We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place, wonderful hosts, great for kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diquis Del Sur

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ojochal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Diquis Del Sur
Save Saved
You added Diquis Del Sur to your Saves list
Ojochal de Osa | Puntarenas, Ojochal 60501 - 8153, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful place, wonderful hosts, great for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We spent 3 days at Diquis in September 2013. The setting is beautiful, the cabins are comfortable, clean, and fully equipped, and Renee and Pierre are warm and helpful hosts. For kids there is a great swimming pool and even a playground on the grounds. Dinners were relaxing and delicious. There's so much to do in the area (Marino Ballena national park, great beaches, etc) We originally planned on only 2 days, but we loved it so much (and our kids didn't want to leave) that we squeezed in another night. We left with new friends and with our kids already plotting how we can return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    8
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
18
33
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I had read about the Diquis in La Presse newspaper so when we were in Bejuco back in March I called the owners Pierre and Renée and asked if we could come to visit, swim and have dinner at the Diquis. I was with my husband and another couple. Upon our arrival we were greeted by Renée who took considerable time to show us around the exquisite grounds and let us visit a few of the bungalows for a possible future stay. We were then invited to use the pool before dinner.
We stayed for dinner and the food was outstanding. If the tuna is on the menu when you go, don't miss it! Renée cooks it to perfection with just the right amount of seasoning.
They also made good suggestions for excursions and offered a discount, which was appreciated. We wish this couple continuing success in their project.
.

Room Tip: We visited three different bungalows and each one was well equipped and very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

THEY SAY THE FRENCH HAVE THAT LITTLE SOMETHING EXTRA ,,,,and again ,,,,I have to agree!!!
Pierre and renee,,,the most charming , the best cook and hostess, the most personality, the kindness, the knowledge,the landscapes, the foliage and flowers , the sweet little cabins, the birds , the parrot alex always chatting at breakfast, so entertaining,,,, Pierres plans for exciting houses to be built, the jungle , the green ,, the rivers , the playa ventana, the French bakery , and the many fabulous resturants in town,, the waterfalls , , the monkeys in the background , the sunrise , the sunset , the massage down the road, the magical town of OJOCHAL , ,,,,,,,,,,now ,, can you guess why I'm going back ,,,to look for a small property ,,hopefully near these two sweetest on earth,, couple???? I'm already calling the airlines!!!!!!
Thank you Pierre and Renee ,,,the magic has seeped into my blood,,,,I will see you soon!
Light , heidi lane

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We have been to Costa Rica for a month. Loved the time we spent in Diquis del Sur.

The view there is splendid. You can often sit down and watch toucans fly from tree to tree early in the morning. The gardens are beautiful and well maintained.

We were taken care of very well and we felt very welcome. The food was good and the owners had good suggestions of things to do around Ojochal.

We would definitely return there if we made another trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Québec
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Our family of three stayed one week at a self-contained, one-bedroom with kitchen, Tico house a short walk (2 minutes) from the Diquis, all arranged by Pierre. Breakfast was included at the Diquis and we also too some of our dinners there too, after long days of exploring. Renee and Pierre are super hosts who encouraged us to benefit from the diverse activities offered by local entrepreneurs. Visits and sunsets on the beaches, surfing lessons, jungle walk with Lalo, mangrove boat tour, and relaxing by a waterfall were all easy to get to with our rented 4x4. You need a car to get around and see the sights! There is so much to see!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This month I had to go to Costa Rican Pacific Coast for business and I decided to stay in Diquis de sur hotel. The owner Pierre Beaupré a Canadian guy welcome us. He is very friendly and showed us the beautiful things in the property, what to do and go by the way he is the guy that recommended us the Mamma e Pappa restaurant.
The place has a beautiful view to the mountains and part to the ocean, the rooms are clean and comfortable Mr. Beaupré told us he is making changins in the rooms to look better.
Something that really like it was in the room there was a basket with a nice welcome letter and some snacks, telling you ¨Welcome to our home¨ I felt that. It is a nice place where I will return soon with my family.

Room Tip: bring repellent for moquitoes, The hotel is half mille from the main road so is good to stop in a su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quebec
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in this beautiful, quiet hotel. Our room was a family type room with separate kitchen, queen bed and full bathroom on wonderfully beautiful grounds. Breakfast was yummy with fresh fruits and juices made from locally/daily (this means on the hotel's grounds!!) picked fruit. The hosts were amazing and helped book tours and guide us to quiet beaches and waterfalls. Supper is served also and is very good. A must if you want to discover the southern part of CR.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful, quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Diquis Del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diquis Del Sur

Address: Ojochal de Osa | Puntarenas, Ojochal 60501 - 8153, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Ojochal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty lodging in Ojochal
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Diquis del sur offers 10 units in 5 villas (some with kitchenette and A/C). The Diquis del sur are spread on a little more than 12 acres (5 hectares), so each can enjoy his own privacy in a very secure environment. It has a swimming pool, a game area and a large rancho allowing people to relax, read, socialize, and enjoy a variety of beverages. Also available in the rancho is WI- FI ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Diquis Del Sur Costa Rica/Ojochal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diquis Del Sur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.