We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent HIE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Preston South

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Preston South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Preston South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Reedfield Place | Walton Summit, Bamber Bridge, Preston PR5 8AA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Bamber Bridge
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent HIE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stopped at this hotel en-route to another. The hotel, in the middlle of a triangle of motorways, was very quiet considering its position. It is quite large with plenty of space. The staff are very chirpy. The room was a good size with a lovely bathroom. The only thing I would say on a negative note was that the heating, on a very cold night, could have been better. It relies on the air conditioning unit which could have been a bit warmer. On the whole this is a lovely hotel. My wife and I will use this hotel again.

Room Tip: A room on the car park side of the hotel is very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Preston South, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Hi Reg,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your kind review of our Hotel. I am always most interested to hear what our guests say about the team and our attitude. I am delighted that you found them to your satisfaction and that in addition you liked the room and the Hotel public areas. With regard to the heating in the room I have noted your comments and will investigate whether all the individual units are performing as they should. Thank you for bringing this to my attention.

Many thanks once again for your kind review and we very much hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express Preston - South in the near future.

Bruce Rowell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    65
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
63
71
9
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This relatively new Holiday Inn Express is a most pleasant place to stay. Reception rooms were roomy and comfortable and our bedroom was extremely spacious with attractive decor and furnishings. The bathroom with its huge shower area was also beautifully designed. We ate at the hotel since we were unfamiliar with the area and the hotel, just off the motorway, was in a quiet area. Food was very basic. Breakfast was good with a more menu than usual and the serving area was much better laid out that other crowded areas we have experienced in Holiday Inn Express hotels. In all we had a most positive and pleasant stay in a very comfortable hotel though when coming from the South on the M6 we would have needed better instructions on how to find the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Preston South, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Hi Cedor,

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a pleasant review of our Hotel. All of the team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and in particular the big shower and the spacious eating areas. We do hope your positive experience will make you a regular of the Hotel and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Once again many thanks for such a nice review.

Kind Regards
Bruce Rowell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed here as we left it too late to get anywhere in blackpool after seeing the illuminations. The hotel is brand new, very clean and in exchange for a few details to join their points club we received a complimentary drink!

Room basic but excellent. The shower was lovely.

Breakfast the next day can only be described a chaotic! Not the best breakfast I have had but it was free! Staff were all excellent, would definitely stay in an express again if this is the standard to expect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Preston South, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Hi Graces

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review of our Hotel. Everybody at the Hotel is pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the staff to be excellent despite breakfast being a little busy.

Graces once again many thanks for writing such a kind review, we hope that you enjoy being a Priority Club Rewards Member and we can welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Many Thanks
Bruce Rowell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Chose this hotel rather than a hotel in Blackpool for a couple of reasons. Blackpools reputation for hen/stag nights (we was stopping on a Saturday night), cost and location.

OK the hotel isn't in Blackpool, but it's only 20 minutes away with very easy motorway access.

The hotel is shiny new and very very comfortable.

Fantastic staff, free car parking and fantastic free breakfast.

Only complaint is that the rooms are a fraction too cold, making it just uncomfortable to stay in the room. Advised by the front desk that there was nothing they could do, as the temperature is controlled globally, and could only offer additional bedding.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Preston South, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Hi Mark,

Many thanks for the fantastic review of our Hotel, everybody is extremely pleased that you found it ideal for your needs and I am particularly pleased that you found the staff to be fantastic as they are the most important aspect of any Hotel.

I hope we will see you again upon your next visit to Blackpool and many thanks once again for the kind review of the Hotel.

Bruce Rowell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

It's a Holiday Inn Express, so don't expect too much, but it is definitely better than the average.

It's obviously new; all public areas are spacious, bright and modern. The room was similarly nice and modern, and rather large for a HIX. The staff seemed quite jolly and switched-on, which makes a nice change. The breakfast buffet had a lot of hot options (for a HIX), although maybe lacked in fresh fruit.
There were a couple of quite minor problems (e.g. 1 sachet of decaf!), but I can't think of anywhere better for a quick stay on the M6 (for the price I paid). it's just off J29, easy to find, plenty of car parking space, and soundproofing is very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Preston South, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Hi Tony,

May I thank you for your review of our Hotel, I see from your profile we the first property to receive 5 out of 5 from yourself so that is particularly pleasing and we are glad you have found a good place to stay near the M6. However as we are always seeking to improve what we offer I will certainly take note of your comments with regard to fruit on the Breakfast buffet & sachets of decaff. Tony, once again many thanks for taking the time to write such a constructive review and we look forward to seeing you back at the Hotel in the not to distant future.

Many Thanks
Bruce Rowell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayne, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Loved this holiday inn, its new and has lovely clean bathrooms. Nice pleasant place to stay, free car parking and usual breakfast provided. I would definitely go back. The reception team were very friendly and helpful. My only recommendation would be a heater in the bathroom - it was a bit chilly when getting out of the shower!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Preston South, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Hi Jencsav,

Many thanks for your kind review of the Hotel, we are all extremely pleased you loved the Hotel and appreciated the facilities we offer such as free parking and free wi-fi. I will certainly look into your comment with regard to the Bathroom Heating as we are always looking for ways to improve the Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Many Thanks
Bruce Rowell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed here 16/11/12 when going to Manchester . Arrived later 11pm got warm welcome from girl at reception lovely bright clean hotel. Room was on first floor looking towards motorway but this was one of the quietest hotels i have ever stayed at even had window open and never heard any traffic even though 2 mins from motorway, Large room was fresh and warm... lovely shower only quip i would have had was found shower tray a bit slippy..but apart from that nothing else. Breakfast was lovely everything clean and food hot ..nice surroundings...all in all 10/10 if ur looking for overnight motorway stop or 30 mins into Manchester...recommend staying here and will return in future.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 122 which was overlooking front of hotel nice big room....think any would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Preston South, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hi DelldollMoray,


Many thanks for your excellent review of our Hotel. I am pleased you found the Hotel an excellent stopover point and enjoyed the Breakfast. Its always nice to read that guests intend to return and use us again, as such thanks again for the fantastic review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Many Thanks
Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Preston South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Preston South

Address: Reedfield Place | Walton Summit, Bamber Bridge, Preston PR5 8AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston > Bamber Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Bamber Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Preston South 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Preston South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Preston South Bamber Bridge, Lancashire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Preston South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.