We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, everything pub should be, including the landlord” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Thatched Inn

The Thatched Inn
Grand Avenue, Hassocks BN6 8DH, England
01273 842946
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 17 Restaurants in Hassocks
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sussex
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place, everything pub should be, including the landlord”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

We visited one Friday evening as we had received a voucher as a wedding present. Upon entering I knew it would meet expectations, it has that great pub smell, oak fires and beer which a lot of places miss these days. It was very busy in the bar area, a good sign and to be expected due to the good things we had heard. We were quickly seated and drinks orders were taken and promptly brought over. There is an extensive menu offering the usual pub favourites, as well as a few different dishes. The thatch ticks all the right boxes, great service, great food locally sourced, everything thats missing from the industry these days. Slightly more expensive than other places, but to be expected for the quality and service. David the landlord took time to chat which was welcomed. We will be back soon

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    16
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Much improved over the years”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Whilst on a trip back to Sussex where we come from originally, we went to eat at this restaurant with my in-laws. The venue has been much improved over the last few years in both decoration and menu. Our food was beautifully cooked and presented and the service was excellent. The staff were knowledgeable and helpful! Also huge portion sizes! Would definitely recommend for all age brackets.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Great for a drive out and a bit of lunch.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We popped in here for some lunch on a Saturday. The menu is extensive and would like to go back and try their restaurant. We ate in the bar and sampled their baguettes which are served with crisps (and not chips as we were led to believe). Food was good and tasty and place was clean. Nothing special but certainly nothign to complain about.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“It's called the Thatched INN !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Can highly recommend. We booked for 8 pm. on a Saturday, and the place was full. Large eating area, clean / contemporary decor and furnishing. Prices very reasonable, and food very good. Our sirloin steaks were excellent - tasty (from local butcher) and done just right. Friendly young couple running it; cheery and chatty young waitresses; and best of all - bright lighting so you could actually see what you were eating. Will definitely go back there.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great Pub Grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

We eat here whenever we are in the area. Friendly and helpful staff and good range of choices. Attention is paid to all the food, so that even the side salads are well thought out and presented. Well patronized, so you may need to book.
Prices are reasonable as the quality is very good.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Thatched Inn also viewed

Hassocks, West Sussex
Hassocks, West Sussex
 
Hassocks, West Sussex
Hassocks, West Sussex
 

Been to The Thatched Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Thatched Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.