We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“191 Brooker Blvd. - Think again...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodges at Blue Mountain

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added The Lodges at Blue Mountain to your Saves list
The Lodges at Blue Mountain
796468 Grey Rd 19, Blue Mountains, Ontario L9Y 0P5, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
CAD50 off room rate
Oakville, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“191 Brooker Blvd. - Think again...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights. Do not let outdoor appearance fool you. The "prestigious chalet" has 8 bedrooms, each with the oldest, most uncomfortable and squeakiest mattresses ever...no one slept well. Bedrooms are not well appointed - not one dresser, no hangers, most rooms have no lamps, pillows are old and flat. 4 toilets, only 2 marginally worked, leaking basement shower (pipe problem in the wall and shower door wouldn't close so flooded the bathroom floor), the carpet outside the bathroom was soaked and mold forming on the carpet. The "gourmet" kitchen is poorly equipped with no frying pans, baking sheets. The oven wreaked off a bad fish smell and stopped working 2 days in. The A/C does not reach the upstairs very well and most windows upstairs do not have screens so you could not open them without mosquitos coming in. There were cobb webs in most corners and nothing about the house was very clean. The house is very tired. Will say that the office staff tried to help make our stay better - provided brand new fry pans, foil baking sheets, towels to mop up the leaking shower mess and some hangers, along with 2 bottles of wine. Certainly not a place you want to stay at more than 3 nights. It is too bad the owners have let the home go as it has potential to be a "prestigious chalet" rental. Won't be returning.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodgesatbluemountain, Owner at The Lodges at Blue Mountain, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
I would like to state that the Lodges at Blue Mountain strive to provide the best possible service and we regret any inconvenience that your experience has caused you. This group caused some minor damage to a wall and refused to accept responsibility for their actions and truly believe this review was written because of this incident. This is a 1.5million dollar property unlike any other rental property in Blue Mountain.

After checking you in we did receive a telephone call stating that one of the washrooms was not cleaned, we immediately dispatched our housekeeping staff to attend to the issue. Our housekeepers were greeted by one of the guests and were directed to the powder room located off of the main living room area. The next day we did attend to a second call that was placed by you. On the third day we did send in a Housekeeping Team who cleaned all the bathrooms in the house and refreshed all the supplies. At no time were any other issues reported to us until much later in the week which did include a few corner beads of dry wall needing touch up and a crack in an exterior window which had been ordered. We were aware of these maintenance issues and apologized, but it being our high peak At no time was our maintenance department dispatched for light bulbs as they were all in working order on our pre-check inspection of the property. Upon our post-check inspection it was noted that there was a hole in the wall that was reported by our maintenance department and you were notified with a picture of the hole. Upon check out at no time was the damage reported to any of our Front Desk staff. When we approached you about the damages to the property, you then started demanding a discount for the other issues you now reported in this review. It’s no unfortunate that you were not willing to accept responsibility for the damages created by your group and have taken to write this review only because we were not willing to compensate you for the bathroom issues which were reported an our staff attended 3 times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    11
    1
    8
    15
See reviews for
38
3
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Our first experience with The lodges at the Blue dates back 3 years ago. A friend of ours recommended them for a nice family vacation that won't break your budget. As we are a family of 5 with a dog, this is something we really need. So we booked a 2 bedroom condo that was close to the beach and perfect for our family fun getaway. To our surprise and momentary disappointment, when we first arrived we noticed a leak in a corner, coming in from the above unit. We had to call the office and ask them to send someone to take a look at it. I had already explained to the kids that if there was nothing to be done about this we would spend the day at the beach and around, and make the best of things. The maintenance staff came in less than five minutes, looked at the problem and gave us the bad news that we would not be able stay here, but that they would do their best to try to find us similar accommodations, if not we would be compensated for the inconvenience. With that he made a call to the office, and we waited with our fingers crossed. After a few minutes he came back to us with the wonderful news that they were able to place us in a new condo, as long as it was to our liking. We had to follow him to the new location for a viewing and approval. To our surprise we were relocated to a 3 bedroom, 2 storey, 4 bathroom (with jacuzzi) condo at the foot of the mountain; a whole 30 second walk from the village. We were ecstatic and extremely grateful. We truly expected to be compensated in some way, but we did not expect this. They went above and beyond and even apologized for not being as close to the beach as the last place was. It was more than close enough to the beach and beautiful.

Since then we've been staying with The Lodges at Blue Mountain for the last 4 summers and couldn't be happier. Check in/check out is fast and efficient; the staff is extremely helpful and always go above and beyond. We always have an amazing time, the chalets are perfect and so are the condos; they are all conveniently located so you can spend time in Collingwood, in the village, and at the many beaches around. The accommodations are all very clean and spotless, and just perfect!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The Unit we rented this summer at Wintergreen was newly renovated and very well maintained. Every single room was spotless and the kitchen was up to date with all new appliances. Although it is not a ground floor unit it had two very nice balconies, one with a stunning view of Blue Mountain. This Unit is perfectly situated in the Village close enough to walk to, yet far enough from the noise of the Village. We were very pleased to stay at here! This is our fifth year renting with Blue Mountain Lodges and we find them both very courteous and professional.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed in a Wintergreen condo for a girls weekend and it was amazing. The place was very roomy and a 2 minute walk to the village. I would highly recommend Unit 208 to anyone. Had everything we needed and more, including BBQ and 2 balconies. Owner really took care of us and I would gladly go again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We had a great weekend, the place was the perfect! Large kitchen with a dining room, family space and lots of sleeping space. We enjoyed the balconies and being a close walk to the village. Our dealings with the owner were very pleasant as well.

Would rent from this property again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We recently stayed at Blue Mountain Lodges unit number 6326. It is a stand-alone home and comes equipped with an outdoor pool and hot tub. Both of which were clean and well-maintained. The kitchen was excellent and we really enjoyed sitting on the wrap-around deck in the evenings..!

The home is located very close to the shops and restaurants in The VIllage. It was very hot during the day but the home remained cool and was a perfect temperature for sleeping.

I would highly recommend this wonderful home for your next visit to the Collingwood area..!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We recently booked a property through the Lodges. I expected a reasonable and consistent standard. We were put in Unit 602 at the Mountain Springs property. It had to be the most brutal room that we have ever stayed in (and we travel quite a bit). It was a last minute rental and I now know why it was available for just one night on the August long weekend. The irony was the $500 damage deposit that they secured. When we got into room, the air conditioner wasn't working, the balcony door was broken and barred shut, another window had no screens and the final window had the handle to open broken off. The blinds fell off when we were trying to find a window to open (yes it was 28 deg C). The light bulbs weren't in place in the kitchen, the pull out couch has springs sticking out, there were mushrooms from a former pizza.....need I go on! Of course no one answered the on call line either.

Room Tip: Find out exactly what unit you will be in and get pictures first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodges at Blue Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodges at Blue Mountain

Address: 796468 Grey Rd 19, Blue Mountains, Ontario L9Y 0P5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Blue Mountains
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Blue Mountains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Mountain Lodges offers Ontario vacation accommodations in the Blue Mountain Collingwood Region unmatched by others. We now offer over 160 unique vacation property options. From 1-4 bedroom condos to larger 5-8 bedroom luxury Chalets. Many ski in ski out condos, townhomes,lodge and cottage style rentals perfectly situated for your ski vacation, golf getaway or family retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Lodges at Blue Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodges At Blue Mountain Blue Mountains, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodges at Blue Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.