We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dukes Head

The Dukes Head
Laindon Common Road, Little Burstead, | Little Burstead, Billericay CM12 9TA, England
01277 651 333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 65 Restaurants in Billericay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Our menu offers delicious seasonal dishes – so whether you’re dining in our restaurant, grabbing a snack in the bar or enjoying a delicious salad al fresco, you’re sure to find something to brighten up your day.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Read all the reviews and decided to give it a try for ourselves. Had friends over from Surrey and they wanted a pub with good food. We eat in the restaurant and glad I had booked a table. Young girls going out through the middle door to smoke was annoying but not the flat of the restaurant. The service was good and the food lovely. It expensive for a pub but a thoroughly enjoyable evening.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    79
    27
    23
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basildon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Animals”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We have been going to the Dukes for a number of years and have always enjoyed the ambience, however the last couple of weeks have seen an increase in people taking their dogs into the pub. On a summers day this is fine as the dogs and their owners will then go and sit outside, but on a midweek night when it is too cold to do that it is really annoying to sit next to a dog that is obviously bored and doesnt want to be in there and starts barking. Perhaps the owners are tone deaf and cant here the noise and have become used to it. To other people it is annoying and not what you expect. Perhaps the owners need to be a little bit more respectful to people who want to go out for a quite drink and not have to raise their voices to talk over a barking Dog.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Slightly disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My family and I attended here on a Sunday at the beginning of February and was left slightly disappointed. We had booked a table for 2pm and had to wait until 2.30 to sit down- apparently it took 1/2 hour to clear the table! The food took ages to be served and staff not very helpful, food was ok, but would probably give it a miss in the future.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
367 reviews 367 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Refurbished, clean and pleasant. Average food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stopped here on the way back home for a quick meal and because we hadn't tried it recently. The interior was pleasant but not particularly striking, and there weren't many guests so there wasn't much of an atmosphere, but this could be different on a busier day. The food wasn't fine dining but I don't think it aspires to be. It was however pleasant and tasty to eat so I'd say it probably met its aspirations, although the pricing implies a better quality. Service was adequate but for a partially empty restaurant, should have been faster. The staff were very pleasant. I could try it again if I wanted something quick and OK, but not if I was looking for something special.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent meal and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We booked to go for a meal on saturday evening and judging by the reviews was a little apprehensive.However was very pleasantly surprised we had excellent service and a fantastic meal,would recommend.Think it must just be sundays that the service needs sorting out.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dukes Head also viewed

 

Been to The Dukes Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dukes Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.