We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lookout at Playa Tortuga

Save Saved
You added Lookout at Playa Tortuga to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lookout at Playa Tortuga
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Calle Paraiso | Playa Tortuga, Ojochal 60501, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Ojochal B&B and Inns
SW, Ontario
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“What a view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stumbled upon this place and stopped for lunch. I ordered the Palm salad. It included palm avocado, red pepper and pesto sauce on romaine. My husband ordered guacamole with corn chips. Great food, but oh what a view!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    34
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
30
73
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frederikshavn, Denmark
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

What a lovely spot. Great view 360 degrade with sounds of animals nearby. At night the fireflies preformed a fantastic show and daylight gave us a glimpse of turkan and colibries.
George, Uwe and Birgit were very helpful with arranging aktivitets.
The rooms were very clean and the beds good. We only had fans and they were a little bit slow, but you get use to it after a while. The pool had 2 floating-sunbeds - but on the poolside there only were 4 sunbeds..
You need a car if you want to go out to eat and visit the beaches around Ojochal. Be aware of the time for high tide :o)
The beach in Ojochal - Playa Turtuga - is closed at night because the turtle comes up and lea their eggs. You can see it if you arrange it with the guards that protect the turtles. Ask Birgit or Uwe for further information.
The only minus for us were, that we paid 80 $ pr. night and outside, at the entrance a sign said that you could stay for only 50 $ !!!! We stayed for 5 nights and didn't get any discount...and we booked 2 rooms - just paid all the first day of our visit, but ok it was a lovely place with great staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a hammock. We didn't get one but missed it... on the web-site it's told...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern california
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

This little paradise (just about a dozen rooms) is located on a hilltop just north of Ojochal. Spectacular views from each room, from the ample and nicely maintained gardens, from the luxurious pool, and especially from the hotel's lookout tower.

Rooms are nice - comfortable beds, good bathrooms. But nowhere to sit except outside, which is not so bad as each room has a little terrace, there are benches all around the gardens, and there are several comfortable public areas: the pool, bar, restaurant and lookout tower.

The hotel's small size is conducive to sociability. The hotel is run by three friendly Germans who struggle a bit with Spanish but speak good English. Guests during our stay included Europeans and Americans along with the property's South African owner.

Breakfast buffet (included) comes with good food - we especially liked the cheeses and the fresh fruit, although coffee was weak for our taste and we were shocked that the orange juice was not fresh (most Costa Rican hotels offer different kinds of fresh juice).

We were also pleasantly surprised that the hotel offered very good and reasonably priced food for lunch and dinner as well. We enjoyed the heart of palm salad and fresh fish main courses, and also the homemade pesto. The "quesadilla" was odd - delicious fresh veggies, but the tortilla was fried and dripping in grease (a German take on Mexican food?)

Overall we loved this place and could have stayed here for weeks, especially as the prices for rooms, food and even their very good wine by the glass were so reasonable. Just minutes from Ojochal and right down a quiet and wide highway from Dominical, Hacienda Baru and many other attractions. The steep ride up the unpacked driveway initially gave us pause but we made it up without a hitch in out Corolla. Hope to make it back again. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We needed a place to stay during the start of Easter week in March. Why? We had to leave the rental house we were in - it was just too awful. We tried one place in the area but it had just rented the last room. They referred us here. We checked in and had a room for all but one day we needed. We were lucky enough to get a room with a/c. You have to pay extra for it. But it's HOT down here in March so opt for it if you can. Not all the rooms have a/c. The American owner does not take care of this place. The rooms are not well kept. We had a missing window pane in the bathroom. The toilet squealed like a chicken having its head slowly twisted off. The ceiling fan turned crazily and seemed like it would fall off, all while making a loud unpleasant noise. The drapes are about a foot short of actually covering the windows. The walls make paper seem thick. So, don't plan to spend much time in the room. The beds, however, are tolerable and so are the pillows. The grounds, however, are quite beautiful, have some nice viewing and sitting areas, are grassed, and make up for much the rooms lack. Lots of beautiful plants and flowers. The pool is a good size and very refreshing. Pool towels, chairs, tables and some umbrellas help a lot. A very nice outdoor covered restaurant with nice service and good food. Excellent friendly service. And Blanca, the most mellow dog you could want. Respectable parking. We'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with a/c. Also take ear plugs if you are a light sleeper. There are no "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

George and Blanca greeted us at our car with umbrella's because it was raining very hard. Great food at a great price. The breakfast buffet was good with eggs, rice/beans, fresh fruit, toast & cheese. Quiet little place with amazing view at the ocean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz, Austria
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed 1 night in this hotel not far from Uvita.
Staff is friendly but stay is quite expensive for the value.
Room size is ok and clean but walls are really thin and you hear everything from the other rooms.
Windows are not closing properly and you have to use extensively the A/C to cool the room down.
The hotel is not on the beach and you can forget to go there without a car. Way to access is very stip so you better have a SUV.
Surrounding is very nice with lot of birds all around, nice view to ocean and forest.
Food is ok, nothing special.
Pool is refreshing and big but was not really clean.
We found it very expensive for what it is compared to the other hotels we stayed at (Plaza Yara hotel or Rio tico lodge where you feel like you have good value for what you pay).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed three nights here and found it very pleasant. The rooms are simple but brightly decorated and clean. Although there is no AC in the standard rooms the ceilimg fan and venitian windows kept the room cool enough for sleeping. Towels are thick and were changed after two days. The pool is large but not deep, Towels are provide there too. The grounds are well manicured and host lots of birds like parakeets, toucans and tanagers. There are benches that lookout over the hills to enjoy the view (each room also has a table & chairs on a small patio). The $8 breakfast buffet was good with eggs, rice/beans, fresh fruit, toast & cheese. It would have been nice to have some variation to the menu, though.
The staff was polite and efficient, somewhat reserved at first but warmed up with time. They were helpful with info about the area giving directions for the best roads to get to the nearby beaches. They happily supplied me with ice whenever I asked. We were offered cold bottles of water for the road when we left.
The only unpleasant aspect about our stay were the midges (miniscule biting bugs) that come out at dusk btween 4:30 - 6 pm making it very unpleasant to sit around the pool at dusk. Once dark they disappear, fortunately.
Getting up the steep gravel hill to the hotel was also a challenge, especially not being used to standard transmission.
I would recommend having a car to stay in this area as the sites are widespread and not alot is close enough to reach on foot.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lookout at Playa Tortuga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lookout at Playa Tortuga

Address: Calle Paraiso | Playa Tortuga, Ojochal 60501, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Ojochal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ojochal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lookout at Playa Tortuga 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel has ten brightly decorated bungalows with queen beds, ceiling fans, tiled floors, large hot water showers, and private patios. The property also features an expansive open-air restaurant, bar with Satellite TV, sparkling pool, and sunset cocktail lounge all with magnificent views of both the Pacific Ocean and the jungle.Each evening you can sit back, enjoy a cocktail or glass of wine and watch the sun set over the ocean from our restaurant or viewing deck above. What could be better after a long, hard day at the beach or zipping through the trees? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Lookout at Playa Tortuga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lookout At Playa Tortuga Hotel Ojochal
Lookout At Playa Tortuga Costa Rica/Ojochal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lookout at Playa Tortuga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.