We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only one night but enough to know this place is amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alma de Ojochal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Alma de Ojochal to your Saves list
Alma de Ojochal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Perezoso | 800 mtrs este de Costanera, Ojochal 60501, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ojochal
Certificate of Excellence
Chester Springs, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Only one night but enough to know this place is amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

After a month long stay in various areas of Costa Rica, we wound down the tail end of our trip with a water taxi ride (Zuma Tours) from Montezuma to Jaco and connecting shuttle/taxi to Dominical/Ojochal. The ride to the hotel was a bit of 4-wheel drive adventure up the mountain to a truly amazing place overlooking the ocean and beautiful grounds! The owners are absolutely fabulous, gracious hosts who also own the El Castillo. Had the best fresh snapper entree in all of Costa Rica at El Castillo! Stayed in a king room at Alma de Ojochal on the top level overlooking the ocean from our spectacular balcony. The rooms are air conditioned, impeccably clean, nicely appointed with ample lounging space on the balcony. The main building has a wonderful pool with great photo opportunities and awesome open dining among the treetops. The hotel is convenient to Palmar Sur airport for a quick flight back to San Jose international. We had a whirlwind stay (one night) before flying out of Palmar Sur on Nature Air to San Jose and back to the US. We know enough from our 1 day in Ojochal to make this area a focus for our next trip later this year! You will definitely want to stay at Alma or El Castillo if you're in the Ojochal/Domincal area!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Apple Valley, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Truly a tranquil setting amongst the tree tops overlooking the ocean. Mornings spent gazing out at the beautiful variety of birds plentiful in this little peace of heaven. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The hosts are gracious and caring. They offered help when needed and direction in choices. The food always special under Russells direction.Loved it and hope to return soon.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Landfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Russell and Scott are gracious hosts. The hotel is what everyone says! The rooms are small, but who spends time in doors anyway? Do not hesitate to visit the guys and become one of the family! Also, Russell is an amazing chef! We ate both nights we were there at El Castillo, their other place, and were so very impressed by the meals!
Also want to shout out to Juan! Great conversation and service!! Great hotel, great time! Thanks Guys. See you soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rmacnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We've enjoyed our stay in room no. 2 (of only 5) a lot. The huge terrasse with it's beautiful ocean/forrest views was just amazing. The room was big enough and quite stylish, same for the bathroom. From the restaurant you can enjoy the very same views - unspoiled and beautiful, oceanview & lot's of birds.
There are a view things, which could be optimized: have a reading lamp on both sides of the bed, have a hammock/rocking/lounge chairs on the terrasse, and have more sunbeds/chairs next to the pool - so everybody can find a place to sit.

Be aware: you need to have an 4xdrive to access the hotel, since the driveway is a real challenge. There are a few restaurants in the area - but you always have to go by car.

I will def. come back - the hotel is just great.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatrininBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sjöbo, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Thank you for a great stay! The only thing we regret is not to have stayed more time. Incredible setting, beautiful views, great breakfast and service from the two American (USA) owners that are very nice and make the place even better. The room with a balcony overlooking the forest full of tropical birds and the ocean in the distance. Very close to a super natural beach to walk on and spend a few hours We stayed there to take the boat next morning in Sierpe (1 hour away) to Corcovado, great choice!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Micaela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

This belongs to the top three out of the hotel we stayed at in Costa Rica. We are primarily interested in the quiet opportunity to training and we had our own MTB on the trip. We also want it to be peaceful and quiet at the hotel we were staying. Just a few kilometers there are totally unmarked roads down to deserted beaches which suited us perfectly. The hotel is wonderful with fantastic views and a nice pool. WiFi in the room with great speed! The only thing we can remark is that the service at breakfast was sometimes a little slow but we are pretty impatient

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HamiltonSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This place is just plain awesome!! Beautiful, clean, private rooms, with elegant style and details. Super comfortable bed, we slept great and woke to stunning views from the private deck of the suite. Fantastic mountain top pool with equally great views, even better in person than the photos can capture. Scott and Russel give a really warm welcome and make you feel right at home. The Azul restaurant a short walk way is the best restaurant I've ever been to in my life! Food quality, ocean and river view, great wine, and friendly service were all top notch! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teamlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojochal
0.0 mi away
El Castillo Hotel
El Castillo Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ojochal
5.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mamma e Papa
Hotel Mamma e Papa
#3 of 4 in Ojochal
5.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
12.7 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#5 of 12 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 stars 422 reviews
9.9 mi away
Rancho Pacifico
Rancho Pacifico
#3 of 12 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 stars 404 reviews
15.7 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#2 of 13 in Dominical
5.0 of 5 stars 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma de Ojochal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma de Ojochal

Address: Calle Perezoso | 800 mtrs este de Costanera, Ojochal 60501, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Ojochal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ojochal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Alma de Ojochal 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a mountain overlooking the Pacific Ocean, Alma de Ojochal awaits giving you a respite to connect with your soul. Alma boasts 5 well appointed rooms, incredible views of the ocean and impeccable service. Come celebrate your life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Alma de Ojochal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma De Ojochal Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing