We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eating inside the river” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ponto Final

Ponto Final
Cais do Ginjal 72, Cacilhas, Almada 2800-284, Portugal
212 760 743
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 94 restaurants in Almada
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Lisbon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Eating inside the river”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Been there for the first time and loved it. Booked in advance for the table on the end, So we ate really inside the river.

The food was really good, and the view is something you can't get in many places.

If you don't like cats you may not sit outside, as there are plenty of them. All very friendly!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    73
    54
    16
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brasschaat, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Get of Your lazy backs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Been there several times, and sent numerous friends. It is a great way of combining simple food, great setting, and a (nearly) free boat ride with a vieuw of the city.
If You do not want to spend 10€ on a great bottle of chilled wine, don't go.
If You hate getting out of Your hotel, don't go.
If You are lazy, don't consider goïng.
So just go!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Lovely location and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Really good, simple fish dishes that are extremely tasty. Location is peaceful and makes for a great lunch time setting.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, ON
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A unique dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I had read about Ponto Final during my research for our trip and decided this would be an ideal spot for lunch during our day trip to Lisbon. We took the 15 minute ferry ride from Cais do Sodre station to Cacilhas. The restaurant is located at the end of a pier which you arrive at having walked 15 minutes along the waterfront past abandoned warehouses. The restaurant, at the base of the Elevador de Cacilhas, affords fabulous views of Lisbon, the harbour and the April 25th bridge.

We sat at the edge of the pier, basking in the sunshine and enjoyed an amazing lunch. Along with a bottle of Portuguese rose, we had the delicious monkfish and tomato rice stew that arrived bubbling hot in a clay pot. The stew is only available for 2 persons to share. There was not a drop of sauce left as it was mopped up with the great bread which had been served earlier with the best garlicky olives.

Ponto Final has been open for 30 years and its customers are a mix of locals and tourists. Our very pleasant waitress told us we must come back for dinner as the view at night is magical. Ponto Final is closed Tuesdays.

The restaurant has a few friendly cats that make the rounds for scraps. Not bothersome.

Ponto Final is truly a unique spot. Definitely worth the effort.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“The vue is amizing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

if you have time to spend you should go to this restaurant, not because of the food, but for the vue and the crossing of the river.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ponto Final also viewed

Almada, Setubal District
Lisbon, Estremadura
 
Almada, Setubal District
Almada, Setubal District
 

Been to Ponto Final? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ponto Final, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.