We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hospitality, Excellent Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lookout at Playa Tortuga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lookout at Playa Tortuga to your Saves list
Lookout at Playa Tortuga
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Calle Paraiso (300 Meters Este de Ferreteria Ventanas) | Playa Tortuga, Ojochal 60501, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Ojochal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Wonderful Hospitality, Excellent Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Lookout is in a beautiful spot with a high, wide view of the ocean and surrounded by forest. It feels very quiet, peaceful, and comforting. Our little cabin was simple, airy, and very clean, with a sweet little outdoor space. The restaurant, pool, and lookout tower were great places to relax, as well -- all well kept and comfortable.

Birgit and Uwe were great hosts, extremely helpful with setting up tours, finding out what we were interested in doing in the area and recommending places and tours that fit our needs exactly. They take care of their guests in a lovely and low-key way. Really great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    44
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
36
86
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for 4 nights at the end of our trip. We had been busy travelling for a couple of weeks and we wanted to end the holiday with complete relaxation. And that is exactly what we got. The cabins are stunning; small but bright airy rooms with hand painted stencils and art coloring the walls. We would have loved our own fridge in the room but Uwe was kind enough to allow us to store our cheese in his fridge in the bar and gave us a cooler of ice on request. Each cabin has it's own patio with table and chairs where we enjoyed hours listening to the waves crash against the shore below. The beach is a short drive away but you could also walk it in about 20 mins if you feel the need the to leave the hotel... which we didn't! The pool is wonderful and cleaned every morning even though we were the only guests for the first few night. The hotel provides an enormous breakfast of fruit, eggs, rice and beans, toast with jams and a selection of cold meats and cheeses. It's HUGE and both of us could not even finish 1 breakfast between us. The dinners were nice and basic but the service is fantastic. Uwe and Brigit were so helpful and welcoming. We mentioned that we needed a shuttle to San Jose the morning we were leaving and Brigit went to Uvita and booked us a shuttle and paid for it for it herself to make sure we got our place. Honestly, this place was like a slice of heaven. We plan to return to Costa Rica specifically to return to the Lookout. I wish I could maintain that feeling of 'tranquilo' when I am back in the real world. Oh and the dog Blanca is hilarious.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arendal, Norway
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed for four days, at this hotel in march month, and had some great days. Very nice place to relax, and enjoy life. We did almost not leave the place, for all four days. The food Birgit and Uve is makeing, is so delicious, that there is no reason, to leave the hotel, for go out and eat. There is a perfect view, from hotel ground, and a lot of nature, and wildlife. The rooms was spartan, but we did not miss anything, and it was very clean. Birgit and Uve were always ready to help us, with all our questions, and helping us with planning tours. They are excellent hotel keepers, and we did feel like at home. Super place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Wells
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Stayed in April 2012 one night. Enjoyed the view of the ocean and being in a rainforest. The management were easy to work and the food was excellent and priced reasonable. Our room was clean and accommodating but would of liked softer bed. We used the pool which was kept clean and was very refreshing. The view from everywhere was worth the stay along with the great food.

Room Tip: Small B&B so not many rooms to choose from. Internet at pool or eating area only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

If you're travels bring you toward Osa on the south of the Pacific side of Costa Rica, I highly recommend staying at the Lookout near Ojochal. Mama Blanca, Uva, and their staff were endlessly helpful and accommodating during our 5 night stay. The optionally air-conditioned rooms were quiet, clean, and well placed on their spacious property, and the amenities were extensive, including a lovely view of the ocean from the pool and inside/outside dining space. The meals (often cooked by Mama Blanca) were excellent, and included a variety of choices of fresh seafood, beef tenderloin, and vegetarian dishes. The drinks and comfortable bar were a relaxing way to watch the sunset, and the few other guests (0-10) were also cordial. With 2 excellent beaches within walking distance, and early morning sounds and sights of monkeys, parrots, and tucans made this feel like paradise. Definitely check it out.

Room Tip: If you aren't used to hot weather, check to see if an air conditioned room is available for you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Uwe and "Mama Blanca" were wonderful and caring hosts- as interactive or laid- back as you needed them to be. They had lots of good tips on local things to do and nice info on day trips. Brigit even helped us make phone calls to set up some of our excursions.The food was lovely and well presented. Rooms were simple, but clean with large shower and the property is well cared for and beautiful. We enjoyed the nightly sunsets; listening to toucans and parrots, and listening to the ocean from the vista on top of the hill.

The comment by another about "smokers" was definitely relevant and it did bother us at times - but they were hotel guests, not residents and I can't knock the hotel for that. I expect you'd find this issue at any hotel or restaurant in Costa Rica.

It's not on a beach but a very close drive to many wonderful beaches.

Be sure and reserve a night or two for local Ojachal restaurants like Citrus, Exotica and El Fuego. You will be amazed by the quality of these places found off dirt roads in the "jungle".

Not your luxury resort with tons of amenities, but was so comfortable that we would not hesitate to return again in the future!

Room Tip: Be aware when booking, an air conditioned unit is extra. This wasn't a surprise to us but can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We loved our stay at the Lookout! The room was great,. comfortable and clean. Views breathtaking and beautiful sunsets. The breakfast that was included with the room was incredible and the dinner was gourmet, what a chef!! After touring Cosa Rica for 6 weeks and staying at many places we would definitely return to the Lookout and highly recommend it! Surrounding beaches are some of the best we saw.

Room Tip: All had great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojochal
0.5 mi away
El Castillo Hotel
El Castillo Hotel
#1 of 4 in Ojochal
5.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
12.3 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
0.5 mi away
Alma de Ojochal
Alma de Ojochal
#2 of 4 in Ojochal
5.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mamma e Papa
Hotel Mamma e Papa
#3 of 4 in Ojochal
5.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
15.2 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#3 of 12 in Dominical
5.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villas de Oros
Villas de Oros
#1 of 1 in Playa Tortuga
4.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lookout at Playa Tortuga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lookout at Playa Tortuga

Address: Calle Paraiso (300 Meters Este de Ferreteria Ventanas) | Playa Tortuga, Ojochal 60501, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Ojochal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ojochal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lookout at Playa Tortuga 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel has twelve brightly decorated bungalows with Queen beds, Ceiling Fans or Air Conditioners, Tiled Floors, large hot water showers, and individual patios. The property also features an expansive open-air restaurant, bar, sparkling pool, and sunset cocktail lounge all with magnificent views of both the Pacific Ocean and the jungle. In the evening, from our restaurant, lounge or pool, sit back, enjoy a glass of wine and watch the sun set over the ocean. What could be better after a day at the beach or a day full of fun activities? Ready for fun? Whether you wish to spend the day relaxing at the beach, hiking to a waterfall or ziplining through the trees, Lookout is your activity coordinator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lookout at Playa Tortuga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lookout At Playa Tortuga Hotel Ojochal
Lookout At Playa Tortuga Costa Rica/Ojochal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lookout at Playa Tortuga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.