We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A new format, pity they didn't tell or train the staff!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mersey Farm

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mersey Farm
Carrington Lane, Sale M33 5BL, England
0161 962 8113
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 83 restaurants in Sale
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Staffordshire, UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A new format, pity they didn't tell or train the staff!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This has now gone back to being a Harvester, but they hadn't seemed to have told the staff about the changes or how to operate new tills when we visited two days after it re-opened! So confusion everywhere! Main course arrived seconds after the first course and sent back. We then had to wait ages for the mains - Food was acceptable quality but nothing to write home about - al dente carrots would have made good draught counters, and soggy bottomed Yorkshires. Then another very long wait for desserts, had to remind the waitress to be told after 20 minutes that they were being plated up and it would be a few more minutes. They were wrong, but we had given up by then!. As to paying the bill that was almost an impossiblity and this took at least 30 minutes and only after the manager was summoned - "we are busier that we thought we would be" though looking around, the place wasn't full? Our recompense was a free pudding for one of the diners when they visit next! They might, the rest of the party won't!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

40% Recommend
    7
    15
    12
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“OK for lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We had a business lunch with clients at this well known pub restaurant. We arrived at noon and there was plenty of parking which was good and, although we had not booked, we were shown to a table straightaway. The waitress mentioned that booking in advance might be wise as it can get busy.

The table was in a well-lit area with lots of windows allowing sunshine and light in giving a pleasant feel to the restaurant. There was a standard menu and a "specials" menu which featured meals around £6 or so and we ordered from the "specials" menu. Two of us had gammon, one had fish and another had curry. There was a full waitress service so hot and cold drinks were delivered to the table.

The food arrived on oversize plates which had the unfortunate effect of making you feel you had received very little, but it turned out to be more than enough for a lunch and maybe even a little more than I needed. The food was good and enjoyable but not stunning and I felt my gammon was a little overdone but other than that I had no complaints. By the time we all finished up after about 2 hours the bill was £10 per person.

It was a nice environment and pleasant surroundings and I will go there again for similar meetings.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
“Bad service!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Had to wait an hour for our food to come and when it did the waiter just walked straight past us twice and them took it back into the kitchen. I then has to go and ask at the bar where our food was, when our food arrived it was all dried up and not very appetising!
When we has finished the waitress came over to see if she could get us any complimentary drinks, she never came back with what we asked for, so this was disappointing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Good food, great value for money, staff and service a bit miserable like couldn't be bothered.
Managers and Emili were very good and always seemed interested in us.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Steak & Wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place for a low cost meal with waiter service @ your table and lots of good traditional dishes to choose from the menu. I selected the 16oz 'T' Bone steak (which was cooked to my liking) - excellent value @ £16.99 My choice of wine was a bottle of 'Campo Viejo' red - a reasonable quality Rioja for the price tag (£15.99) The staff were friendly and efficient. All areas were clean & tidy. No problems. I will definitely return.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mersey Farm also viewed

Trafford, Greater Manchester
Sale, Greater Manchester
 
Sale, Greater Manchester
Sale, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Mersey Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mersey Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.