We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing and unreliable” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant to your Saves list
The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   195 Brooklands Road, Sale M33 3PJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Sale
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointing and unreliable”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We had stayed in this hotel a number of times as the staff were friendly and the price was reasonable. Having said that, there was always something in every room that we stayed in that was broken, and the walls are so thin in the annex rooms that the conversations and the snores from the next room can be very clearly heard.
My husband and I planned to stay for three weeks to see friends and family as I am originally from Sale and now live in the USA. The day after my arrival at the end of December I went down to the bar to get some food and a drink, to find it closed and everywhere in darkness. They had decided that since there were only two rooms occupied that they wouldn't bother to open the bar!
After about a week, the owner asked me to change rooms since they had a decorator coming in. The hotel was almost empty with many rooms available, but she had decided to put us in a room that was going to be decorated! After being in the room for two nights we were then informed that we needed to move rooms again as they were going to have the bathroom redone. They offered to put our belongings in the cleaner's closet as we were going to be gone that night! Goodness knows where they were planning on us sleeping the following night as neither room would be ready until the following week! We were very upset with the owner's whole attitude and felt that we were being taken advantage of. She did not even have the grace to come and speak to us even though she was in the hotel at the time.
We left and moved to a different hotel in Sale, which turned out to be cheaper, more conveniently located, and the owner treated us wonderfully.
I was extremely disappointed with the shabby treatment from the owner of the hotel, particularly since we had stayed there many times.

Room Tip: The cheaper annex rooms seem to be mainly for business travellers so to get a nicer room in the main...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormanhurstHotel, Owner at The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reader

This guest and her husband have indeed stayed with us on a number of occasions over the years and have always been very complimentary regarding the hotel so I am very surprised by the content of her review.

Because the Christmas to New year period is generally quiet we decided to refurbish a number of rooms. This guest had advised us that they would be checking out for a few days and we decided to redecorate their room while they was away ready for their return, The bathroom next door was also about to be renovated on that day and the tradesmen had been scheduled to start after normal checkout time which is 11am. What we did not realise was that they had decided to check out later that day and had not informed us.

We have always tried to assign them to the same room and this was the case when they arrived on the 28th December. We even help them by holding their room with there belongings in them whenever they are away for a few days (or offer to store them if this is not possible)
In reflection we got this wrong and should have assigned them to a room that would not be affected by our ongoing renovation program

I am sorry that they felt the need write such a negative review especially since I and all members of the staff have always tried very hard to help them

Regarding the points made about the rooms, if there were problems then I am very surprised that they were never mentioned to the staff at any time in all the years they have stayed.

We would also like to point out that the refurbishment work was completed as scheduled and most of our rooms now have new bathrooms and have been redecorated and we are sorry for any inconvenience that this may have caused at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    41
    18
    13
    9
See reviews for
33
48
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I struggled with a title for this review as the Normanhurst is a bit of a conundrum.
Firstly let's take the positives - the staff were all very friendly and helpful.
The food was delicious (and very reasonably priced for the table d'haute menu) both for our evening meal and breakfast the following morning.
The room was a really generous size with a lovely bathroom and really nicely presented and tastefully decorated.
There was ample parking on site at both the front and rear of the hotel.
However the negatives were on driving up to the building you cannot help but notice it needs a little tender loving care externally (but don't let this put you off as on entering the hotel it has a really warm olde world feel to it).
We were in the annex and whilst our room was lovely the walk to it again didn't make for good first impressions. The corridors are just that, bland corridors, which whilst functional are not in the least appealing.
The walls were also very thin and we struggled to lock our door.
That being said the hotel was very reasonably priced and perhaps caters more to the business/rep/solo travellers than to visitors to the area.
If you are looking for a cheap, clean hotel with a little bit of character this is ideal

Room Tip: Room 253 was a lovely large room in the annex but do try to get in the main hotel if you possibly ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed at the Normanhurst one weekend when in Manchester for the rugby. Overall the hotel is a little dated and due to reviews we had seen on here we requested a room in the main part of the hotel rather than the annex. We were given a lovely bright spacious room with a good clean bathroom. The bed was huge and lovely & comfy.
We went to the hotel restaurant for our evening meal which was delicious & fairly reasonable in price.
Breakfast was good, however the dining room was full when we got there so we were put in the bar area on quite a low pub style table. Also the bar was covered in dirty glasses from the night before so not the nicest of surroundings to enjoy breakfast.
Other than that little glitch we enjoyed our stay - a good hotel at a reasonable price & close to tram into City Centre.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

The hotel could do with a little bit of updating but the staff went above and beyond make everything ok for us, we eat in the restaurant and all three of us enjoyed the meal very much, and yes we would go back if the occasion should arise.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Clean, spacious and quiet rooms. Very clean and private. Menu choices were excellent, Dinner A La Carte was delicious, freshly cooked, breakfast was lovely with many choices as well, and staff very welcoming. Good quiet location, and transport links very close. Near Wythenshawe Hospital. Prices are reasonable, and you get good value for money. All in all, a good hotel! Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed in the Normanhurst on 7/12/13 and have to say that we were treated very well. The meals we had were fantastic and the staff were more than helpful and friendly.
Decorated aptly for Christmas in a traditional manner it has certainly given us a festive feeling. Thank you to all the staff x

Room Tip: We stayed in an executive room which was a very good size and very clean, nicely decorated and look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Maybe because it is a hotel I don't think about eating here in the normal course of events, but have been twice recently with groups of colleagues & both times the meal has been of a high standard, well presented and friendly efficient service. The meals represent good value for money and the menu changes regularly.
The only down side is that it is sometimes difficult to park as the car park soon becomes full and it is difficult to turn round.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant

Address: 195 Brooklands Road, Sale M33 3PJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Sale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Sale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normanhurst Hotel Sale
The Normanhurst Hotel And Restaurant Sale, Greater Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.