We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room, great food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Brielhof

Save Saved
You added Hotel Brielhof to your Saves list
Hotel Brielhof
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Brielhof
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Auffahrt Burg Hohenzollern / B 27, 72379 Hechingen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Hechingen
Kamloops, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Clean room, great food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The location is great if, like us, your sole reason to visit is Hohenzollern or if you're pulling in off the highway. If travelling by train, we recommend you take a taxi from the train station for 12€ and not attempt to walk the hour, all uphill, carrying backpacks, like we did. Lesson learned.
The lobby does not appear as a lobby so much as the entrance to the restaurant. The check in service was efficient but not the friendliest given the priority in the restaurant that evening. The room was spacious and clean with a very large bathroom by European standards. The mattresses were comfortable but one was slanted as if the support underneath had broken.
The restaurant served great food but is on the pricier side. Given the location, if you do not have a vehicle then it was worth the cost to have the convenience of the restaurant in the hotel. Although there is smoking in the front of the restaurant, there is a non-smoking section in the back and the rest of the hotel is also non-smoking.
Breakfast is included and quite good with plenty of option. It is buffet but fried eggs can be requested, although we kept forgetting given the large buffet spread of meats, cheese, fruit, yoghurt and bread.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the parking lot and the windows blocked all highway noise even with one cracked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    7
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
1
7
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westlake
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

It's a tradition with the Hentsch family to deliver the superlative service. If the highway bothers you, ask for a room in the back but don't miss this superb country inn. And the food is to die for. Ask for the fish in cream sauce... You'll think you died and went to Heaven!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siggiewi, Malta
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We got to this hotel after a long drive from Nuremberg - which was a pleasant drive. We chose it, above all, due to it being situated literally at the foot of Burg Hohenzoller. Finding the hotel was not an easy task because the GPS took us to a totally wrong place. However, the problem is not with the hotel but with the GPS I must say. At any rate, to find the hotel, just enter Burg Hohenzollern as your destination and it will be impossible to miss the hotel since you have to pass by the hotel on your way to the Castle.

The Hotel itself is surrounded by a pleasant lawn and has ample parking. On entering the hotel, we were greeted by a very nice lady who, however, spoke no English. This lady called her colleague, however, who could speak very good English and check-in was a breeze.

The room itself was quite big but quite dated in style because it looks bank right out of the 70's and 80's. The room had a nice view of the lawn outside. The bathroom was large and spacious and well-lit and the bed was extremely comfortable.

I was quite worried when I read about the noise coming from the autobahn. I have to say, however, that the noise was absolutely not an issue mostly due to the fact that the frequency of speeding cars declined considerably after 10:00 p.m.

We also had dinner at the restaurant downstairs. I have the say the meal was excellent. It was very good value for money, the quality of the food was very good. The service was also extremely good and the gentleman serving us was extremely polite and pleasant. I really enjoyed the meal. I would advise fellow travellers to partake of dinner at the hotel restaurant because it was really good.

I would definitely stay in this hotel again if I want to visit Burg Hohenzollern again.

Room Tip: If you might be worried that the motorway noise affects the quality of your sleep, just ask for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacharach
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The hotel is situated directly at the motorway. We had a room facing the same and it was impossible to sleep through the night, even with the windows closed. It was also very warm in the room, although the heaters were turned all the way down. The menu sounded very good, however, overpriced. I would not pay 19 EUR for a Schnitzel with french fries. We had fabulous italian food at "Dal Maestro" in the town of "Balingen", just ten minutes away. The room we had cost 10 EUR extra because it was "more spacious" than a regular double room, however, I would consider that "spacious room" a normal size. To top things: we were served instant coffee for breakfast the next morning. For 100 EUR a night you get instant coffee ? Also, we expected the hotel to be smoke free, which was clearly not the case because smokers sat in the restaurant and at the bar.

Cannot recommend this hotel at all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver bc
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Very nice hotel with huge romms for Europe, perfect for a visit to Hohenzollern castle. Plenty of free parking, and wifi.The included breakfast was quite good. You do need a car as you are in the middle of nowhere but the view is fantastic of the castle, about a five minute drive away. Easy on/off from the autobahn. We had supper at the hotel (a bit pricey but great food).
I would definately recomend this hotel if you are visiting Hohenzollern castle.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Hohenzollern castle for the view and room away from autobahn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Jalisco, México
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We found this wonderful place at the foot of Schloss Hohenzöllern by chance.

On our way from Balingen to Stuttgart at the end of Oct 2012, my friend and I got caught in a snow storm late in the evening and found refuge in Brielhof.
We've been living in Stuttgart for the past 5 years and have driven past the Brielhof many times but never stopped off here. Why should we? It's just 35 minutes from Stuttgart!

The head waiter reminded us of state receptions at various embassies - eloquent in the German language and fluent in English, courteous and refined.

We were brought to our room by a courteous waiter. The room was spacious, with a generous bathroom. Unfortunately, the carpet in the room was the worse for wear. It had surely seen better days, but these were long long ago.

Back in the restaurant, things looked a lot better.
The head waiter - and indeed the other waiters - put on a great show. The service was rxcellent. It was even worthy of Queen Liz.

The waiters and waitresses knew their wines and the cook knew his/her job! The meals were superb.

The breakfast, however, was on the one hand chaotic because the establishment was totally understaffed (perhaps because of the snow storm) but, on the other hand, totally relaxed. It was like being at home, with the owner and few members of staff constantly asking if we had enough.
There were a few Germans who complained during the breakfast - but this is normal for the natives. The majority of the guests, including the Germans, took the situation light-heartedly.

All-in-all, a great place to spend a night (just forget the carpets inthe rooms)

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We recently stayed in this hotel on our 14 day trip through Germany. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms were clean and well appointed. We had one of the best meals we had anywhere in Germany at the hotel restaurant. We would absolutely recommend this hotel for a stay. Some reviewers stated that the autobahn is very close and it is. We had a room facing the autobahn and the noise was not a problem as the windows keep almost all the noise out.
The best part was the staff though. My wife left a small bag in the room that had her medicine and some cash in it. When we realized it was missing, we emailed the hotel and they said they had it. We gave them our credit card number to pay for postage and they packaged it and sent it to us in the US. Everything was still in the bag. I would like to thank them for this personal service that went beyond what would normally happen.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Brielhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brielhof

Address: Auffahrt Burg Hohenzollern / B 27, 72379 Hechingen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Hechingen
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Hechingen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Brielhof 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Brielhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Brielhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.