We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After races dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Classics Restaurant

Classics Restaurant
7 Station Road, Manea | Manea, March PE15 0JL, England
01354 680 363
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 29 restaurants in March
Price range: $15 - $27
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
yorkshire
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“After races dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We visited after a hectic day at the races & enjoyed a peaceful relaxing meal, with really friendly service.
We both had a tasty meal, if ever you are passing pop in.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martyn S, Owner at Classics Restaurant, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Classics.
We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay in East Anglia & an exciting time at the races!
We are glad you enjoyed your meal & hope to welcome you back at Classics if you visit the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

97% Recommend
    26
    7
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
March, Cambridgeshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem of the Fens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We have been back to Classics a couple of times now to eat with our family and friends. The food is fabulous and you can tell care and pride have gone into every dish. The menu varies quite frequently so there's always something new to try (especially on the sweet menu, my son's favourite). We can't fault the quality of both the food and service - the prices are incredibly reasonable. I've paid twice as much for food half as good!
We will be regular visitors to sample Martin's cuisine in the future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martyn S, Owner at Classics Restaurant, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your visits to Classics.
We are delighted that you were pleased with the dishes you selected , & appreciate your comments about the quality & care that we do indeed take with all the food we prepare for customers. We are pleased your son enjoys our desserts... a favourite with us as well!
We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Sunday Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

wow what a find. We came on recommendation and will certainly re-visit. Staff were friendly and welcomed us. Food was delicious, I couldn't fault any of it. Very reasonable as well. Tea in the lounge area after was well received too. Cant wait to return. At last a decent restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martyn S, Owner at Classics Restaurant, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your recent visit to Classics.
We are always delighted to meet new customers who have ' found ' Classics through a recommendation, & so pleased that you were happy with what you found !
We look forward to your next visit..... we now have liquorice tea so the whole family will be able to have a tea of their choice !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in Cambridgeshire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Hidden away in a little Fenland village between March and Ely, Classics is well worth discovering. From outside, the building (the former village general store, apparently) is nondescript, but inside there's a warm welcome from Julia who shows you into an invitingly furnished living room with comfortable sofas, Dickens prints on the walls and a small bar.

Sip an aperitif while you check out the menu, then move into the dining-room to enjoy Martyn's superb cooking, very much based on local produce. (Fish from King's Lynn, Julia told us.) Dangerously delicious desserts, too. There's a well-chosen wine-list - and prices, for this kind of quality, are remarkably reasonable: our meal, including all drinks and service, came to just £75 for the two of us. We'll definitely be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martyn S, Owner at Classics Restaurant, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Classics.
Your positive comments are much appreciated. We hope all customers will leave us having had a relaxed dining experience & feeling that the choices selected from the menu & wine list were of a high standard & good value for money. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wedding breakfast/reception”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Wonderful wedding breakfast/reception evening, stunning table layout (with titivating expertly completed by Julia), food fabulous as always (very difficult with a large party, thanks Martyn) and superb service from the extra staff.
Thanks so much again for helping to make our day so very special.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martyn S, Owner at Classics Restaurant, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your Wedding Reception held with us on Saturday. We really appreciate all your positive comments. It was wonderful to be part of your special day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Classics Restaurant also viewed

March, Cambridgeshire
March, Cambridgeshire
 
March, Cambridgeshire
March, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Classics Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Classics Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.