We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holgan Farm - Ian Heaps” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holgan Farm Fishery

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Holgan Farm Fishery
Llawhaden, Narberth SA67 8DJ , Wales
07796 517586
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 11 things to do in Narberth
Attraction details
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Holgan Farm - Ian Heaps”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I have been fishing Holgan Farm since it opened and have visited more than one hundred times. I have found Ian Heaps, and his son, to be polite, helpful, clear and extremely professional, safeguarding their wonderful facility that has been created by hard work and gutsy commitment to provide everything that anglers desire. The carp are superb, and there is plenty of them, the bankside is immaculate and the array of beautiful bushes and trees is exceptional. Ian is a man of great principle, and he protects and safeguards his fishery from unacceptable practices. Bait and tackle are available at good prices and Ian's mastery in fishing, where he demonstrates clearly and professionally, is second to none. I continue to fish there and have taken many, many of my friends, all of whom have enjoyed, not only the fishing, but Ian's amazing skill and niceness. Best fishery I know by far. If you are polite and respectful, you will get that back in return. Graeme Whiting (Headmaster)

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    1
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Poor Customer service / attitude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

First of all - i would like to say what a wonderful, scenic place Holgan farm is - Ive been going to Holgan Farm fishery since the year it opened (year 2000ish) - Last year we actually stopped in the Bed and Breakfast on the farm itself and enjoyed 3 days fishing, although the customer service we received from a young man was not great. This year (after putting last years experience down to a one off occasion) i returned with my two sons, and unfortunately i found that the customer service has deteriorated to the point where i felt uncomfortable and was constantly put in a position where i was being pushed to purchase tackle, baits and more tackle and more bait from the fishery. Not only that the fishery now operates on a cash only basis,(which is not advertised anywhere) - so after being left with a hefty bill , i was told that i had to drive to Narbeth to the nearest cash machine. Due to the attitude of the young man who i dealt with, neither i or my sons will be visiting the fishery again - which is unfortunate, because like i stated earlier the farms itself is a wonderful scenic place, which offers great sport.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tight Lines and Screaming Reals!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

These fisheries are set in a pristine welsh valley surrounding. The grounds and banks of the lakes are in the best condition I have seen with wild flowers and shrubbery planted and in bloom. We traveled with 3 adults and my 6 year old son with the aim of a weekends fishing.

The fishing was second to none. We arrived at 8am on a Saturday after a 5 hour drive and fished until 8pm in the evening with 8 hours on the crucian and tench lake and 4 hours on the match lake.

On the crucian lake we all hit personal bests for the species and totaled around 200 lb of crucian between the 4 of us. The short stint on match lake was also superb with us pulling out 20 – 30 carp up to 12 lb and averaging at around 6lb. The owners had already pre-warned us that match lake was fishing well and multiple 100lb + bags were consistently being pulled out in recent matches.

After the fishing we retired to the B&B which is an extension of the owner’s house. The facilities were great and gave us a relaxing evening. We drove to the local village for dinner and there was a good choice of restaurants and pubs around.

On the Sunday we had breakfast and moved onto the carp lake to finish the weekend. We all pulled out several big fish up to 13lb and a couple of golden tench to finish the weekend off nicely.

All in we estimate we had 700 – 800 lb of fish over the two days. Not bad by any standards. We all thoroughly enjoyed the weekend. It was also an ideal water to start my son on his first significant fishing trip and we felt it was very competitive on pricing.

This fishery is run by previous world coarse fishing champion Ian Heaps and his son Scott Heaps. They obviously bring a wealth of knowledge to answer any questions and were very approachable and hospitable.

The downside… the two days were not enough!!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmarthenshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“family day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Took our 11 year old daughter to this fishery for a day's course fishing. On arrival we were greeted by a very helpful owner who was very knowledgeable and extremely helpful and even went so far as to give our daughter a course fishing lesson which made our day there much more enjoyable as she caught many large carp and enjoyed landing and also releasing them back to the water.

Lovely place to go and relax, have a picnic and do some serious fishing. Will definitely go again and would have no hesitation in recommending this fishery to family and friends.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holgan Farm Fishery also viewed

 
Narberth, Pembrokeshire
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to Holgan Farm Fishery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holgan Farm Fishery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.