We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“Relaxation meets purpose” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Viva

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Playa Viva to your Saves list
Playa Viva
Carretera Zihuatanejo-Acapulco | Playa Icacos Juluchuca, GRO, Petatlan 40834, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Petatlan B&B and Inns
san francisco
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Relaxation meets purpose”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

Playa Viva is a majestical place. Not only can you lie in a hammock all day sipping homemade agua frescas, you can also interact with the ecological, cultural, and historical beauty that encompasses the resort. The staff is amazing, the yoga and massage opportunities relax the soul, and the chile rellenos warm the belly.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    2
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
49
68
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

It is really hard to put into words how beautiful Playa Viva is; truly a piece of art. The attention to detail is incredible from the decor to the service to the delectable food. For example, while swinging in the ocean front hammocks, you can admire the copper chandelier hanging over the huge wooden table where we shared our meals family style. The open kitchen ceiling is covered with imprints of leaves from local trees; every towel hanger is made of driftwood and sinks of beautiful stone. Not only are you swayed to sleep every night by the ocean in the open aired casitas, but when you open your eyes in the morning, can see the amazing sunrise without even getting out of bed. David, the owner, and his staff see to it that all of your needs are met beyond expectation. We savored each delightful meal which included everything made from scratch including homemade tortillas, cheese and butter. And all of this, done in a totally eco-friendly way with solar electricity and environmentally low impact amenities. Playa Viva is an absolute gem and a must go to for nature lovers.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

David and Sandy, the visionaries behind Playa Viva, are on a mission - to restore and regenerate both the ecosystems of their land in Juluchuca and the guests who are fortunate enough to stay in their luxurious beachfront boutique hotel. They are succeeding brilliantly. It is an exquisite place for R&R and you can't help but commune with nature while you are there. The place is just gorgeous and their attention to details outstanding. To cite two of many examples: First, I particularly like the turtle-shaped soap holders, hand crafted from wood and sea shells. They are not only aesthetically delightful but they remind you of the cuter-than-can-be, newly-hatched turtles that David wakes up early every morning to bring interested guests to see. Then, there is the staff. Imagine lounging in the pool and having a yummy Mexican snack of fresh jicama, cucumbers and chile salt and a cool agua fresca or a Mechilada (beer cocktail) brought to you, without your even asking for it. That's just the way they do things at Playa Viva. It is a gem of a place, and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

Playa Viva is truly an amazing and unique place. I have stayed at very high end beach resorts, and this (very luxurious but at the same time very reasonably priced) resort makes them pale in comparison. If you are the type of traveler who needs air conditioning and a widescreen TV in your room, then this is not the place for you. However, for anyone who wants to get away and be surrounded by natural beauty and have a true cleansing experience for the mind and body, Playa Viva is the place to go. The resort is small so the atmosphere is friendly and there is a wonderful feeling of community, and guests can get to know each other as well as the staff. The staff is attentive and energetic. The food, served buffet style, is nutritious, fresh and delicious (and the room price is all-inclusive, so meals are all covered).
The most impressive thing about Playa Viva is the architecture and design. The casitas (rooms) are amazing. They are made out of natural materials, and you can tell that thought went into every single little detail. The knobs on my shower, for example, were made from pieces of driftwood that were gathered from the beach. The roofs are vaulted palapa ceilings. And the casitas are open to fresh air - no glass windows! So you get an extremely open feel, but without compromising privacy. It's almost like 5-star luxury camping, considering how connected with nature you feel. My explanations of the casitas can't really do them justice - they represent natural beauty at its best, and you have to experience it to really understand.
Playa Viva is right on the beach, and you can take a mile long walk (at least) down the beach in either direction, and have the whole beach completely to yourself - you may occasionally see a fisherman or two.
If you are the lounging type, you will be happy just lying on the beach or spending time in the hammocks, the couches overlooking the ocean, the beachside pool, or the hot tub (heated by solar power, like everything else at the resort). If you are the active or adventurous type, there are activities that you can do; one morning I visited the sea turtle sanctuary, which is on Playa Viva's property. I helped release over 1200 baby sea turtles who had just hatched from their nests and watched them swim out to sea. I know there is also a good surf spot pretty nearby. There are also some yoga and meditation classes offered at Playa Viva.
I went here with family, which was great. It is a perfect location for a romantic vacation with a significant other as well.
You will not regret going to Playa Viva. Indulge yourself.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

I have never lived in a place right on the beach, had a beach to myself and been waited on for my every need (even having my suitcases unpacked) before. This place is extraordinary. It is luxurious and elegant and did me a world of good. I arrived beat down by working too hard for two years. I napped every day, walked to the turtle sanctuary (and one day got to release 1247 baby turtles - an amazing experience), ate a little too much (the food is hard to resist), and slept to the sound of the waves. At the end of a week, I actually feel like a human being again. I am tan, rested and ready to lead my organization again. This is a place for kings and queens - very special.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico city
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

My wife to be and myself had the privilege to be among the first visitors to this "UNIQUE" Boutique Hotel close to the Ixtapa-Zihuatanejo airport.
The construction and decoration of the suites was done to perfection, taking a shower in a windowless yet private bathroon is a once in a lifetime experience, sleeping in a confortable bed with an ocean view and sounds is indescriptible.
More than 100 acres of nature surround the suites and common areas of the compound, you can either rest at ease, climb a mountain or raise early in the morning to see how the baby turtles are released. If you love nature, you can not miss it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

The website and photos don't convey how incredibly beautiful this place is. I've been to many places in Mexico for vacation and none come close to this. I used to think the Pacific coast beaches weren't as nice for swimming as as the Yucatan side, but this placed proved me wrong. The crystal blue water was heaven, and having the whole beach to ourselves was something you can't experience anywhere else. Of course when I was feeling lazy there was always the pool, filled with natural river water so unlike other places I didn't have to worry about chemical damage to my skin and hair. Despite being a sustainable and completely eco-friendly resort, I felt completely pampered in luxury here. We woke up to a breathtaking view of the beach and the ocean. The most difficult part of the day was deciding whether to wake up early to go see the newly hatched turtles at the turtle sanctuary (well worth it once you're out of bed) or sleep in until the sound of the breakfast bell. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, and catered to our every need, and after learning I was vegetarian went out of their way to include multiple vegetarian dishes at every meal (all delicious). At night we fell asleep with the sound of the waves crashing against the beach. My only regret was that we hadn't planned a longer trip.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Viva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Viva

Address: Carretera Zihuatanejo-Acapulco | Playa Icacos Juluchuca, GRO, Petatlan 40834, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Petatlan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Petatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Viva is a sustainable boutique hotel with 8 rooms on a private beach located 30 minutes from Zihuatanejo-Ixtapa International airport. Play Viva is located on 200 acres with 1.3 kilometers of beach front. 85% of the property is in a Private Reserve for use of guests and includes a turtle sanctuary, archaeological site, working permaculture farm, forest restoration, estuary and much more. Come enjoy yoga, surfing or any of the many local activities. Playa Viva is off grid, operating 100% on solar power, solar thermal water heating, grey and black water management systems and built with local materials and craftsmanship. We specialize in farm to table, sourcing much of our food locally and can handle a wide variety of dietary concerns from vegetarian and vegan to many types of allergies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Playa Viva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Viva Hotel Petatlan
Playa Viva Mexico/Petatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Viva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.