We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice View, Shame about the Place” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wroxham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Wroxham to your Saves list
Hotel Wroxham
The Bridge, Wroxham NR12 8AJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroxham
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice View, Shame about the Place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Location, location, location, that is what you pay for, rooms are very average, showering is really bad, toilet seat was broken, breakfast was poor, seating arrangements for breakfast were like eating in the twilight zone. The staff in the main were happy and friendly but the Arlington Group need to spend some money on getting this place in order as I will not be returning until they carry it out. Great shame as it has fantastic potential.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony overlooking the river are the only ones you should book, great view, other room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    54
    47
    43
    42
See reviews for
50
95
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Beautiful location by the river Bure and I imagine a room on the river frontage would be great. M room however faced onto the rear car parking area and the Royal mail sorting office and it is difficult to sleep after 6am when employees start to arrive and make as much noise as possible.
The bar meals are quite good but the buffet breakfast does not look very appetising although if a plain breakfast is all that is required then there is plenty of choice. The beds are clean and very comfortable but the bedrooms generally and especially the plumbing are very much in need of updating

Room Tip: If possible book a river frontage room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This hotel is in an idyllic spot but feel they can't trade on that forever. Seriouly need to get a plumber in as you freeze and then scorch in the very low pressure shower. Cooked breakfast both days below average and tepid served with a boken egg and felt that you had the same sausage beans mushrooms etc at 9am as the 7:30 people. A £100 night by virtue of location only.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Very disappointed with my stay room very badly in need of updating and shabby carpets payed far to much to stay there and my shower didn't work and told staff but no joy, breakfast was average and didn't eat at all there car very looked awful. On the upside you could not fault the cleaning or the friendly staff. If you like the smell of chips and going back to the seventies it the place for you, although they should be charging 70's prices will not go again!!!:(

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArlingtonNorwich, Director of Operations at Hotel Wroxham, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are aware of our shortfalls regarding our rooms and as soon as funds are available to us these issues will be addressed.
We appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff and very much hope you will come and visit us again once the refurbishment is complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I had lunch here on a Monday when visiting Wroxham with my wife, daughter and grandchildren. The bar and restaurant are in a lovely location right by the water's edge with plenty of tables outside. I imagine it might get a bit crowded inside on a wet day because there weren't that many tables. It was sunny when we went, so we had no trouble getting a table inside. The carvery was particularly good value at £9.95 for 2 courses. There was a choice of 3 freshly carved meats (pork, beef and turkey) and a wide choice of vegetables. It's always difficult to enthuse about carveries but the meat was tasty and not tough and the vegetables were OK, and the quantities were fine. The others ordered off the menu and said that their food was very nice - main courses and desserts. Apart from the slightly limited regular lunch-time menu there is a large daily specials menu (probably about a dozen main courses). There is also a children's menu.
We found the staff here helpful and friendly and did not have to wait too long for our food to arrive, possibly about 20 minutes. I always worry if food turns up faster than this because it suggests they simply have a freezer and a bank of microwaves.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArlingtonNorwich, Director of Operations at Hotel Wroxham, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you very much for your review of our restaurant. We are really pleased you enjoyed dining with us and hope to see you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We have stayed at this Hotel several times over the years and have always had a good experience, however this time we stayed for our Wedding Anniversary and were very disappointed with the room, it was very shabby, curtains were from the 1970,s, very grubby and the linings had mould growing on them. The shower and the bath taps were unusable, with the slightest trickle of water coming out and turning from very hot to very cold. The walls in the bedroom had dirt marks where pictures had once hung and then removed. The Balcony was also very dirty, the guttering under the balcony wall was full of very dirty water, obviously never been cleaned out and it needed some kind of cover over it. Very tired rooms and in desperate need for a refurb. The staff were very good and the buffet breakfast was excellent, although on the first morning the plates and the baked beans were cold. We will not be returning until the rooms have had a facelift.

Room Tip: All rooms need a facelift
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

spent the weekend at the hotel wroxham it was beautifull it said 3 star i would say 4 star as it was just beautifull it overlooked the boats . we were having breakfast on the patio oustide watching the boats come and go. what a good start to the day.such lovely views.breakfast was excellent to. lovely bar and spacious lounge area to relax in and have a drink in all the food was lovely there from there menu. rooms were lovely and clean and a nice big size .staff very helpfull and friendly. shops so near by a min walk i cant wait to go again next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArlingtonNorwich, Director of Operations at Hotel Wroxham, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you very much for your very positive review, it is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Wroxham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wroxham

Address: The Bridge, Wroxham NR12 8AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Wroxham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroxham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Wroxham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wroxham Hotel Norwich
Hotel Wroxham Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Wroxham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.