. On the second evening of our stay a local group were practising for a concert, it was like listening to angels and cost nothing. I think Killyleagh is that kind of place. What more would you want?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Hi HelensburghGorb
I really must say sorry for taking so long to respond to your very complimentary review. Breakfast Killyleagh style is the only way to start the day ! Quite agree with your comments about the Dufferin Arms next door.
All best wishes for 2013 and do come back and see us again soon
Leontine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MATLOCK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We have recently toured Northern Ireland and can honestly say that, in our opinion, this was the best place we stayed in.

Leontine is the perfect host making sure everything is to your liking but without intruding in any shape or form.

Our bedroom was fine in all aspects with heating available when required.

The pub next door serves good pub food and we enjoyed a marvellous evening there when local folk singers and guitarists came together.

Recommended without any reservations whatsoever.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Hi Simply the Best wow what a lovely review. Sorry for the delay in responding to your review and thank you for taking the time to write it.
All best wishes for a happy and prosperous 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Had a really nice weekend here. Rooms very nice. Breakfast great. Really nice sitting room to sit in and chat after the busy pub next door with a big roaring fire. We brought our own bottle of wine for a night cap there. The pub next door has a restaurant downstairs and the food was excellent there too. Lovely village and really enjoyed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Hi I really must apologise for my tardy response to your lovely review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Dufferin Coaching inn and enjoyed the peace and quiet of the sitting room.
All best wishes for a very happy 2013
Leontine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

A group of 13 ladies on a two day golf trip stayed with Leontine Haines in The Dufferin Coaching Inn. There was a lovely roaring fire in the "common room" which was a treat. We had a great two nights- sharing sleeping- and breakfast was good. The service was extremely friendly and really good value. Great spot for a golfing/walking/relaxing weekend. We all really enjoyed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Hi Keithcairns
Delighted that you took the time to post such a lovely review about your stay at the Dufferin Coaching Inn. Hope to welcome you ladies back again for some more golf and craic
All best wishes
Leontine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Leontine couldnt have been more helpful both pre and during visit. Inn is really nice and furnishings etc lovely. Very comfortable with great fire in living room returning at night. Breakfast really good. Would recommend. Daft eddies great restaurant 15 mins away. We played golf at spa and ardglass, you could also play mahee island and royal county down if you wanted more golf. Pub next door to inn is great.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Hi Sal
Thank you for your for such a wonderful and comprehensive review. Your group were all delightful guests and good to read that you enjoyed the golf as well as Daft Eddie's
Best wishes
Leontine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

beautiful, comfortable, clean room with plenty of historical character; parking was not a problem; Leontine, the inn keeper was extremely welcoming without being invasive. Great pub next door.
Absolutely delicious breakfast, in fact I would go back for the breakfast alone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Anonymous 762
What a lovely review. Thank you for taking the time to post it. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Inn and found the breakfast so delicious .
All best wishes
Leontine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dufferin Coaching Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dufferin Coaching Inn

Address: 33 High Street, Killyleagh BT30 9QF, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Killyleagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killyleagh
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Dufferin Coaching Hotel Killyleagh
Dufferin Coaching Inn Killyleagh, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dufferin Coaching Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.