We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Indian cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kosthuree

Kosthuree
61 High St., Billericay, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 65 Restaurants in Billericay
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Wonderful Indian cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We have just enjoyed a great evening at this delightful Indian restaurant, situated in Billericay High Street. We were drawn in by the set price of £12.95 per person- for this , each diner can order a starter, a main course and two side dishes from the menu. We both chose the King Prawn Butterfly to begin with( this was an extra £1.95 each, but well worth it )-absolutely delicious, and piping hot. For our mains, we had Lamb Korma and Lamb Tikka Masala, with sides of mushroom rice, brinjal bhajee, sag aloo and plain naan bread .Everything looked very appetising, was well-presented, hot and tasty. Service was excellent, and all the staff friendly. The restaurant is an extremely attractive place to dine in- with beamed walls and ceilings, and warm, stylish decor. Our seats were really comfortable, and we didn't feel as if we were sitting too close to the other diners, which has been our experience in other Indian restaurants. Our total bill,which included extras of papadoms, wine, soft drinks and two great cups of decaff coffee was £44. We will definitely be going back- in fact, we have already booked for their ' Elvis ' night in November !! Very highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    12
    10
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our Favourite Indian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have been eating at Kosthuree for about 13 years now and have never had a bad meal. The food is amazing and we are loyal customers with high standards. We have taken our friends and family to Kosthuree on many occasions and they all say it's some of the best Indian food they have ever tasted. Yes it does get busy on a Friday and Saturday night after 7.30 and the service can get slower but I find that at any Restaurant at these times.

We tried Ruchi one evening and it was the worst Indian meal I have ever had and we didn't even finish our meal.

Kosthuree is the best indian restaurant in Billericay in my opinion.

Enjoy !

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Not the best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We thought we would try a different Indian for a change, so we went to the Kosthuree instead of our usual, Indian Ruchi, 200 metres down the High Street.
The restaurant was nice and "oldie worlde", the waiter was attentive although not over friendly. The starters, were quite nice but the main course was a let down. Mushroom bharje was tasteless, chicken tikka masala was terrible, We told the waiter and he said the chef had run out of ingredients for the masala sauce and he had to improvise. The rest of the meal was just ok. If you are going to the High Street for a delicious indian meal, in my opion the Indian Ruchi is better

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We used to love this restaurant - the food was always terrific and so was the service. Over the last year or so it seems to have gone down hill - we thought we would give it a try the other night as we were taking family out and they love Indian food, but we were all quite disappointed. The food was not very tasty, one of the vegetable dishes even tasted slightly rancid, and the food was generally very oily, with a higher dependence on cheaper ingredients such as potatoes, to bulk it up.
The service was off hand, our waiter even handing us the plates, rather than placing them on the table. Maybe he thought that as the plates weren't hot, it was ok...
The price was reasonable for a meal out, and I think they are trying to keep their prices low, but overall the food and service was below average.
I really hope they can get their act together and produce better food, and sharper service, as the restaurant itself is lovely.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best indian in the high street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Love this place for a late night curry after a few beers! Service is good, food is good and very reasonably priced. Not many places you can walk in to at midnight and be greeted with a smile!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kosthuree also viewed

Billericay, Essex
Billericay, Essex
 
Billericay, Essex
 

Been to Kosthuree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kosthuree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.