We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly lovely people, a special place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morro Otel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Morro Otel to your Saves list
Morro Otel
Yeni Mecidiye Mah, Metin Oktay Cad 3004 sok | No 7, Alacati, Cesme 35950, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 158 Alacati B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Truly lovely people, a special place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The five star hospitality from Zeynep, Vedat and the team make this hotel very special. Our little boy Jack had a wonderful time playing with Zeynep and Vedat’s lovely children Ela and Verda, he also adopted a Turkish grandma Melek who gave him lots of treats and looked after us all fabulously all week, as did Caglar.

Zeynep is so helpful and there is nothing she will not do to make your stay special, she recommended restaurants (every one of which was fantastic), took us to the beach for a day, changed currency for us (better rates than the bank!) and made such beautiful food at the hotel, she is very careful to enquire about your dietary needs and goes out of her way to ensure you have what you need, she even shared her secret recipe with us for the most delicious spicy chutney!

Breakfasts are amazing, all beautiful local and traditional foods, Zenep’s homemade dips and chutneys are to die for! and the Jack thought the homemade cakes for afternoon tea was a wonderful idea!

Morro has a very quaint tranquil garden and a comfortable and relaxing patio area, the rooms are immaculately clean, spacious and comfortable and the bright windowed balcony area is a great spot to read a book and wile away an hour or two.

This hotel is so lovely you don’t need to bother going out anywhere, if you just want to relax and recharge the batteries then lazing by the pool at Morro is perfect.

On the last evening Zeynep and Vedat took us out to eat at a restaurant that we’d never have found ourselves, we had a splendid evening spent chatting and getting to know these truly lovely people, can’t recommend Morro enough, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morro6, Owner at Morro Otel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you very much for your beautiful review.We enjoyed very much your stay at morro.As morro family, very happy to know all the members of your family.Hope to see your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
istanbul
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We've been pampered in such a warm and cozy atmosphere as if we're in our best friend's home but with a touch of professionalism. The owners and staff did their best to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. Especially breakfast and afternoon tea times are wonderful ! If you want to experience real `Alacati` and have a memorable holiday this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morro6, Owner at Morro Otel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Very happy to know you&your husband.We have good friends now.Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Really loved the place, felt like home. Lovely room with balcony, really peaceful too and a short distance from the center. Lovely breakfast too. Would definetely stay here again. Very clean and owners were so friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morro6, Owner at Morro Otel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
We as all the members of morro family are very happy to read your review.Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I spent 4 nights at Morro with friends last summer, and recommend it in the highest terms on every count! We were warmly welcomed on our arrival with tea and pastries baked by Melek, who co-hosts Morro with its proprietor, Zeynep. When I explained (sadly!) that my gluten intolerance wouldn’t allow me to eat the pastries, Zeynep made it her mission to find food I could eat. She scoured the grocery stores for two days until she found gluten-free flour – and on the third day, graciously presented me with two loaves of delicious warm bread that she had baked especially for me!

That level of hospitality was on display throughout our stay. I couldn’t have felt more at home if I’d been a member of the family. Anything we wanted to know, Zeynep would either have the answer for or find it out. When I told her I would be going back to Istanbul for several days at the end of my trip, she gave me the names of several shops and restaurants, all of which I went to and was delighted with. Because Morro was fully booked and I was a late arrival, they didn’t have a room for me on my final night in Alacati. No problem: Zeynep found me a room in another lovely B&B, and her husband Vedat drove me there.

My room was airy, spacious, pretty, and spotless, filled with little touches that added to my comfort. And the food! I found breakfast in Turkey to be a highlight of my day almost everywhere I went, but Melek’s breakfasts really stood out. The table was laden with several kinds of cheese, fresh bread, olives, tomatoes, cucumbers, an array of homemade preserves, a bottomless pot of tea, and probably more that I’ve forgotten about. And all beautifully laid out on their leafy patio, next to the ever-tempting swimming pool, in which I spent several happy hours over the course of my stay.

To sum up: a five-star experience, and one that I hope I’ll be able to repeat one day. Thank you, Zeynep, Melek, and family – you are truly the hosts with the most!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morro6, Owner at Morro Otel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We are very happy to read your review.Reviews like yours makes our days brilliant.Thank you very much,Kind regards from Alacati&morro family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We really had a fantastic time at Morro - I couldn't recommend it more. Zeynep and family are so friendly and accommodating, and really make you feel at home. They went out of their way to make sure we had a lovely holiday; from recommending local beaches/restaurants, inviting us to hang out at their daughter's birthday party and even taking me to the Dr when I had a sore ear.

Breakfast was super and we also really enjoyed our meals in the evening in the garden - it was the best food we had in the whole of Alacati.

Am looking forward to visiting their family's place in Istanbul when it's up and running.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morro6, Owner at Morro Otel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Whole morro family is happy to read your review.Kind reggards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We've just returned from a Alacati having had a wonderful stay at Morro. We had a warm welcome when we arrived and, as the hotel was not full (it was off season), were able to choose the room we wanted. It had a beautiful extended bay window almost like a mini-conservatory, which was fantastic for the rare days on which it rained. The rooms are unfussy but comfortably furnished and very spacious.

In the morning we sat down to fabulous breakfasts in the walled garden next to the pool. We were given fruit from their own orchard, several types of local cheese and fresh bread, half a dozen kinds of homemade preserves and relishes, olives, salad, a choice of eggs and crepes and Turkish tea. Neither of us could ever manage lunch and hung on till afternoon tea when we were served fresh lemonade and homemade cake by the pool. The hotel was so lovely we rarely ventured out, though the Saturday market was a highlight, selling cheap spices, local produce and clothes.

What really made our stay, though, was the hospitality of the proprietor, Zeynep, and Melek, who produced all the wonderful food. Nothing was too much trouble; when there were problems with the airport transfer Zeynep took us herself, she recommended great restaurants (Asma Yapragi was our favourite), booked tables for us and offered us advice. Melek brought us flowers from the garden and attempted (unsuccesfully, due to our laziness) to teach us Turkish. Our only regret was not meeting Zeynep's family.

I'd go back in a heartbeat, and heartily recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morro6, Owner at Morro Otel, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear Yasmin,
We are very happy to read your review.Thank you very much.Looking forward to welcome you again in Alacati.Kind regards from morro family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
İstanbul
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We spent 7 days there last summer. It is very close to city center. You can get restaurants 3 minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel atmosphere is very smart and nice. It's owners are friendly,qualified people too. Also you should have a nice conversations with them. They help us about everything. We have made a reservation for this summer. Because we didn't need to looking for anywhere.I'm sure that we'll have a great time again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morro6, Sahibi at Morro Otel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Google Translation
Gecikmemizden dolayı özür dilerim.Ama şimdi cevap yazmadığımızı fark ettim.
Nazik görüşleriniz bizi çok mutlu etti.Teşekkür ederiz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Morro Otel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morro Otel

Address: Yeni Mecidiye Mah, Metin Oktay Cad 3004 sok | No 7, Alacati, Cesme 35950, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Cesme > Alacati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 158 B&Bs / Inns in Alacati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet and luxury combined,with relaxed aegean aegean hospitality provided by this charming homely hotel and its staff.Relax by the pool or under the fruit,olive,pepper,banane and gum trees.In the winter time by the fireplace.You can also venture out to discover Alacatı and beautiful Aegean coast located near the Hotel.All the rooms designed with high quality bed textiles,Fragonard branded amenities and accessories to give our guests tranquality and comfort in their room.Easily reached from İzmir airport.Try regional specialities as stuffed artichokes,courgette blossoms,fish burgers,desserts with gum,regional breakfast.,almost no rain from june till end of september.Alacati is in the important surf centers of the world,due to flat,shallow water but non-stop wind,it is ideal for both surfers and beginners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Morro Otel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morro Otel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.