We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All around great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baloo

Save Saved
You added Baloo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baloo
Canoa Beach, Canoa, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty lodging in Canoa
Redondo Beach, California, United States
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“All around great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We have been two Canoa twice this year and on our second trip we stayed at Baloo and were very happy with our decision. Baloo is on the South end of town, away from the thumping music and sounds on Friday and Saturday nights. We stayed in a cabin at the back of the property which had a double bed and a private bathroom for $24/night ($12/per person). The cabin was simple but clean, my husband particularly liked that each room comes with drinking water. We both enjoyed the good water pressure and hot running water, which is hard to come by in Canoa. There is a rotunda where there are several hammocks to use and enjoyed and a common area with a bar/restaurant and Wifi. If you love to read, you can borrow books and even exchange one if you'd like from the hotel's extensive collection. The location is terrific, right across from the beach. It couldn't be more perfect. For what we paid a night, we were very satisfied with the accommodations that Baloo provided us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    7
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
6
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Baloo can feel like a home away from home. I went there on two separate trips and stayed for a few weeks both times. Now that i am back in NZ i still dream of my little cabina oasis in baloo and Phil the owner is an absolute sweetheart. The staff are also friendly and reliable and the breakfast salad is the best! If you want to have a holiday from your holiday - go to baloo!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed here for the easter weekend in a private room with shared bath. Paid $22/night for a fan room (we were a couple). Not sure if this rate was higher since it was Easter weekend. Camping was $5/person with your own equipment.

The good things
1. Located at the quiet end of town but still really close to everything.
2. Beach right across the street.
3. Nice, chill places to hang out: tables, hammocks, restauarant.
4. Decent food, I had the friend shrimp lunch for $7 and it was pretty good.
5. Different lodging options: camping, private rooms. cabins.

The bad
1. During my 3 night stay, they never cleaned our room, no sweeping. The area grounds are all sand so you can´t really help but get sand in your room.
2. The shared bathroom was rarely cleaned as well and it was always full of sand and the garbage overflowing.
3. They didn´t want you to bring in your own alcohol but the bar/restaurant would close by like 8pm, so that rule was obviously broken.
4. The owner was so so, he seemed to be more interested in laying on the sofa and reading a book then being social and helpful.

overall, it was an okay stay. There is potential for this place to be really nice with a little more cleaning and effort by the staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed in one of the cabanas right by the street. Pretty clean and quiet. Price is a little high compared to the rest of the hostels in Canoa.

I had a problem with the parking. The parking lot is always locked, meaning an employee always helps people exit and instructs them where to park upon arrival. I had a business appointment one day in the nearby town of Bahia. When i went to leave my car was blocked in by another client. The employee was helpful in trying to find the owners, but we had no luck. After waiting an hour I told him I needed to go and now had to take a taxi which would cost about $20 round trip. I asked him to inform the owner i expect to be reimbursed for the expense.

In the end I only asked for half of the fare back, which was $9. The owner did not even apologize for the inconvenience. He just flat out said it was not his problem and was completely disinterested. He said it was the other guest's fault, even though his staff instructs where to park.

With my bar/food bill I spent $142 over the weekend, and he could not even offer me $9 back.

I visit Canoa about 4 times a year, and I would have stayed there again if his attitude was different.

Many hostels to choose from offering better value and service in Canoa.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Firstly, if you go to the web site and look at the pictures, you are going about this wrong. The pictures are clearly outdated. Not Baloo's fault, but Google Maps is as well. Felipe is Phillip, a British Expat. The "cabana's" in the back are cramped and in disrepair. Asked if there was a better/bigger room available and we were told no, but saw only one other couple there besides some Hunter S. Thompson wannabe. What I got from Phillip was that he was more interested in waiting for the property values to increase so he could sell. Very clear to me he wasn't interested in maintaining the bathrooms in the cabins or much of anything else.

Yoga by Betty is on the beach and advertised by most places I went to, so she's not connected solely to Baloo, as far as I can tell.

After one night, we went 100 meters down the beach and found Hostal La Vista. We got room 9 for $30 per night (a few bucks cheaper than Baloo) and had a much larger room, with a clean and functional bathroom with a balcony with a hammock and an amazing view of the playa. The "noise" from the beach bars wasn't noticeable (in March).

Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelling
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

The hostel is friendly and out of the main noisy area of the small town of Canoa. We had a lovely little cabin at the back of the property, nice gardens, a chosa for yoga or to relax in hammocks and only the sound of the birds and the sea. We took some yoga and surfing lessons whilst we were there and had a great relaxing time. The beach is beautiful and normally empty, except on Sunday and holidays when the beach bars are a bit noisy. Lots of local restaurants selling all types of fish and ceviche incredibly cheaply. You'll need insect repellant as there are a lot of mosquitos. We had meant to stay three or four days, and enjoyed it so much we stayed ten! Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: The little cabanas are great, a double bed as well as two bunks, with a private bathroom (always hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulum
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Baloo is a good choice when staying in Canoa. At the end of the beach, pretty quiet but still only a 5 minute walk to "down-town", restaurants and bars. (Although you shouldn't walk at night time on your own due to robberies)
You can stay in comfortable beach cabanas with a porch in front, perfect to chill out and relax. There are mosquito nets and a fan (which you definitely need). The hostel also has a bar and offers excellent breakfast. The owner is very nice and helpful.
One negative aspect was the bathroom, which wasn't cleaned for 2 days and when the flush was broken, it took a while to have it been repaired. But apart from that, we had a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Baloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baloo

Address: Canoa Beach, Canoa, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Manabi Province > Canoa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty lodging in Canoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Baloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baloo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.