We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch at The Thatch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Thatched Inn

The Thatched Inn
Grand Avenue, Hassocks BN6 8DH, England
01273 842946
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 19 Restaurants in Hassocks
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brighton
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lunch at The Thatch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Went to The Thatch with our Monday U3A Lunch Group. The food was very good and lots of it. The service is always very good too. Menu could be a bit more varied, but overall it is a good pub restaurant which is reasonably priced.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    20
    4
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I went for a midweek lunch. I was amazed at how busy the restaurant was, I was expecting it to be very quiet. When the food arrived I learned why. It isn't trying to be a gastropub, and good for them. The food is good, has imagination, and is generously sized but not fussy, and critically tasted good.
The atmosphere was pleasant and bright and the views of the South Downs were great.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great place, everything pub should be, including the landlord”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

We visited one Friday evening as we had received a voucher as a wedding present. Upon entering I knew it would meet expectations, it has that great pub smell, oak fires and beer which a lot of places miss these days. It was very busy in the bar area, a good sign and to be expected due to the good things we had heard. We were quickly seated and drinks orders were taken and promptly brought over. There is an extensive menu offering the usual pub favourites, as well as a few different dishes. The thatch ticks all the right boxes, great service, great food locally sourced, everything thats missing from the industry these days. Slightly more expensive than other places, but to be expected for the quality and service. David the landlord took time to chat which was welcomed. We will be back soon

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Much improved over the years”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Whilst on a trip back to Sussex where we come from originally, we went to eat at this restaurant with my in-laws. The venue has been much improved over the last few years in both decoration and menu. Our food was beautifully cooked and presented and the service was excellent. The staff were knowledgeable and helpful! Also huge portion sizes! Would definitely recommend for all age brackets.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Great for a drive out and a bit of lunch.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We popped in here for some lunch on a Saturday. The menu is extensive and would like to go back and try their restaurant. We ate in the bar and sampled their baguettes which are served with crisps (and not chips as we were led to believe). Food was good and tasty and place was clean. Nothing special but certainly nothign to complain about.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Thatched Inn also viewed

Hassocks, West Sussex
Hassocks, West Sussex
 
Hassocks, West Sussex
Hassocks, West Sussex
 

Been to The Thatched Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Thatched Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.