We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suprisingly disapointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Magic Mushroom

Magic Mushroom
Barleylands Road, Billericay CM11 2UD, England
01268 289963
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 63 Restaurants in Billericay
Price range: $40 - $62
Cuisines: English, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: An excellent product starts with the careful selection of the finest fresh ingredients. We source local produce whenever possible, our meats are reared at Essex farms and our fish is delivered fresh daily with much of our fruit and vegetables grown at home in the kitchen garden.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Suprisingly disapointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I have to say that my experience of the Magic Mushroom was actually a little bi-polar. The venue is great, the staff chatty and helpful, the service was speedy and the menu looked absolutely great with a wide variety of food. The food came out and again, it all looked great, it was hot, didn't take too long, very well presented BUT it was BLAND. I was so surprised when everything else was just so great. its such a shame because it is the only thing that let it down. Sadly, I wont be going back in a hurry.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    69
    33
    17
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Booked a table for a Wednesday evening, knowing this restaurant is always busy as we have dined here several times now. Yet again the quality & presentation of the food top notch.
As with every visit we are torn what to order from the Menu choices, which change seasonally to suit. I, as did 1 of our other guests, went for the fillet, excellent! perfectly cooked Med/Rare, just how we like it.

The rest of our party ordered, as main course either Fish or Chicken dishes. All thoroughly enjoyed. The starters and desserts were just a good, stunning & tasty, but as a meat eater, for me its all about main course.

Service impeccable, attentive, swift & professional. An excellent restaurant for any occasion.
Decor very impressive, a converted Barn with heaps of character.

Cant fault this place, well deserving of the "Certificate of Excellence" awarded to Darren, Catherine and their team by Trip-advisor.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Coped very well with late arrivals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Various guests at a family lunch party were caught up in a massive delay on the M25 so our arrival, and therefore the start of the meal, was considerably delayed. The staff at the restaurant appeared unflustered by this, although it must have been awkward for them, and served a delicious meal to the twelve of us. We were impressed by the range of choice on the Sunday lunch menu (and surprised that they could serve such a range of tasty dishes at such a reasonable price); we much enjoyed our meal. The welcome was friendly and the service was courteous and efficient. We did not feel rushed, which is not to say that we thought the service was slow - we had gathered from various places to celebrate an anniversary, some of us had had lengthy journeys, and we were glad not to be harried through the meal.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Disappointing slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Second visit here with the first being five star but on this occasion we we're let down by a 45 minute wait for our food. We did not order a starter just a main course to be followed by a desert. Sat at our table at 7.50pm chased our food at 8.30pm which suddenly arrived 5 minutes later. When we complained about the wait our waitress a, put the delay on the fact we did not order a starter and b, we did not inform them we were in a hurry! The food was as last time excellent. We felt a bit put out by the response to our complaint and did not stay for our desert. When the bill was presented the drinks bill was taken off and apology given. Disappointing evening as it was our wedding anniversary. Our friends who have not been before have suggested next time out we go here. Hoping this was a one off, we probably will.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Excellent staff but very slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We visited with a group of friends and my husband and myself felt for a very expensive restaurant, it was nothing special. Our food was good and well presented but we had to wait a long time in between each course. The staff were very friendly and helpful and because of them, we still had a very enjoyable evening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magic Mushroom also viewed

 

Been to Magic Mushroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magic Mushroom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.