We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dolphin and whales can be seen, if you travel in the right season” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lookout at Playa Tortuga

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Lookout at Playa Tortuga to your Saves list
Lookout at Playa Tortuga
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Calle Paraiso (300 Meters Este de Ferreteria Ventanas) | Playa Tortuga, Ojochal 60501, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Ojochal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sorocaba, SP
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“dolphin and whales can be seen, if you travel in the right season”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

pros
1. Located on a small mountain, has a view of the forest and sea. Also good view of the stars in the night. 2. Clean and nice rooms with stable water temperature, fitting to the German owner.
cons
1. ca. 30km away from the main town (Bahia/Uvita),and main beach of the national park. Travel with bus is not so easy.

Room Tip: Maybe try to find something near Bahia/Uvita, when you have no rental car. dolphin and whales can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    43
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
35
84
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

If not for a small sign on the side of the road, I would not have known about The Lookout. The dirt road goes for a short distance up a very steep hill, ending at an unassuming property.

I was greeted by Blanca the dog, closely followed by her owner Bridget. Since it was close to dark I was ready to find a place to land for the night.

I got lucky. The property is gorgeous. The rooms are small and quaint, sparsely furnished (just like I like). The grounds and the views are beautiful.

I had the vegetable lasagne for dinner, and it was still frozen in the middle. After a quick trip back to the kitchen, all was well. The salad was delicious. Two glasses of wine on the veranda were nice as well.

There is free wifi (not in the rooms, only at the pool/restaurant area). There is also a very comfortable upstairs patio to relax and enjoy the views.

I paid extra for air conditioning because I am recovering from a recent horrible cold and needed to insure a good night's sleep. That said, after the fact I think I would have been more than OK to just have the windows open.

The no-see-ums were voracious around dusk, be sure to have insect repellent on hand (and/or wear long sleeves and long pants).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stumbled upon this wonderful oasis when another hotel fell through. What a find! Rooms were bright and cheery....nothing fancy, but comfortable and a step up from many of the hotels where we stayed. The setting is simply lovely; a wonderful large pool with a view of the jungle and the sea...open-air restaurant...nicely manicured grounds. Breakfast was served buffet style and was good and plentiful. German owners were incredibly helpful and friendly. Got up early for a dip in the pool on our last morning and didn't want to leave!

Note: Dirt road to this hotel from the main road is an easy drive and does not require a 4x4! This was a big plus for us after checking out other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Some rooms are newer with A/C and a view of the sea (also more expensive). I was fine with our quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The Accomodations were nice and clean, the pool refreshing and the view was great. But the best part was the food! We stayed 3 nights, and ate every breakfast and dinner there because the food was fantastic. There was four of us, each ordering different things every day and each meal was delicious! The hosts cooked, served meals and drinks and helped us plan our day. They spoke English, Spanish and Dutch/German...that I know of...maybe even more! I highly recommend this place...if you can't stay overnight - at least make this a stop for a fabulous meal and the view!!!!!!

Room Tip: The rooms are sparse but clean. The pool, bar and rooftop view are where you spend your time anyways...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed here for a night and had a wonderful stay. The owners Birgit and Uwe were great hosts, we felt the difference in hospitality immediately compared to othet local places we stayed. The place has amazing view to the ocean, lovely garden and pool. After travelling for 2 weeks the welcoming athmosphere and super kind hospitality of the owners was all we needed.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, Panama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

I stayed with my mom for two nights during the quiet month of September. We were the only ones... (Ok during green season in the middle of the week it's understandable, but they have more visitors on weekends). The room was really nice, the a/c working well. Fantastic show by the fireflies in the evening just in front of our bungalow. The swimming pool was very refreshing, although with too much chlorine(!). The food was really good and the cook/owner very attentive to make it right or do the extra mile to please. We could even checked out after normal time cause we finished a whale-watching tour in the morning (amazing btw!) that finished in the afternoon. They even offered for each of us a bottle of water and one of their delicious organic home-grown banana for the afternoon drive... Definitely a place to stop by.

And if you go there, don't miss the upper terrace (tower)... Sipping a cocktail while watching the incredible views of the Pacific coast line (or the sunset) at the Lookout is a no-miss! :)

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW, Ontario
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stumbled upon this place and stopped for lunch. I ordered the Palm salad. It included palm avocado, red pepper and pesto sauce on romaine. My husband ordered guacamole with corn chips. Great food, but oh what a view!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lookout at Playa Tortuga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lookout at Playa Tortuga

Address: Calle Paraiso (300 Meters Este de Ferreteria Ventanas) | Playa Tortuga, Ojochal 60501, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Ojochal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ojochal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lookout at Playa Tortuga 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel has twelve brightly decorated bungalows with Queen beds, Ceiling Fans or Air Conditioners, Tiled Floors, large hot water showers, and individual patios. The property also features an expansive open-air restaurant, bar, sparkling pool, and sunset cocktail lounge all with magnificent views of both the Pacific Ocean and the jungle. In the evening, from our restaurant, lounge or pool, sit back, enjoy a glass of wine and watch the sun set over the ocean. What could be better after a day at the beach or a day full of fun activities? Ready for fun? Whether you wish to spend the day relaxing at the beach, hiking to a waterfall or ziplining through the trees, Lookout is your activity coordinator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Lookout at Playa Tortuga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lookout At Playa Tortuga Hotel Ojochal
Lookout At Playa Tortuga Costa Rica/Ojochal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lookout at Playa Tortuga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.