We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Costa Rican paradise.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alma de Ojochal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Alma de Ojochal to your Saves list
Alma de Ojochal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Perezoso | 800 mtrs este de Costanera, Ojochal 60501, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ojochal
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Our Costa Rican paradise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

What a treat! We spent four nights here and couldn't have been happier. The decor is very soothing and beautiful. The hotel is surrounded by greenery, with views of the Pacific from the pool area and our private balcony. We felt completely comfortable and taken care of. The breakfasts were different every day and always delicious, and they willingly accommodated our dietary restrictions. The hotel is on a three-mile loop road, which made for a very nice walk, with lots of birds to see, in the mornings before breakfast. We spent a full day just lounging at the pool, and couldn't have been more content. David helped us schedule a full-day excursion by boat to Corcovado National Park, arranged our dinner reservations and generally was there to help with anything we needed or wanted. Our only disappointment was that they hadn't yet opened their Oaxacan restaurant, but it is coming soon. We can't imagine staying anywhere else in the area!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
51
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Owen Sound, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Alma de Ojochal (formerly El Buena Vista) has recently been ‘revamped and reopened’ by new owners Scott Dinsmore and David Russell.
My husband and I met the guys on our last trip to Costa Rica, and we couldn’t wait to follow them on their latest adventure!

Alma was the hub of our 16 day trip, and did not disappoint!
Each room has a beautiful ocean view (especially the upper floor) and spacious terrace. Our suite was nicely appointed with a large bathroom & shower. The king size bed was VERY comfortable . Sliding doors open up the whole ocean facing wall for beautiful views morning and night. (For those concerned, YES, the rooms have A/C!). The pool area and loungers are the perfect place to relax, with soothing water feature, and jungle sounds.
Lets not forget the food….each morning serves up a different mouthwatering breakfast special to start your day off right! Appetizer for each is fresh local fruit & yogurt….mmmmmmm. Did I mention the Costa Rican coffee??? Wow.

Chef Russell is currently working on the finishing touches for his menu @ Verde. This soon to open Mexican influence restaurant at Alma is sure to be outstanding. Russel was kind enough to allow us a sample of a few menu items. Delicioso. Not to mention that this spot boasts views of some of the best sunsets I have ever seen.
With so many amazing day trip destinations close by… (ie- Marino Ballena national park/ “The whale’s tail”, Dominical, Tortuga beach, Sierpe River, Cano Island/snorkel & scuba, Manuel Antonio national park, Many waterfalls/Cataratas, Osa Mountain Ziplining, Rancho La Merced/Horseback riding….The list is endless)…. You can’t go wrong travelling out of Alma, and guarantee yourself the best possible start and finish to whatever adventure you choose. If you’re not sure what to start with, just ask Scott. He is an amazing resource!

I could go on and on with praise….but mostly, Thank you Scott, Russell, Daveed & Christina..Amazing trip.
…..No artificial ingredients> Pura Vida> Question is, what are you waiting for?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Alma is the most wonderful intimate, boutique hotel (only 5 rooms) I have ever had the pleasure of enjoying! Formally known as Buena Vista this property recently opened under new owners, Scott and Russell. With renovations that only improved on the quality that already existed. We were treated so special on our recent visit not only by the owners but also by David the manager. This is definitely a 5 star property with million dollar views and ameneties. The rooms are large and have luxurious linens. The bathrooms are large with great showers! Russell is the chef and prepares excellent breakfast which is included. They also run El Castillo (with the help of Scott's brother John) which is down the road and has spectacular views and 5 star quality as well. We had dinner at El Castillo and it was exceptional quality and service. Either of these properties would be wonderful for a honeymoon or for a rock star to relax!

Room Tip: Room No. 3 is handicap acessible, But Room No. 4 & 5 are on the bottom floor and are large with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakefield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We found this newly minted small hotel by accident, and were we lucky! Good price, incredible view from every one of the six hotel rooms, lovely warm pool, and an incredible breakfast, starting with fresh fruit and yogurt, that changes daily.

David makes sure that everyone is happy and Christina keeps everything spotless. The conversation in the open air restaurant is always helpful and welcoming and we took many side trips on the advice of the owners Scott and Russell, that were fascinating.

The bird noises in the surrounding jungle are continuous and the flashes of colour keep one on one's toes to try and identify what one is seeing.

Room Tip: We are both in our 70's so the top floor which one walks onto, is best if stairs are a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Scott and Russell have purchased this inn, and are making major revisions. New paint, added air conditioning, new beds, completely retiled the pool, etc. We arrived in the first week of operation, and things were still somewhat in preparation. (Many of the furnishings arrived Christmas eve, and had to be installed Christmas day, 2012!). By now everything should be in place, We highly recommend this inn. It is small (just 5 rooms), but breakfast was terrific, with cooking Oaxaca style. The views are magnificent, and the rooms are very comfortable. Pool was great.

They also run the hotel down the hill (Castillo), but if you can handle the rough road, this place is more intimate.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the second floor. Views are somewhat better. All rooms have great ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We spent a night at the El Buena Vista,I didn't want to leave. The room was nicely appointed and very clean with very comfortable beds. The view is awe inspiring. Our full breakfast was served on the deck, once again, phenomenal views and wonderful food. Do yourself a favor and enjoy dinner at the owners Steak House, El Fuego which is walking distance from the Hotel, their white Lab Blanca tags along to protect from the ducks and occasional lizard. Very memorable experience, I should have stayed longer . 4wd is needed but don't let that deter you just leave it in low and follow the road to heaven on earth.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We stayed here 1 night on our way to the Osa Peninsula. It had a beautiful view from the room and the pool area. There are views to both the ocean and the valleys at the rear. Celine is a very nice host. We stayed in Room#3 which is close to the pool. The room has a queen bed and a few nice furnishings.The area we enjoyed the most was the large patio which at night has sheers that close off the patio to the night insects.The patio has a fridge,counter,lights,ceiling fan,hotplate,sink etc. We ate dinner down the road in Ojochal at the restaurant Citrus. It was excellent food and reasonably priced. Celine was very helpful in directing us to the beautiful beaches in the area. We enjoyed it so much we left Osa a day early and stayed here again. Road was a little steep but no real problem.The breakfast was outstanding.

Room Tip: Room 1 or 3 seemed to be the nicest locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Alma de Ojochal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma de Ojochal

Address: Calle Perezoso | 800 mtrs este de Costanera, Ojochal 60501, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Ojochal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ojochal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alma de Ojochal 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a mountain overlooking the Pacific Ocean, Alma de Ojochal awaits giving you a respite to connect with your soul. Alma boasts 5 well appointed rooms, incredible views of the ocean and impeccable service. Come celebrate your life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Alma de Ojochal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma De Ojochal Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alma de Ojochal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.