We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor quality” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Druids Inn

Druids Inn
Wrexham Road, Pontblyddyn CH7 4HG, Wales
01352 770292
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $16 - $23
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Grill, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Ruthin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“poor quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

unfortunatley for the third time now we have had a poor quality meal unfriendly service soggy batter on the fish and who would ever think of putting pepper sauce with a bacon chop come on Martin get back to the good food we are used to or we wont be back .......... even though they dropped the appetisers from the bill it was very poor quality disappointed

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    30
    17
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Sunday evening how it should be ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Relaxed atmosphere. Back to how it used to be. Good food. Nothing too much trouble with friendly and attentive staff. 23/03/14

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Always good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Saturday lunch -It was very nice and good value.
As always mine host Chris (newly slimmed down) ensures service is spot on!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Average, could use a refurb and not great value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I visited here about 2 years ago and remembered home cooked food and huge portions however was a little disappointed this evening. That said, the service was great, really genuine and friendly.

I had calamari to start, cooked fine however the batter was tasteless and the bottle bought dip wasn't great.

Goats cheese tart for main (had a second starter as not too hungry), again, okay, pastry case possibly frozen.

Garnished with balsamic-presentation just a little dated.

The table mats were worn and had threads hanging off, decor is dated and lacking in ambiance. I get the whole "ye olde" pictures however all a little ramshackle.

Had deserts too which were nothing special. For £58! Pricey for a mediocre meal.

Maybe just caught them on an off day?

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Meet halfway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

A busy restaurant, food great we all had the Scallops as a starter (not often seen on a pub menu).
Service very good, the staff couldn't do enough for us.
We will certainly return soon.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Druids Inn also viewed

Rossett, Wrexham County
Wrexham, Wrexham County
 
Wrexham, Wrexham County
Pontblyddyn, Flintshire
 

Been to Druids Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Druids Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.