We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but kitchen needs to improve” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain to your Saves list
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   220 Gord Canning Drive, Blue Mountains, Ontario L9Y 0V9, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Blue Mountains
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brampton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel but kitchen needs to improve”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We just arrived from our two day weekend at the Westin for skiing.. We booked a two bedroom suite and we had friends stay with us as well. We usually book the village but because it was booked we decided to try the Westin Trillium House. It was worth a try. I have to say the staff was great. Our room wasn't ready till 5pm which was disappointing after we were eager to start dinner after skiing and we had to wait an 1hr but the reception did offer us free parking and and free internet for the inconvenience. We weren't the only ones who were waiting for our rooms. There are a few things I think that the hotel needs to improve especially if you are comparing to the village suites. The kitchen had no paper towels and not enough amenities such as pot holders, and enough dishwasher soap enough for just 1 load and just extra simple items needed in the kitchen. I like to clean up and tidy up but I felt this was poor if we weren't given adequate supplies. No extra garbage bags to use after cleaning up the last day. Need extra toilet paper. The washroom toilet was backed up and it was just on toilet paper. Even the kitchen sink drain wasn't draining properly when I was washing the pots and pans by hand. The staff was good and helpful once we called maintenance. The kitchen itself was spotless!!! Even the oven looked like new. These are minor suggestions but if they could improve the kitchen supplies and please leave paper towel roll in the kitchen. I have never stayed at suite with a kitchen with no paper towels. I asked front desk for paper towels but instead I got some napkins. If I had known I would of brought some paper towels from home. I would love to come back but I hope they will take my suggestions into consideration. If not please leave more then 1 dishwasher cloth and more tea towels please and potholders to remove hot items from the oven. On a positive note, we still had a great time with cold weather and a great view, and the beds were so comfortable. Room 361

Nellie
Brampton, Ontario

Room Tip: Ask about kitchen amenities. Be prepared to bring some extra items.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    225
    81
    39
    24
See reviews for
286
228
7
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed here in September. It was great. Nice clean rooms, well appointed. Pet friendly policy was second to none. We were here during quiet season so no crowds. The only item of concern was pricey room service menu, but there is plenty of food available in Blue Mountain Village, across the pond. Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy M, General Manager at Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
And we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last year we had a room on the 2nd floor overlooking the village

This time we are in room 317 a very long walk from the lobby and our room has a bad odour

The hotel has a very good atmosphere just make sure your room is close to the lobby and looks onto the village

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy M, General Manager at Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, I'm very sorry there was an odour to your room during your stay. I've had housekeeping investigate today for any exsisting odours in room 317 and it seems this has been resolved. Thank you for making us aware of this issue I do hope this will not keep you from returning. If you do find the opportunity to return to the Westin, please note your view preference on the reservation. We find about 50% of our guests prefer mountain views and 50% of our guests prefer village views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Stayed 2 nights. Hotel services and amenities are great. Cheap parking. Restaurant (Oliver and Bonacini) was exceptional both food and service. Hotel staff are very helpful and courteous. Hotel completed most of their renovations. Very clean and worth the price.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy M, General Manager at Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive feedback! I will ensure it is share with our associates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival the checkin took a bit of time due to the lineup. Once in the underground parking(xtra 15$) some parking spots were used for renovation materials, on an already busy weekend probably not the best spot to leave these in, also the young guy smoking in the underground wasn't appealing to us non smokers. The last negative was requesting a late check out, which I know hotels are not obliged to provide, however when the hotel advertises "extended weekends with late checkouts"... Please stick with it, it's the little things that matter. I was told how busy the weekend is and I understand, but I believe in taking care of your current guests who already signed on the line rather than using your coming guests as an excuse.

With the above set aside it was an excellent location, clean room and lobby, friendly staff. The heated pool and hot tub are perfect for the winter season. The restaurant in the lobby area is very convenient. Everything in the room was well kept and in good working order. We will plan on using this hotel again, while keeping in mind the late checkout may not apply in all circumstances! By the way, white tea aloe is amazing!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy M, General Manager at Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank you for your post, I'm pleased to advise you our renovations are now complete! All the guest rooms and public space are now completely refreshed. So the garage is no longer being used for renovation storage. This is not minor nitpicking, I completely agree with your comments in regards to the garage, unfortuantely with no alternative space, the underground parking garage defaulted to be our temporary storage area as we transitioned between the old furniture and fixtures and the new furniture and fixtures.
I also want to apologize, I am very sorry that business levels did not allow for a late check out, I can imagine this was disappointing and personally inconvenient. In a drive resort location we understand guests want to spend the whole day of check out experiencing the resort, however on certain dates, we have an equal amount of guest's arriving to the resort to experience the resort. We do our best to try and balance out the in's and out with an effort to not disappoint any of our guests. Unfortunately in some circumstances we are not always able guarantee check out times past our 11am check out. I hope there is an opportunity for you to visit the resort again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed overnight at the Westin Trillium. The room was clean and wonderful! The bed was absolutely comfortable and clean. There was a gas fireplace that warmed the room up wonderfully. We were in room 357 with a view of the ski slope. The group we were with went on a horse drawn ride around the village. Though it was cold on the Saturday, we were not too bad off as the wagon was covered. The village of Blue Mountain is a winter wonderland and a skiers best dream. We didn`t get a chance to ski, but would have if we had had more time. I highly recommend the Westin for your stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy M, General Manager at Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your postive review! We hope you get up again to enjoy the skiing, the brand new Orchard area just opened today and the snow is fantastic; we are very excited for everyone to get up and enjoy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom suite on the 4th floor for 3 days. It was very spacious and we had a great view of the pool area.
The hotel was fully equipped with all the necessary amenities.
Very clean, and the beds were comfortable.
Staff were very nice and helpful.
There's a jacuzzi, pool and sauna.
The jacuzzi outside was nice however it can easily get crowded - even in October.
Location is right in Blue Mountain area, however you have to do a slight loop to walk around the hotel itself and past the parking lot area to get to the village.
There's lot to do around the area. All year round.
We had a enjoyable stay. Very comfortable

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view of the village area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy M, General Manager at Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your positive feedback! We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain

Address: 220 Gord Canning Drive, Blue Mountains, Ontario L9Y 0V9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Blue Mountains
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Blue Mountains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Trillium House, Blue Mountain, just two hours northwest of Toronto is nestled between the shores of Georgian Bay and the heights of the Niagara Escarpment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Starwood, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain Hotel Blue Mountains
Westin Collingwood
Westin Trillium Hotel Blue Mountain
Collingwood Westin
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain Blue Mountains, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.