We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of Paradise, even those for people who aren't fanatical nature-lovers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Aguape

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Posada Aguape to your Saves list
Posada Aguape
Provincial Route 40, Colonia Carlos Pellegrini, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A piece of Paradise, even those for people who aren't fanatical nature-lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

Our experience at Posada Aguapé was so much better than we could have imagined. It's a stunning setting and the lodge itself was comfortable, rustic/chic and eco-friendly, especially the room frogs! After weeks of non-stop meat and carbohydrates in the rest of Argentina, it was a pleasure to have light and inventive home-cooked meals with vegetables. Rafael and Carolina couldn't have been more helpful (the latter going out of her way to help us with a transport crisis) and informative, especially on the guided nature tours. Watching the sun setting red and glowing over the marshes after canoeing in the reeds among the caymans and capybaras was a magical experience.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    9
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
40
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

If you like your holidays remote - Posada Aguape is the place for you. We hadn't quite appreciated how remote Carlos Colloni Pelegrini actually is but this is part of its charm. Aguape's rooms are nicely appointed and spacious. The location on the lagoon is great and the trips are fantastic. our guide, Sabrina, was really knowlegable and friendly. The food is delicious and copious - 3 course meals for lunch and dinner with cake and tea in between - you certainly won't go hungry! We had to leave earlier than planned and the staff made this very easy for us - they were helpful and professional at all times. Although we had planned to stay longer, we feel that we saw enough of the area in two days and I would recommend a two - three night stay - although in the summer you could certainly spend longer in this amazing location making the most of the pool etc.

While Aguape is amazing, it is an expensive and long journey to get there and so make sure you have enough time and are really keen on wildlife as this is the primary focus of the trip. If you have the time, money and interest in the wetlands environment you won't be disappointed. Come here before the road is tarmaced and the secret is out!!!

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haumoana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

Aguape Lodge meets the expectations set by its excellent website. We thoroughly enjoyed staying here. My husband is in a wheelchair which makes travel and seeing wildlife challenging. The staff at Aguape went out of their way to meet our needs and make it possible for us to enjoy the lake and surrounds. I would highly recommend Aguape to other travellers.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

I went to this lodge based on a picture from the internet, and was glad I came. Posada Aguape fast became one of my favorite places to stay. Rafael, the warm and friendly manager, greets guests at the entrance as if they are old friends and shows you around the Posada. First sight is the outdoor eating area, a picturesque area w a lovely view of the pool and the lagoons further on. The Posada is rustic in looks, luxurious in style. The food is out of this world. The chef and the staff are totally attentive and no worries if you are a vegetarian - I even think others were jealous when they saw what I had to eat! They have a good selections of wines and the desserts were amazing - especially the passionfruit ice cream with cream. I don't want to sound obsessed with the food - but the olive bread and cheese bread, fresh from the oven, the salads and the service, were incredible. It's an unusual place because you have the rusticity of nature, but the elegance of comfortable beds, a daily tea served w tempting cakes and gourmet food preparation. The rooms are comfortable, clean and attractive, w private bathrooms. The lodge where tea is served acts as a meeting place in the evenings, w games, TV, photo albums of the history, and comfortable couches to retreat into. Along with the lodge are excursions every day, to visit the lagoon and learn about the area. Conservation is important and it's good to see this in action. The guides were all knowledgeable and attentive, I liked the canoe trip the best. It's quiet, not too many people around, you get close to the animals and my guide was terrific - I saw huge storks walking together like old friends, capybara families, monkeys, deer, snakes, southern screamers, caiman, roseate spoonbill, kingfishers - amazing birds. The staff makes you feel welcome and comfortable, as if you knew them already. I had the pleasure of meeting Maria, one of the owners, on my last day and you understand why the place has such a comfortable atmosphere. Posada Aguape is a place for relaxing and getting close to nature. Do not go expecting an exciting nightlife, but walking down to the dock at night and watching the sun set w a cup of coffee and seeing the birds in their night flights, was very satisfying as a start to the evening. The ride to get there is long but worth it. I went in early August and took a Flecha bus from BA to Mercedes (very comfortable) and then a 2 - 3 hour ride in a car/truck (depending on the road conditions) to the Posada Aguape. Look at the list of things to bring on their website, it's very helpful. Don't forget binoculars! The winter was not bad, I had sunshine every day, but it's good to bring layers of clothes - a fleece and a windbreaker is useful. One day was cold but by August 15th I was down to a T-shirt - good weather. This is definitely a different side of Argentina, not just for bird-watchers, but for those who want some down time with a view. Thank you for the experience!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2008

We have just returned from four days at Aguape, and it is true that the experience of the Esteros is something quite stunning. The Posada offers a good variety of trips around the area , and we saw an enormous variety of birds and other wildlife. Our only problem was that our travel agent had told us that it was a tropical area and we packed accordingly. When we got there it was freezing - well not snowing exactly but with biting winds and low temperatures. So take a fleece, and possibly a hat and pair of gloves - we would have paid anything for warm clothing, but because its so quiet and remote, what you take is what you wear!
Also, it you take a plane to Posadas be aware that it is a four hour journey over dirt roads to Aguape, when it rains, its better than a skid pan! When you finally get to Aguape the experience and the food is worth the drive

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrientes, Argentina
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2007

My best friend and I decided to go for a few days to the Esteros del Ibera, not really knowing what we would find there. Our expectations where not REALLY high but we wanted to not only enjoy the nature, and peaceful place but also stay in a nice, comfortable lodge. Posada Aguape turned out being the best choice we could possibly make. Let me start by describing it. There are four houses in total, two with rooms, one living room (tv, music, books, magazines, etc), and the other building with the open dinning room. It also has a pool, and paraguayian hammocks outside each room. However, the best part is definetely the deck. It isn't that big, but enough to walk and stay there watching sunsets, sunrises, and what remains the best part of the trip for me, the stars at night. Since C. Pellegrini is a very small town, once the lights of the lodge go off, you can see all the stars shining in the sky. It takes your breath away to watch that, especially because of the quietness and peacefulness the place provides. There are many activities you can do in the Esteros, the Posada Aguape has canoes, kayaks, bikes, the aformentioned pool, and of course you can go hiking either by youserlves or with a guide, but it's all included in the Posada's programme. There's also a large park to walk around. For nature lovers, there are millions of plants, hundreds of bird species, marsh deers, carpinchos or capi baras (at one point my friend and I where even tired of seeing them..), yacare's (caimans), frogs, monkeys, and you can't miss walking on the floating islands!. There are also some night safaris and you can see vizcachas, aguara guazus, deers, etc. If you are thinking of the best place to relax and enjoy nature, Posada Aguape in the Esteros del Ibera is hands down your choice. The only thing my friend and I regret is not having stayed longer.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, CANADA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2006

This well run tourist lodge is on the shores of the Esteros del Ibera, a world natural heritage site. The rooms are well appointed and clean. All meals (4 a day)are included and take place at scheduled times in the open air dining room. Activities includes are swimming, hiking, (we saw a pack of Howler Monkeys, and an ocelot and such diverse flora), canoeing, guided boat rides, (we saw capybaras, marsh deer, caiman, and too many birds and butterflies to mention), biking. The grounds are beautiful, well maintained and relaxing. If you want an extreme adventure this is not for you, but if you are enjoy incredibly diverse flora and fauna up close and personal this is your place!
Culture shock 2/5
Language shock 1/5
Food shock 1/5
Wallet shock 4/5

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada Aguape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Aguape

Address: Provincial Route 40, Colonia Carlos Pellegrini, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Corrientes > Colonia Carlos Pellegrini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Colonia Carlos Pellegrini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION Aguape Lodge is located in Colonia Carlos Pellegrini, only 115 km from Mercedes city ( province of Corrientes) and 740 km from Buenos Aires. Access by car and bus is rather easy. THE INN Eight double suites with a view to the lagoon Wide verandas, TV and video in the living room. Play room. • Guests House: Four double suites by the lagoon Small cozy living room with a large fireplace and a bar. • Decorated with regional typical craftsmanship. Show of crafts made by the "correntino" people. THE ROOMS Posada Aguape, offer large and comfortable rooms. All have a view to the lake and are decorated with regional typical craftsmanship. MENU With a unique view of the Ibera Lake, you will be able to enjoy our homemade delicatessen and savor selected wines. All jam and marmalade, butter and country sweet milk are homemade, and are only some of the temptations that you will be served with at our traditional breakfasts. Home pastry making at tea time. Menu: appetizer, entree, and dessert. Vegetable garden, homemade pasta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Posada Aguape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Aguape Hotel Province Of Corrientes
Posada Aguape Argentina/Colonia Carlos Pellegrini

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Aguape, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.