We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please take notice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vao

Vao
2 Waterside Plaza, Sale M33 7BS, England
0161 962 6666
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 86 Restaurants in Sale
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: VAO is a stylish a la carte restaurant in Sale delivering high standards of classic and seasonal dishes, coupled with attentive service in desirable, contemporary surroundings with affordable customer value in mind. Indoor and both covered and uncovered 'al-fresco' dining are available at our bustling waterside location.
Altrincham
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Please take notice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Visited again at lunch time with female friends, we were the only people in and we asked for the music to be turned down we could not hear ourselves talk but no notice was taken

i know other people who say this is the reason they won't go there, its not even decent music ,ok if its aparty of young people they may love it but note your clientel and respond accordingly
Will i visit again --? like the food not the ambience!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCA_Restaurant, Manager at Vao, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review... I appreciate all feedback and take your constructive criticism on board.

Please can you tell me when your most recent visit was so that I can specifically address the comments that you have raised??

Feel free to contact me at pizza@oca-restaurants.com or call on 0161 962 6666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    34
    25
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Perfect for pizza with pals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We've eaten here a lot since it opened and a new menu is a welcome sign that OCA know how to please the target audience. The restaurant is bright, light and though busy never feels crowded. The menu is now more varied with hearty pasta and meat dishes complementing a wide array of great-tasting fresh pizzas. The service is cheery and unobtrusive and prices very fair. The kids menu is really good value and this is a popular place for families - particularly in the summer when you can dine al fresco whilst the kids wear themselves out scooting/running up and down the hill.
Great for lunch with the kids and vino and pizza with the girls.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Favourite restaurant in sale”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Duck & coriander pizza I get every time-it's delicious

Great for families and couples

Atmosphere nice and decor modern and clean

Service is good, great place all round

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCA_Restaurant, Manager at Vao, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments and feedback... we look forward to welcoming you and again very soon.


Team OCA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“OK OCA”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Good but not great. Very limited menu which makes you want to step over the road to Mimi's. ITs a bit like a posh Pizza hut. Never been overly impressed with the service. This could be an amazing place, the space is wonderful and has a riverside feel (even though its the canal). The menu lets it down. The staff seem like they can't wait to leave to get on with their 'real' careers.... not that thats a bad thing, but if your gonna do a job do it well while you are doing it.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCA_Restaurant, Manager at Vao, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hi,

Please can you expand and be a little more specific in detailing your most recent visit to OCA??

I see on the day that you made this review you also reviewed lots of other restaurants in Sale, so I am wondering whether this review is truly justified?? Are you are making a general verdict from a historical visit or have been in since we have made some new and exciting changes...??

Will look forward to your response...

OCA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

A recent visit here was a great pleasure; the new charcoal grill smell as you walk through the door sets the evening, then greeted by very pleasant staff. The new menu is a treat with a choice of steak and a great range of fish dishes.
I am very inquisitive to my food and therefore after one to many questions to the more than helpful waitress, the manager was brought over who was very pleasantly knowledgeable of all food and wines and even though the restaurant was so busy on this Saturday night, he spent a good ten minutes without making me feel I was intruding on his time. Credit where it is due here, I couldn't get any answers or the time like this in M.R jnr's restaurant in London on paying five times more!!
We were always topped up by the waitress with our bottle of wine as she walked passed and were always fulfilled when needed; although, Oca has a great service where you can press a table top button to request assistance to the table.. fab, I hate having to try and attract the attention of staff in a busy restaurant!

On reading the reviews below, and having visited this restaurant a few times before, I feel some comments are quite unfair and dont take into consideration about what type of restaurant this is. Oca is a pizzeria, therefore the menu will contain pizzeria items (although this has been broadened).. if anyone doesnt know what a 'real pizzeria' is try going to Italy and you may notice that Oca will contain more items on the menu than one there! Such comments about the pizzas being thin etc, it is traditional italian style! I have also been in top class 'celebrity chef' restaurants who are very keen on adding a lot of salt for taste.. which seems to be a modern part of cooking.. therefore, having experienced this before I always ask for the chef to be easy on the salt wherever I go!!

It is a pizzeria with class but with reasonable prices. The food is excellent quality products and very fresh. Anything not on the menu can be accomated within reason (I think this is stated on the menu too). I feel terrible on behalf of the staff and the restaurant for some of the negative comments below but as with anything in life, not everything is to everyone's taste and not everyone can be pleased but I will reassure you that if you are in doubt about anything.. just ask as you will be informed and accomodated for!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vao also viewed

Sale, Greater Manchester
Sale, Greater Manchester
 
Oldham, Greater Manchester
Sale, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Vao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.