We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, quiet hotel, Great hosts and staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eskdale Lodge Hotel

Save Saved
You added Eskdale Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Eskdale Lodge Hotel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   35 Harboro Road, Sale M33 5AN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Sale
Walpole, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean, comfortable, quiet hotel, Great hosts and staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

I had found this hotel on Tripadvisor prior to our trip and used the previous reviews as a means of assessing its cleanliness, amenities and overall rating. Therefore, hopefully my review below will help other people choose Eskdale Lodge as a place to stay if they're in the Manchester area.

This is a very comfortable, clean and quiet hotel/guest house/B&B, located on a reasonably quiet side street, yet close enough to the main road. Our room was a small double room with a small en-suite bathroom (with shower). Nothing fancy, but this is all we need when we travel. The room had a TV, coffee maker, etc., and the hosts provided us with a hair dryer. There is a bar and dining room downstairs, with TVs in each. Our room was immediately above the bar, but you couldn't hear any noise from it in the room. Breakfasts were very good. The hosts and staff were exceptionally helpful, friendly and accomodating, and provided a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere. We ended up staying for 4 nights, which says it all really.

I would like to thank Garvan, Grazyna and the rest of the staff for a very pleasant stay and would definitely stay there again. I highly recommend this hotel as a comfortable and relatively inexpensive place to stay.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskdaleLodge, Owner at Eskdale Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind review. I do hope the rest of your trip was as relaxing as you had wished for, and that you had a good journey home.
We all look forward to meeting you again in the future.

All the very best,

Garvan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    22
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
18
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

Chose it off the Internet. All rooms en-suite. Lovely and clean. Nice and warm ( it was very cold outside)! Friendly staff. Breakfast both days was excellent even managing to cook 2 perfect soft boiled eggs

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskdaleLodge, Owner at Eskdale Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2010
Thank you for your very kind review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Garvan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

I was a little apprehensive at first as I usually stay in the "proper hotels" but decided to stay at a B&B this time for something different and had a fantastic stay. The hosts were lovely and very obliging, the rooms were fine and the food was delicious!! Felt like I was at home. Definitely would recommend.

As I mentioned, the only thing which might be useful is a instruction sheet on using the shower.....figured it out but I had never seen one before!! :)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskdaleLodge, Owner at Eskdale Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2010
Thank you so much for your kind review, Wahey, we're your first 5 star rating! I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again.
I told Garvan about the instructions on the electric showers and now a sign sits pride of place next to every shower door.
Many thanks again.
Grazyna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

We chose to stay here on a trip to see Manchester United play. In comparison to the overpriced hotels near the ground, I'm confident this was a better bet. The decor in this hotel is a little outdated and the shower dribbled rather than gushed, but at such a reasonable price and with such nice staff I'd happily stay there again. Also, the food was fantastic!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskdaleLodge, Owner at Eskdale Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2010
Thank you for your kind review.
In regards to your points :-
I have my fingers crossed that you stayed in Room 5 for two reasons. All our rooms except room 5 have been redecorated in the past 3 years. That room is planned to get done before Christmas. That said, I do not believe it is is desperate need to be done.
The main reason is that I noticed that the shower was not running correctly, so is now fixed and gushing nicely!
Please feel free to contact me if this was not your room because I do like to keep on top of any maintenance that may need doing. The forth bridge springs to mind!
I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards
Garvan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

We stayed as a party of 5 in 3 rooms, all the rooms were comfortable, spacious and had good facilities. Staff were welcoming and flexible to our needs. Rooms had widescreen TVs in them. Room was quiet and dark at night. We enjoyed the food, we had a evening meal when we got there late in the evening, and really enjoyed it. Breakfast was very good also.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskdaleLodge, Owner at Eskdale Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2010
Hi Tristan,
Thank you for your very kind review. I am glad to hear that your two night stay with us was a pleasant one and look forward to perhaps seeing you again soon. Fingers crossed your retail therapy trip to the Trafford Centre on the Sunday was a successful one!
Kind Regards
Grazyna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

Had a choice between staying at the Eskdale Lodge or the nearby Premier Inn. We wanted somewhere that was child friendly, as we travelling with our 2yr old daughter and it was the first time that we had stayed in a hotel with her. I would just like to say that the moment we walked into the hotel we immediately felt at ease and really liked the character that the hotel had to offer. I imagine that the premier Inn would have been comfortable in its own way but The Eskdale Lodge is really nice and olde worlde. Thanks to Grazyna & Garvan for making our 4 night stay a comfortable one. Our room was great an had plenty of room for all three of us and even a Large Wide Screen TV on the wall. The food was excellent, varied and reasonable and we ate in the hotel on most of the nights. This was mainly because there was also a dedicated menu for children as well. Anything that we asked for was provided straight away without any problem at all. Finally I would like to leave a special thankyou to the two ladies who were left in charge of breakfast on the saturday that we left. They were really nice to our little girl. Everybody was really helpful though. We originally picked the Eskdale because it was only half a mile from where my sister lived. We found, however, it is also a great location for many of the Manchester attractions wtih excellent public transport links. Thanks again.Craig,Felicity & Sophie Oakes

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskdaleLodge, Owner at Eskdale Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2010
Hi Craig and Felicity,
Thank you for your very kind review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, it was really nice to meet you and I hope to see you again soon.
I will pass on your compliments to Renata and Barbara who did your breakfast on the Saturday - both of whom had to tell me how beautiful Sophie is.
Kind Regards
Garvan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

very friendly and nice staff, nice restaurant and bar, delicious and cheap food, fantastic and clean rooms, beautiful backyard garden, quiet environment, good location (near metrolink)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrMadJackMcMad, Owner at Eskdale Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2010
Hi Wing, Thank you for your very kind comments, they are very much appreciated. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you managed to get back home okay once the volcanic ash had cleared!
All the best
Garvan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eskdale Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eskdale Lodge Hotel

Address: 35 Harboro Road, Sale M33 5AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Sale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Sale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Eskdale Lodge Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eskdale Lodge is a small family run hotel set in a residential area in Sale. We have 9 letting bedrooms all of which have an en-suite, television (including sky), and a welcome tray including tea and coffee making facilities, and complimentary biscuits and mints. The hotel has two bars, and a restaurant. We at the Eskdale take care in providing comfortable accommodation in a relaxed and informal atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Eskdale Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eskdale Lodge Hotel Sale, Greater Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eskdale Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.