We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Breathtaking Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Castillo Hotel

Save Saved
You added El Castillo Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Castillo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Perezoso | 300 Mtrs Este de Costanera, Ojochal 60501, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Ojochal
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely Breathtaking Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I've had the opportunity to come to this hotel for special events while visiting Costa Rica and I am always impressed with the service. The spaces are very elegant and the view of the coastline beyond is absolutely breathtaking! A definite must for one of the most beautiful sunsets I've ever seen. If only looking for a romantic end to a long day, this is the place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
44
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We recently stayed at the Hotel El Castillo in Ojochal, Costa Rica (September 2013). What a pleasant experience it was. The sunset and ocean views were spectacular. Our hosts, John, Scott and Russell were quite gracious and eager to provide for our needs. Our room (#1) was quite nice with an incredible view of the ocean and the Turralba River below. The food was delicious and the entire facility was spotless. We highly recommend the Hotel El Castillo!

Room Tip: All of the ocean view rooms have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My wife and I and our three kids stayed at Alma, the Inn just a short drive up the hill from El Castillo in July. The owners of Alma, Scott and Russel, who are also involved in the management El Castillo very kindly offered us the use of the infinity pool at El Castillo during our stay at Alma. I can't say enough about the professionalsim and the kindness extended to my family during our time there. Russel permitted my kids into his kitchen and they "helped" prepare breakfasts and felt part of the family. These two gentlemen are extraordinary hosts and I high;y recommend staying with them at Alma or at El Castillo should you visit the Ojachal area. The Inn itself (E; Castillo) is beautiful with a wide open entrance area that affords a spectacular view of the infinity pool and the dining area. We did not stay in the Inn, but we toured the rooms and all are spacious, elegantly decorated and very, very comfy. If Alma is booked we would stay at El Castillo in a heart-beat. We did eat at El Castillo; twice. We enjoyed lunch and dinner and each time the food prepared or supervised by Russel was as good or better than anywhere we ate in Costa Rica during our month-long vacation this year. And we are from Montreal, so we tend to look for the nicer places to eat. That doesn't mean the most expensive by the way. I simply mean that we enjoy good or great food at a fair price. And over the course of a month from East to West and North to South, we concluded that we were very fortunate to have stayed at Alma and enjoyed Russel's culinary creations at El Castillo. I understand that they will be offering dining alternatives at Alma this year as well.

The infinity pool is large, clean and has a beautiful view of the Pacific and the river that feeds into it. I was told that you can often see crocs on the riverbanks...but we didn't during our time there.

So if you have the chance, book into El Castillo or Alma. Scott, Russel and crew are superb hosts. Their Inns are beautiful. The food is delicious. And their company is a true pleasure. ENJOY!

Room Tip: They are all sweet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had the delightful opportunity to stay at El Casillo during our visit to Ojochal in July, 2013 for Sabor de Ojochal (local culinary festival.) The hotel lives up to its name--"The Castle." It has the feel of a luxury home, with a grand staircase and spacious living areas. As you enter the hotel, you look through the salon, across the large infinity pool to a panoramic view of the Pacific Ocean. Sunsets from the pool are spectacular.

Our room was spacious, well furnished, and comfortable, and the bathroom was luxurious. It is amazing that such fine accommodations can be found in the midst of the primitive rainforest.

We were greeted royally by John, the manager. All of the staff were friendly and hospitable. The bar serves a great selection of wines and cocktails, which you can enjoy in the bar or around the pool--both with views of the ocean. Anything we asked for was promptly and cordially supplied.

El Castillo is very close to Ballena national park, great for whale sightings in August according to friends who have stayed there.

The breakfast was delicious and quite large and very filling. I love the coconut pancakes! The restaurant Azul has a great local reputation for dinner, but since we were there for the food festival, we did not get to sample the dinner menu. But I can tell you that the food tastings that El Castillo chef Russell served up at the food festival made me want to have the full restaurant experience next time.

All in all, we thought our time at El Castillo could be summed up like this: peaceful luxury and outstanding hospitality, all nestled in the rainforest with great views of the Pacific. We would stay there again. And again and again!

Room Tip: All the rooms have spectacular views of the ocean. It is impossible to choose the wrong room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

I can't say enough great things about this hotel! My stay this week has been beyond great. The staff (led by General Manager John Dinsmore) were very professional and attentive. The rooms and the views are breath taking and all this for a price that you don't have to find on budget travel sites to afford. I also can't say enough about their amazing restaurant Azul but you absolutely MUST try the Filet Mignon and the Moroccan Chicken. And the variety of breakfasts included with your stay are world class! If you're coming to Ojochal then El Castillo is a must!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I spent a night at El Castillo while my husband was picking up our friends in San Jose. Even for someone living in the area, the view, the food and the hospitality at Castillo make a stay here a real vacation. The rooms are lovely with a big comfortable bed and a bright pretty bathroom. The shared areas have one of the best views in the world.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Arriving at El Castillo you walk into a gorgeous lobby with a direct view of the infinity pool which overlooks the mouth of a river into the ocean. The rooms are great! Super comfy beds! The balconies are amazing! We even found a lapa (macaw) on my balcony one morning! (Ill try to upload a pic) the scenery is great. The restaurant Azul has absolutely amazing food!!! Breakfast is a set breakfast every day, it ranges from Chiliquiles, Typico, Banana Pancakes, American, etc... It starts with fruit and yogurt and then they bring your meal which was fantastic! The lunch and dinner menu are all Mediterranean based (the chicken souvlaki is to die for). I just left El Castillo and we have already planned another trip for November. John takes amazing attention to detail he even helped organize our excursions and booked us a massage therapist to come to the hotel! He was a fabulous host! El Castillo is a tranquil relaxing boutique hotel and that's exactly what we needed!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Castillo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Castillo Hotel

Address: Calle Perezoso | 300 Mtrs Este de Costanera, Ojochal 60501, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Ojochal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Ojochal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Castillo Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A serene spot with an incredible view perched 300 feet above the Pacific Ocean. This cozy boutique hotel boasts an infinity pool, large rooms, spacious suites, king beds, air-conditioning, wi-fi, in-room safes and small refrigerators. All rooms have a view of the ocean and sunset. Castillo also has one of the top restaurants in the area. Truly a special hotel in a beautiful spot in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your El Castillo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Castillo Hotel Costa Rica/Ojochal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Castillo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.