We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mukunetei-a memory waiting in the future” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mukunetei

Mukunetei
3-12-1 Moriminami, Katano 576-0031, Osaka Prefecture
+81 72-891-0353
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 110 Restaurants in Katano
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Mukune-Tei sits in the ancient village of Mukune, amidst lush nature, even though it is but 30 minutes from downtown Osaka, and an hour from Kyoto. As you walk the narrow, winding streets of what was once Mukune village, the main gate of the Sakahan brewery looms large and stands before you in the evening air. Moss and rocks line the path to a garden that instantly connects your heart to that of old Japan. Across the more than 180 years that these buildings and garden have been here, they have endured the flow of time and change, as East and West, traditional and modern, all came together. The authenticity of the place instantly makes you feel at home, even the first time you visit. Entering the door to the side of the impeccable garden and ascending the stairs, you can feel, see and sense the traditional architecture about you, craftsmanship that has all but disappeared in these modern times. Even the room into which you enter, remodeled in 1998 when the restaurant was opened, stays true to the vibration and technique of the original 1826 methods and wisdom. Here you can enjoy outstanding and character-laden sake made with clear, crisp water from the foot of the Ikoma mountain range, and seasonal meals that change regularly. But surely the most delicious thing here is the enjoyment of passing time with those important to us, relaxing and smiling amidst the breeze blowing through the surrounding woods.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
“Mukunetei-a memory waiting in the future”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Spent a week as a "sake apprentice" at Daimon several years ago, which included spending time gazing into the Mukunetai space in the early hours, and then in the evening with guests. Haven't eaten there yet, but that will happen next time I am in the area. The warm wood structure, the rich yeasty fragrance from the sake brewing nearby, the care and fresh ingredients from local farmers, if not right from the small mountain the estate has inhabited for several centuries...I can only dream of the future repast and hardily support the other reviewer's enthusiasm. Do not miss this one.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    0
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Osaka, Japan
1 review
“Authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Just a 30 minute train ride from Osaka and my friend and I were at Mukunetei, an authentic Japanese restaurant, and a welcome refuge from the hustle and bustle of the megalopolis that is Osaka. After visiting the large-scale factories of Asahi Beer Brewery and Yamazaki whiskey distillery, Mukunetei was a revelation. The restaurant is located on the second floor of a traditional Japanese building - the angled roof ceiling, exposed wooden framework, tatami flooring, and floor seating provide a truly authentic ambiance. The menu is constantly changing, in harmony with the seasons, in order to provide a meal produced from fresh and local ingredients. The restaurant within a sake brewery that produces premium grade sake. When my friend and I arrived, we were greated by Daimon-san, who runs the restaurant and brewery. He welcomed us and asked what we were interested in. When we said we were interested in a tour of the brewery, Daimon-san informed us the brewery was not actively producing sake at this moment since the rice had not been harvested at the time (during certain times of the year, a tour is possible); however, he kindly talked us through the process. It was evident this man loves sake - the idea, the process, and the product. As we began our meal, each course was paired with sake, each round, contained in an unique and beautiful serving vessel, perfectly complementing the dish. The meals are brought out at a balanced pace as the staff are in full recognition that the food, while excellent, is only part of the dining experience. Despite being entirely authentic, the restaurant and brewery are extremely hospitable towards foreigners. Daimon-san, for one, speaks excellent English. At the end of the dinner, I purchased a terrific bottle of Sake that was brewed on sight which was very reasonably priced at around 2000 japanese yen ($20). I live in Osaka and highly recommend Mukunetei for anyone seeking a truly authentic Japanese dining and sake drinking experience. If you are visiting Kyoto or Osaka, do yourself a favor and visit Mukunetei. It may very well be the highlight of your visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Great atmosphere and sake only a short walk from the station”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Only 30min from Osaka by train and a short walk from Kawachi-Iwafune Station, lies Mukune-Tei, part of the Daimon/Sakahan Sake Brewery.

A lovely traditional complex tucked away amongst similar vintage residential streets. I travelled here primarily to try their Sake (unaware of this restaurant) and sadly arrived outside of the restaurant opening hours. Nonetheless, the owner Mr. Daimon (with his excellent English) welcomed me into the bar area where we chatted and talked about Sake as he poured tastings of their excellent range, bottles of which are also available for purchase.

It was a great unexpected experience and I look forward to visiting again (including dinner) when next I'm in Japan!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
“More than a meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Mukune is "well worth the detour" to this slightly remote location. The traveler curious about Japan and its culture will not only get a very good, most authentic meal, he or she will get a door opening into the world of sake brewing. The rustic but beautiful room is located inside the Kura (sake brewery) premises. After passing through the old wooden gate, and before climbing the stairs, take a minute to enjoy the garden, and a peek into the various building around the courtyard. If present, the friendly owner will make you want to know more about sake production and culture. Enjoy tasting by products of the sake production such as kasu together with the real thing.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toyonaka, Japan
1 review
“Toyonaka, Japan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Mukunetei is part of a larger establishment whose daily function is the production of artisan Japanese saké. The restaurant itself is situated in the room directly above part of the brewery. What makes this restaurant so special is the combination of exquisite food, intimate atmosphere, excellent service, and well-thought pairings with their brewed saké. The food is a combination of modern creativity and traditional flavors found in Japanese cuisine. The food is also very seasonal. At the time of this visit, cool dishes were served to help ease the suffering from the sweltering Japanese summer. However, in previous visits during the winter, large steaming pots of soup are made to warm you before returning to the cold air. English speakers should fear not for the brewmaster and owner of Mukunetei is happy to assist in English throughout your visit. Most people come to this restaurant by word of mouth - it is a little difficult to find and quite off the beaten path. The walk from the local train station (Kawachi-Iwafune on the JR Gakkentoshi Line) meanders through small streets lined with stone walls and wooden homes of architectural style from ages past. Stepping away from modernity at the train station and experiencing authentic Japanese style and form is what this restaurant aims to serve. A taxi is available from the train station, but I encourage making the walk. I highly recommend a meal here as part of your visit to Japan.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mukunetei also viewed

Nara, Nara Prefecture
Nara, Nara Prefecture
 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Nara, Nara Prefecture
 

Been to Mukunetei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mukunetei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.