We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a fun place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Shak

Surf Shak
Malecon de canoa, Canoa, Ecuador
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 14 restaurants in Canoa
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Bar/Restaurant ambiente tipo relax
San Clemente Ecuador
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“a fun place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Right on the malecon, great for people or sunset watching Great reasonably priced food..awesome onion rings

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    39
    16
    11
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent food and staff is very nice !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

I got breakfast at the Surf Shak on my first morning in Canoa. It was actually the only busy place. The other restaurant were all empty. If you need coffee, this is the place for you. I know how hard it is to find decent coffee in Ecuador but they do have good one. They dont really serve Ecuadorian food, but you will find good soups, salads, pizza, burgers, sandwich, awesome drink and good dessert. It is the place to meet other traverllers, and there is happy hour every day from 6pm to 8pm. I end up going there pretty much everyday !! I loved it :) The staff is very helpfull, ..the only bad thing is that it take a long time to get your food, but hey, you are on vacation, relax :)

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean city, N.J.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“CANOA IS PERFECT TO GET A SENSE OF THE COUNTRY.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

I stayed at canoa wonderland after looking at several places. When I spoke to friends who at stayed at Bamboo and other places in the heart of things they said it was hard to sleep at night because bar music and activity. This place is quiet,clean(they clean and mop my room daily) Change sheets every other day and is more modern. The flowers are beautiful. Even the rest. gets swept and mopped a few times daily. The owner, from holland and her Ecuador husband run a tight ship and next time i come I will stay here It is in town ,on the beach, but not noisy. Went to Surf Shack daily for breakfast, they served great french press coffee and the Gringoes were a welcome change.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Cool place but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011 via mobile

Surf shack is fun for a night or two of drinking but it's nothing but an expat bar. There are plenty of other places to drink/eat in Canoa.

Still if you are from NA and craving attention from other north Americans this is the place.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“If your mother was a good cook she could work here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Great food with lots of atmosphere. Excellent service with French pressed coffee.

My big likes Breakfast #3 excellent potatoes rivals the hash browns at Snow City in Anchorage, Alaska and that is tough to do.

My dislikes sometimes the hambuger combo comes with a small beer instead of a big beer. What is up with that?

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surf Shak also viewed

Canoa, Manabi Province
Canoa, Manabi Province
 

Been to Surf Shak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf Shak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.