We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite setting and food presentation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Azul

Azul
Calle Perezoso | Ojochal de Osa, Puntarenas, Ojochal 80000, Costa Rica
506-2786-5543
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 19 Restaurants in Ojochal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Azul, a Mediterranean restaurant and bar, is available for breakfast (for hotel guests only), lunch and dinner Tuesday through Sunday. You can dine in our salon, poolside or at our fun communal table which is perfect for larger groups. Breakfast changes daily and is typically included in your rate. Although it can be customized for you, daily features include banana pancakes, gallo pinto, huevos rancheros and chiliquiles. Lunch is at your leisure including wraps, salads and our popular fish tacos. Wraps and Tacos are served with a salad or hand-cut french fries. As you enjoy an incredible sunset Azul is transformed for your evening dining experience. Popular starters include hummus served with our homemade pita bread and calamari served with our own tartar sauce. As a second course our tomato basil or seafood soup fit nicely. Entrees include souvlakis with our addictive Ziziki sauce, homemade pasta, grilled fish and our Mariscada Mediterranea which is a platter of seafood including mussels, clams, calamari and shrimp. And then there is always the special…Deserts at Azul typically include flambés, cakes and homemade ice cream. Yum…Let’s eat.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Exquisite setting and food presentation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The view was so impressive, the service tremendous, Oh, I chose the 2 course dinner, a variety of Seafood soup broth, the main course was Moroccan Chicken sauteed in a delightful yellow curry and peanut sauce with rice and crispy vegetables.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    13
    13
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Speechless! Food with a View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Had a wonderful dinner last week with guest in town. Each course was a delight, the mediterranean soup, was out of this world delicious.The staff is extremely attentive and knowledgable. The perfect setting for a sunset cocktail.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great find in Ojochal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is an excellent restaurant in a wonderful hotel with a beautiful view of the Pacific Ocean. The menu is varied and everything we had was delicious. Service was impeccable and prices were very good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Probably the best food we enjoyed... stunning view too. Great service. Would consider staying here next time, if we can afford it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic View With The Best Humus Around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Azul, located on a short drive up the mountain from the Costanera highway in Ojochal, is a mediterranean restaurant which offers a spectacular view of the Pacific ocean. We recently dropped by for a late lunch during our recent holiday to Costa Rica. We shared a lunch consisting of some "to die for" humus with lightly toasted pita bread, a nicely done Caesar salad and a very good (or maybe two) bottle(s) of a very good Chilean Sauvignon Blanc. Russell did a a great job on the service (for someone who come from Oklahoma City!!!), the view was spectacular and the atmosphere was like you were on the Almafi Coast in Italy. Well worth a try when in Ojochal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azul also viewed

Ojochal, Province of Puntarenas
Ojochal, Province of Puntarenas
 
Ojochal, Province of Puntarenas
Ojochal, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.