We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Here!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mamma e Papa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mamma e Papa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Mamma e Papa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Perezoso | 15km South of Uvita de Osa, Ojochal, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Ojochal
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Stay Here!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Mamma e papa' is a great place to stay. The restaurant is amazing. Enzo was so accommodating with everything. The rooms are completely separate from one another they are like their own little cabana. They are very nice and clean. The pool is situated at the bottom of a hill with beautiful landscaping everywhere.

Holly and Jason

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
19
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My boyfriend and I decided to spend a few days in the Uvita area and we chose to stay at Mamma e Papa hotel based on tripadvisor reviews. Let me tell you, this place is paradise, the hotel and restaurant are carved into the side of a hill facing east, the grounds and views are GORGEOUS, the cabins are private and amazing, and the food... don't get me started on how wonderful the food was. We sampled a few of the pasta dishes (all phenomenal), a pizza, caprese, bruschetta, and breakfast fruits and pancakes! All made from scratch, mostly in house, some of the best Italian food I've ever had. Enzo and Jeanette, the hotel proprietors, were the most gracious hosts, everything was clean and tidy, simply wonderful. I absolutely would recommend Mamma e Papa to anyone traveling to Costa Rica, especially who wants to visit the Pacific Coast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

With my husband we spent 5 nights in Hotel "Mamma e Papa" in November 2012. We loved the place and we loved the owners. Beautiful garden, very clean rooms, A/C, WiFi, hot water, we could not ask for more. The food at the restaurant was delicious, the coffee was real strong Italian expresso. Both the hotel and the restaurant are great! But what makes this place even better are the owners Enzo and Gianette: they are so nice, kind and helpful, ready to answer all your queestions. And they do it in such a friendly and sincere fashion. We did feel as we were their friends not customers. We highly recommend "Mamma and Papa" and will definitely go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in June, Enzo and Gianette were very helpful and attentive. They wanted to make sure everything was perfect. The bungalow has a/c, hot water and very clean. I just had a major dental surgery and they prepared foods that I can eat like oatmeal, soft boiled eggs, fresh fruit smoothies, soup, soft lasagna, and 3 leche dessert. The food served in the restaurant are all fresh, they make their own pasta. We will definitely go back there. Thank you mamma e papa.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Last August, I stayed at Mamma E. Pappa and the service there is amazing. A very top notch place to stay, and the owners are awesome people too. The food is out of this world. If you ever in Ojochal, I would definitely book my stay here. I loved Mamma E. Pappa.

Rick M.

Room Tip: I could not rate fitness center or room service- its NA.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Mamma e papa' is a little paradise on earth!
Enzo and Ginette are really nice. The restaurant is really good and really Italian. Nice and clean room. Fantastic pool in a beautiful garden. What else to say?....don't miss it if you travel in the area.
We really hope to get back one day.
Grazie Enzo and Ginette
Giuliano

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012 via mobile

We arrived tired, hot, dirty and discouraged after our original plans didn't work out. I booked this room because it was available immediately and the price was right. We were not sure what to expect. Imagine our relief when we were greeted by our kind hosts and offered a cold drink. We were then shown to our room, which was clean, comfortable, and brand new. The rooms are little cabins complete with a hammock on the front porch. The shower was very nice. They have a pool and a rancho for guest use with a pool table and tv area. The restaurant is affordable and the food is spectacular. Everything was delicious. Breakfast was included and it was very nice. We felt pampered and cared for throughout our four day stay. Enzo even drove us into town one morning for one of our tours. They arranged tours and taxis for us. A few things could probably be added that would make the place a little more convenient. There was no hair dryer, iron, TV, or coffee maker in the room, pretty standard items for most folks. There is no vent fan in the bathroom so it gets kind of steamy. There is a posted sign in the room "no food or drink in the room". I can't recall ever having this restriction in a hotel before. Also the rooms are located at the bottom of a pretty big hill, so if you had any sort of limited mobility this would not be a good spot. But we loved this place and we will take away great memories. Thank you Enzo and Janette we had a great time.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mamma e Papa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mamma e Papa

Address: Calle Perezoso | 15km South of Uvita de Osa, Ojochal, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Ojochal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Ojochal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mamma e Papa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel features 4 fully air conditioned Bungalows surrounded by lush tropical green gardens in front of the pool. To ensure a cool and safe environment for our guests they are constructed out of concrete. On entering our establishment cleanliness and freshness are the characteristics you will first notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Mamma e Papa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mamma e Papa Costa Rica/Ojochal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mamma e Papa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.