We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lennox Lea Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Lennox Lea Hotel to your Saves list
The Lennox Lea Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Irlam Road, Sale M33 2BH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Sale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
1 review
“Exceptional hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Stayed Friday & Saturday evening for visit to MS Life 2014 with wife, son & daughter. Walked into room and was awestruck by the size and cleanliness. Asked for a room on ground floor as my daughter is in a wheelchair and could not have been better (ground floor just around corner from reception). Breakfast absolutely superb with lovely, attentive waitresses. Choice was better than some 5* hotels I have stayed in. Good position for tram stop just up the road to get into Manchester. All in all, excellent value and will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Can only comment on room 1 which was marvellous!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muckle1, Owner at The Lennox Lea Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Good morning Ken W,
We love your review on our new ground floor apartment. Everyone who books it seems to really like it so we are well chuffed!
The only problem is it gets so booked up!
Thank you for your lovely review.
Best regards Mike & Joanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    79
    11
    9
    8
See reviews for
63
80
31
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

What a great find. We stayed for one night at Lennox Lea hotel & Apartments and we was very happy with all aspects. We stayed in room 20 that was large, clean, airy and the bed was exceptionally comfy. The staff were attentive and friendly. We had our evening meal at the hotel and it was yummy . Was served breakfast in the morning and it was delicious. Had a lovely stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muckle1, Owner at The Lennox Lea Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Good morning Shaza1960,
Thank you for your lovely review. We're glad we ticked all the boxes!
Don't forget to book direct with us for the best discount & free breakfasts!
Best regards Mike & Joanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

stopped here for a family reunion in sale and all stayed here, very reasonable, lovely staff, rooms were spotless beds were very comfortable, and the breakfasts were wonderfull, fresh, tasty, cooked superbly and a great selection dont know how the nice lady chef did it all she was run off her feet but didnt miss a beat, the waitress was very lovely and made us very welcome with a huge smile great service all round.
the hotel is in a lovely area too, i already want to plan a trip to sale again now and will definitley stay here again, looking forward to it!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muckle1, Owner at The Lennox Lea Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
LorraineH,
You are good & beautiful woman! We are not worthy & we love your magnificent review!
The woman who gives me great reviews is the woman that will have my children!
Any chance you could have them next week? We have a chance of going away for a few days!
Joke!!
Thank you so much.
Best regards Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

I stayed there for 3 nights last week. Very nice people. attentive and friendly. The hotel could do with an overhaul sometime but that's a small issue. The rooms are basic, clean and very quiet. i will be back

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muckle1, Owner at The Lennox Lea Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Wattenwo,
We will be glad to have you back too!
All the best & thanks for your kind words.
Mike & Joanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Just returned from a four night stay here, had been allocated a budget single so I upgraded to an executive double, however I ended up in a very pleasant triple.

The room was clean and the double bed very comfortable and the en suite was spacious and modern being fully tiled with modern fittings.

The food here was very good. An excellent buffet offering of fruits and juices and cereals and a full English which was delicious but beat me every morning, all the food was top quality. I ate in the restaurant on two nights and again the food was very good.

My only issue was with the shower which as in common with a lot of the hotels in older buildings like this lacks any real power, it was a dribble at times and did nt really refresh you. I am sure this is something the owners would love to improve on and overall it was not too much of a problem.

A very warm and friendly hotel with excellent and friendly staff. I would recommend thus hotel without any concerns.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muckle1, Owner at The Lennox Lea Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear 213Alan,
We can't thank you enough for your lovely review.
All the best from Basil & Sybil @ Fawlty Showers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lulea, Sweden
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Wanted to find a hotel for the Manchester Marathon and stumbled across this one after reading many positive things on Tripadvisor.

As I've written before, you set your expectations after the price you pay. For 65 GPB I expected a decent room to get a good nights sleep, not really much more. What I found was also a hotel that values service and that a friendly gesture goes a long way.

The hotel is close to the Metrolink station, maybe a five minute walk, and easy to find. It is a cozy area and the hotel looked magnificent from the outside. When I entered the hotel it instantly got a good feeling. Family owned, really cozy and they really wanted to make sure that the Marathon runners had a good stay.

The breakfast is usually served later on sundays, but they let us choose from a list of things that was to be ready for us to pick up in the morning. A fantastic gesture!

I have no idea how old the hotel is, but the room felt pretty old. Not worn down or dirty, just a little bit old and the walls are quite thin. When someone used the bathroom upstairs it woke me up caused it seemed like the house was under attack for a couple of seconds :) But I slept well in the bed.

But, as I said, you get what you paid for. The same weekend a supporter club that I travelled with payed 2-3 times that amount of money, and the hotel was way awful in comparison to this one.

When I came back to the hotel to pick up my bag and go to the Leisure Center to take a shower after the Marathon I felt a bit naoseaus. The gentleman in the reception made sure I could use a room for a shower, instead of carry all my bags to the Leisure Center. A very nice gesture!

If I were to run the Manchester Marathon once more, I will definitely make a reservation here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muckle1, Owner at The Lennox Lea Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Ortenvik,
That is such a lovely review. It really does make it all worthwhile when someone goes to such trouble! Thank you so much. We loved looking after the marathon runners.
Good look with all your future marathons around the world.
All the best Mike & Joanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Just returned from a really great weekend at The Lennox Lea Hotel, and I must say it exceeded my expectations in every respect. We arrived to support our daughter who was running in the Manchester Marathon. The hotel was ideally suited for this, being just five minutes walk from the Sale Metrolink station which whisked us in and out of the city easily. The management and staff could not have done more to make our stay even better. The parking was uncrowded even though the hotel was fully booked. The rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean. The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome, and the breakfast was absolutely superb.. the hottest breakfast I have been plated anywhere. Well done to everyone who made us feel so special. We will certainly return again, and this will be the only hotel we will ever choose for Manchester and the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Use the metro link to commute in and out of Manchester.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muckle1, Owner at The Lennox Lea Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Megamoha,
It was lovely meeting you & the family. Great news that your daughter beat her personal best in the marathon! I did a marathon once, couldn't eat all of it though!!
So pleased you enjoyed our breakfasts, they are delicious & very hot.
We look forward to seeing you again next year. Thanks for the time you gave writing your lovely review.
Best regards Nutty Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lennox Lea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lennox Lea Hotel

Address: Irlam Road, Sale M33 2BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Sale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Sale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lennox Lea Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privately owned Award Winning Hotel & B&B with Apartments & Studios with mini kitchens, located in a peaceful setting only minutes away by Metrolink to city centre Manchester and all its attractions. Ideal for short or long term accommodation. We're right where you need to be! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Lennox Lea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lennox Lea
Lennox Lea Manchester
The Lennox Lea Hotel Sale, Greater Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lennox Lea Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.