We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dukes Head

The Dukes Head
Laindon Common Road, Little Burstead, | Little Burstead, Billericay CM12 9TA, England
01277 651 333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 65 Restaurants in Billericay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Our menu offers delicious seasonal dishes – so whether you’re dining in our restaurant, grabbing a snack in the bar or enjoying a delicious salad al fresco, you’re sure to find something to brighten up your day.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Birthday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We were 9, including 3 little ones, and were made very welcome. It was a really lovely occasion. Everyone enjoyed their food. Favourites: the steaks and the paella, but the Sharer Platters for Starters were a great idea. The staff was attentive and very pleasant indeed. My daughter, the birthday girl, was suitably embarrassed when they sang Happy birthday to her, but loved every minute of it! We'll be back as the menu is changing soon. Can't wait to see what they can cook for us!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke H, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback it's very much appreciated.

We now have our brand new menu that started on Tuesday so don't forget to come visit and sample some of the new dishes.

Look forward to seeing you again

The Team at The Dukes Head
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    79
    27
    23
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“All time favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

As we travel a lot to and from England we like to have a base when we come back and the dukes is defiantly that, we have been coming for about 3 years now, when we first found this place it was by accident as its set in the countryside outside of billericay. The menu changes every 6 mouths so every time we come back there is something new to try and experience. Like any place they do have new staff starting etc but its always great when you walk through the day and the manager Luke remembers you as regulars and welcomes you into what seems like his home, we also like seeing Kurt as he is really does make us smile and is always there to help.

Great job guys and the rest of your team, see you soon

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke H, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us, we are very happy to hear that your experience at The Dukes Head was an enjoyable one.

We value your feedback and look forward to seeing you very soon.

Kind Regards,

The Team at The Dukes Head
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“FRIDAY NIGHT ..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

another visit to our favourite local resturant and was not dissapointed the fish offering was superb my wife started with a crab dish which was called ( doom ) and I started with scallops / pork belly ect - nothing left - we then opted for a Seaford Risotto and Seabass again could not fault it . we were given some nice olive bread and a dip as compliementery before the starter . again a lovely meal new seating a big plus so we booked for xmas day in the conservatory will be back before then ....

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke H, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent visit and I am very happy that your had a great experience with us, next time you visit don't forget we run our Fabulous Fish Night very Friday from 6pm.

Look forward to see you soon

The Team at The Dukes Head
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

booked last minute lunch last sunday, manager and staff were excellent lots of families with Children and unlike other places they seem to welcome families.Manager was excellent getting us a table where we could easily park our pram. Staff very attentive food was hot and of excellent quality . although its a sister resturant of the Nags head in brentwood this place is miles better both in terms of the food quality and the staff. We will defn be back well done to all involved at the dukes head

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke H, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us, we are very happy to hear that your experience at The Dukes Head was an enjoyable one.

We value your feedback and look forward to seeing you very soon.

Kind Regards,

The Team at The Dukes Head
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A must try!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The first time I came here was just for a couple drinks at the bar and I instantly fell in love with the place. Just that simple experience had not only encouraged me to make reservations for dinner a week later, but to also book Christmas dinner with them. To be honest, I was expecting the food to be much more expensive than it was so I was pleasantly surprised when I looked at the menu to see your average priced meals. The food was absolutely delicious and the presentation of each dish was beautiful. It's a great place to have a good meal and relax. There is a comfortable amount of time between each course so you don't feel like you're being rushed. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful as well. I will definitely be coming back here again soon!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukesHeadBillericay, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we are thrilled that on your first visit you had a great time, we thrive on making our guests experiences good ones and it's nice to hear we lived up to this expectation!

We all look forward to seeing you in the not to distant future.

Kind Regards,

Wes and the Dukes Head Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dukes Head also viewed

 

Been to The Dukes Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dukes Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.