We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A paradise with lovely owner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Temple Tree Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Auroville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Temple Tree Retreat
Save
You added Temple Tree Retreat to your Saves list
Bommalapalayam - Kuilapalayam Road | Opp: Djaima, Kuilapalayam, Auroville 605101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Auroville B&B and Inns
palermo
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A paradise with lovely owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I was there few years ago when it was just opend. I m so glad to find now this location on trip advaisor
The room is it was so big ...very confortable , great taste, great breakfast in the terrace not last the very nice conversation with owner !!
I suggest to rent a motobike then the beach is at ten minuts ..Pondy halph hour ..and close to Auroville
I will be back soon

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
4
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Nalin & Gabriella welcome you into their "Non Hotel " as a guest in their home.Beautiful and spacious, the retreat is a place where you can transcend into another mental plane. The soothing architecture with lots of water bodies instantly relaxes you. The rooms are spacious and as inviting as the outdoors. The furnishings are very elegant and tasteful. A weight gain alert ! - you will be spoilt by them at the breakfast table with the choice of cereals, Breads, viennoserie, Cheese, eggs, & Fruits. On some days there were piping hot idlis and wadas. Chef Nalin can rustle up some superb egg dishes too!
On our first trip to Auroville , we were welcomed with loads of information and introductions to various people to make our visit fruitful.
My artist wife was inspired to paint a few canvases on our stay there.
We will surely be back and recommend this place to everyone.

Room Tip: The green and purple room are the closest to the lounge and have a larger garden at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Temple Tree Retreat is a beautiful place physically - the grounds are lovely, the rooms are high design, and the atmosphere is tranquil, regardless of the hustle and bustle of the roads outside the gate. Breakfasts are also delicious and plentiful.

No matter how lovely the surroundings, it's the owners, Nalin and Gabriella, make it unique with their hospitality and help to a very clueless first-time visitor and a woman alone.

India is not easy, and Auroville can be confusing. The staff was so kind and helpful when I got a little sick from eating food outside the hotel. Then, when the kiosk couldn't get me a sim card after a week, Nalin brought me one, put it in my phone, and charged it for me. He planned my trip, taking care of all the customer service people who can be very challenging to work with here. He found me cabs here and in Cochin. Everything was taken care of, as though this were a big luxury hotel.

Gabriella and Nalin make India a very foreign place very easy to be. I recommend it unreservedly.

I loved my stay. I'd recommend it unreservedly.

Room Tip: All rooms are cottages. The only thing that is a little confusing is the light switches (there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
275 helpful votes 275 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

I paid 4500 INR for a cottage /room in this B&B. The place is simply stunning and looks like you've stepped into a Wallpaper Magazine design special. Sleek, modern furniture, clean lines, lots of space, airy rooms with large bathroom.

All windows have musquito screen so you can leave them open instead of using the AC. The bungalows are set in a luscious garden with small streams and fountains. Beautiful and calming.

Breakfast was superb with both Indian and Western food, fresh fruit, and excellent masala chai. The owners are welcoming and helpful.

The one thing to be aware of is location- we had our own wheels and without those I don't know how you could get here.

I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Temple Tree Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Tree Retreat

Address: Bommalapalayam - Kuilapalayam Road | Opp: Djaima, Kuilapalayam, Auroville 605101, India
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Auroville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Auroville
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With six en-suite rooms offering peace and tranquillity within the Temple Tree Retreat’s 4,000 m² of luscious tropical gardens, guests are offered a very private atmosphere with an individual porch and garden for each room. In addition to this you will always be heartily welcomed to thespacious common lounge and veranda area for interaction and communication with like-minded guests as well as with your hosts.Architecturally a blend of Western and Asian cultures, the buildings are set in green and colourful surroundings, which include lily ponds with fountains and a natural-water swimming pool open to the blue sky. A separate pavilion for meditation and for massage/fitness affords moments for rejuvenation. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Temple Tree Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.