We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Shabu Shabu with Aguu!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ufuya

Ufuya
90 Nakayama, Nago 905-0004, Okinawa Prefecture
+81 980-53-0280
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 317 Restaurants in Nago
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Shabu Shabu with Aguu!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Difficult to find without a GPS, but trust your GPS.

Meal size is big. I can order a set for 2 and share with my wife and my daughter. Great taste, great atmosphere, great service. You should try here for dinner.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    67
    29
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Busan, South Korea
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Utilize GPS(navigation) then you will happy.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

As most of rental car in Japan has GPS so no worry. But if you tend to find this restaurant with paper Map, well I don't think so. Follow direction of letter 大家 as you approach restaurant you will see.

Seems this restaurant is a "must go place" if you visit Okinawa. Pretty big restaurant with many parking space and seats. (24hours commercial on Local Okinawa tv Channel). Foods were satisfied staffs were really helpful for selecting menu. There's Korean, English menus available.
I visited lunch time and had set of Soba.
If you visit dinner time there're more selection for your taste.

I really enjoyed its surroundings as there's the water of stream which was refreshing.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Thanks for the GPS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

first plan for lunch there but we can't make it & finally we have our dinner there!
all the way thinking are we on the right path as the road is dark due to lack of lights on the road, and somehow seems we are driving in an alley. finally we saw number of signages of the restaurant on the way.
it's a real Ufuya! we have to take off our shoes before we get in the house. there're number of levels in there and we 're assigned to a table where we can see the lower level of the room. trust there's a small waterfall in the opposite side but we can't see it clearly as it's a night time.
they provide set dinner. the food are delicious & in a reasonable price. staff there can speak Mandarin. i notice there are tables of HongKongers & Japanese on the night i visit.
must visit again & hopefully can make it for lunch so we can see the nice Ufuya & the surrounding clearly!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful cuisine in Okinawa style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I went there at night, several times i wondered whether i was going the right way coz' i was like going into a wood, on a country road with trees aside, no light and buildings nearby.

but it was just a few minutes i arrived the restaurant, seated in a nice view outdoor besides a small waterfall.

The food there was good, especially the Pottery barbecue Agu pig, and the bitter melon dish.

Though it was a bit pricey but it worths to spend a wonderful dinner time with your beloved friends and family there.

There's no problem speaking mandarine for there're many foreign students waitressing there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akita, Japan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Magical at night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This place is a bit hard to find, but so incredibly beautiful. The restaurant is situated on different levels up a hill and is open to the lovely gardens, and waterfalls. The food is good and average price for the quantity. I recommend going at night when the garden is lit up with lanterns and torches.

So, so lovely.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ufuya also viewed

Nago, Okinawa Prefecture
Nago, Okinawa Prefecture
 
Nago, Okinawa Prefecture
Nago, Okinawa Prefecture
 

Been to Ufuya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ufuya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.