We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“***Bird Watchers Paradise***” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alma de Ojochal

Save Saved
You added Alma de Ojochal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alma de Ojochal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Perezoso | 800 mtrs este de Costanera, Ojochal 60501, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off, limited time
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ojochal
Apple Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“***Bird Watchers Paradise***”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Truly a tranquil setting amongst the tree tops overlooking the ocean. Mornings spent gazing out at the beautiful variety of birds plentiful in this little peace of heaven. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The hosts are gracious and caring. They offered help when needed and direction in choices. The food always special under Russells direction.Loved it and hope to return soon.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
40
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Russell and Scott are gracious hosts. The hotel is what everyone says! The rooms are small, but who spends time in doors anyway? Do not hesitate to visit the guys and become one of the family! Also, Russell is an amazing chef! We ate both nights we were there at El Castillo, their other place, and were so very impressed by the meals!
Also want to shout out to Juan! Great conversation and service!! Great hotel, great time! Thanks Guys. See you soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We've enjoyed our stay in room no. 2 (of only 5) a lot. The huge terrasse with it's beautiful ocean/forrest views was just amazing. The room was big enough and quite stylish, same for the bathroom. From the restaurant you can enjoy the very same views - unspoiled and beautiful, oceanview & lot's of birds.
There are a view things, which could be optimized: have a reading lamp on both sides of the bed, have a hammock/rocking/lounge chairs on the terrasse, and have more sunbeds/chairs next to the pool - so everybody can find a place to sit.

Be aware: you need to have an 4xdrive to access the hotel, since the driveway is a real challenge. There are a few restaurants in the area - but you always have to go by car.

I will def. come back - the hotel is just great.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sjöbo, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Thank you for a great stay! The only thing we regret is not to have stayed more time. Incredible setting, beautiful views, great breakfast and service from the two American (USA) owners that are very nice and make the place even better. The room with a balcony overlooking the forest full of tropical birds and the ocean in the distance. Very close to a super natural beach to walk on and spend a few hours We stayed there to take the boat next morning in Sierpe (1 hour away) to Corcovado, great choice!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

This belongs to the top three out of the hotel we stayed at in Costa Rica. We are primarily interested in the quiet opportunity to training and we had our own MTB on the trip. We also want it to be peaceful and quiet at the hotel we were staying. Just a few kilometers there are totally unmarked roads down to deserted beaches which suited us perfectly. The hotel is wonderful with fantastic views and a nice pool. WiFi in the room with great speed! The only thing we can remark is that the service at breakfast was sometimes a little slow but we are pretty impatient

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This place is just plain awesome!! Beautiful, clean, private rooms, with elegant style and details. Super comfortable bed, we slept great and woke to stunning views from the private deck of the suite. Fantastic mountain top pool with equally great views, even better in person than the photos can capture. Scott and Russel give a really warm welcome and make you feel right at home. The Azul restaurant a short walk way is the best restaurant I've ever been to in my life! Food quality, ocean and river view, great wine, and friendly service were all top notch! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aubusson
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights in February 2014 in a comfortable, large room with overhead fan and air-conditioning.
Staff and owners were very friendly, bringing water to you unasked and offering other drinks as well when you were sitting by the lovely pool.
Sunsets were beautiful from the bar over the Pacific Ocean. The peace of the hotel is fantastic. Birdlife was spectacular from the gardens and the open air restaurant.
Hotel is situated on top of a hill, roughly 1km up a gravelled road which is steep in places, but easily negotiable if you take your time.
Food is available at the sister hotel in the evenings, about 600 metres away and there are plenty of restaurants in the surrounding area, the closest being a 15 minute walk.
Having the use of a vehicle would be advantageous to explore the area and get to beaches etc.

Room Tip: All rooms face due west, the upper ones are smaller but have great ocean views from sizeable terrace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alma de Ojochal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma de Ojochal

Address: Calle Perezoso | 800 mtrs este de Costanera, Ojochal 60501, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Ojochal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ojochal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alma de Ojochal 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a mountain overlooking the Pacific Ocean, Alma de Ojochal awaits giving you a respite to connect with your soul. Alma boasts 5 well appointed rooms, incredible views of the ocean and impeccable service. Come celebrate your life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Alma de Ojochal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma De Ojochal Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alma de Ojochal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.