We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, excellent host” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Castillo Hotel

Save Saved
You added El Castillo Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Castillo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Perezoso | 300 Mtrs Este de Costanera, Ojochal 60501, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Ojochal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great view, excellent host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

El Castillo is a small hotel - only 5 or so rooms - and is a perfect place to stay. The owner John is a gracious host. We had an upstairs room with a great view - very much enjoyed waking up to a view of the ocean, and watching morning activity on the water. It was one of the few rooms we stayed in during our Costa Rica stay that had reading lamps on both sides of the beds, with bulbs bright enough to really read by. Lack of light was a persistent problem throughout CR - dim lighting, usually only one reading lamp, one or no chairs to sit in while reading. El Castillo, in contrast, DID have adequate light. We were a bit disappointed there were no chairs on the balcony adjacent to out room - but John explained they'd had problems in the past when chiars were provided. The downstairs lobby/reception area was a great place to relax and enjoy the view, plus there was a nice cool breeze moving through. We would definitely stay here again, and would recommend to others.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are a bit more expensive, but if you don't mind climbing the stairs the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
46
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

After travelling from San Jose through the "Death Highway" quite an experience we arrived at El Castillo or should I say "Heaven". It is a beautiful Spanish style old villa. When you arrive at the circular drive through the main entrance you have this spectacular view across an open air lobby which opens through French doors onto an infinity pool and an amazing panoramic view of the bay. We arrived at sunset OUTSTANDING. The grounds are gorgeous with a modern but yet old world feel.

Now at many Bed and Breakfasts you often have to source out local restaurants not at El Castillo their on property restaurant Azul was incredible. Scott reserved a pool side table for us on our arrival night. The food is beautifully presented and as a foodie the meal made my tastebuds dance with all the different and unique flavours. Make sure you arrive for the sunset it will make your entire experience perfect. We couldnt wait for breakfast again poolside with fresh fruit and wonderful Costa Rican breakfast. Scott and John were warm and welcoming it was like staying at a friend's home. Thanks for the memories guys. Debo and Gabe February 15, 2013.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The food is very good and the property itself is really beautiful- simple, elegant design, only a few rooms. Don't bother with the suites- just get one of the three rooms overlooking the ocean. They're spacious and beautiful. Down below the infinity pool is one of the nicest examples of an overdone idea... everything is just well put together.

Unfortunately, seemingly everyone in the area shows up for sunsets, and the pool turns into a heaving mass of transplanted middle-aged suburbanites.

But during the day, the small number of rooms means you have the place to yourself, and when that's the case, this hotel is pretty special.

Room Tip: Choose one of three rooms overlooking the ocean. There are two suites as well, but the rooms are ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

El Castillo is perfection. There are only a few rooms in this beautiful castle, so it feels like you are staying at your friend's amazing home. And Scott and John are the perfect hosts. The infinity pool looking out to the ocean is divine. I loved staying at El Castillo!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco, Peru
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Coming off of a sweltering 4day camping experience at a music festival 30min away, arriving at El Castillo was a dream come true. After an exciting little spurt up a steep but wide gravel road, we were lead to paradiso!!
I have SO much positive vibe to share about this hotel & the incredible people running El Castillo~
First impressions of the grounds ... *jaw drop*
This hotel is BEAUTIFUL, impeccably decorated & immaculately kept.
"Labor of Love" are the words that come to mind upon first sight! The grounds are bright & teeming with flora!
I was so excited to see our beautiful room (#2) had a stunning view of the ocean & sunset from the balcony, king sized ultra-comfie bed with crisp linens & decor, air conditioning and a beautiful tiled bathroom.
John, the hotel manager, was charming, warm, engaging & the perfect host. Anything is possible with him on the case~ The moment he spoke 'make yourself at home' I felt utterly "home".
The food at Azul, the hotel restaurant ... *gasp* there was NEVER any reason to leave this space :: I completely appreciate the need to get out and explore new foods and whatnot, however, I was beyond satisfied with the rich flavors & quality of the food served ... morning, noon or night~ Seriously, there are great restaurants near by, but Azul is one of the best with a wide variety of tasty morsels (more than ample portions!) AND it's never more than 40 feet away. What a JOY!
I will be back & I will recommend this place & the restaurant to everyone who mentions to me "we're going to Costa Rica" ~
Thank you guys SO MUCH for making our reunion so memorable
Lots of love to you & continued success always!!
Sara & Brett

Room Tip: ALL rooms have a view of the ocean & sunset, a balcony I stayed in #2 with my boyfriend & w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I was treated like family with 5 Star service. Relaxed atmosphere and Stunning view from the infinity pool over looking the ocean. The presentation of the food was excellent with the actual food being even better. If you do not intend on staying i at least recommend grabbing a meal here and get there in time to watch the sun set over the ocean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed here as a 'luxury' stop on a tour of Panama and Costa Rica in January 2013.
The location is up a steep track off the main highway, but the effort is rewarded by a fantastic hotel in a breathtaking location.
The view from the infinity pool overlooking the pacific has to be seen to be believed. You might imagine that a hotel with such an asset would be horribly expensive and / or not offer much else, but el Castillo hits the spot in many different ways.
The rooms are lovely - our room,the cheapest on offer and set slightly away from the main building and without the magnificent sea views, was large, clean, airy and nicely furnished. The staff are very attentive and the food is excellent.
To cap it all, prices for food and drink are very reasonably priced for such a top class hotel. If we ever return to Costa Rica, we will do our best to find a way of making this hotel part of our itinerary.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Castillo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Castillo Hotel

Address: Calle Perezoso | 300 Mtrs Este de Costanera, Ojochal 60501, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Ojochal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Ojochal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Castillo Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A serene spot with an incredible view perched 300 feet above the Pacific Ocean. This cozy boutique hotel boasts an infinity pool, large rooms, spacious suites, king beds, air-conditioning, wi-fi, in-room safes and small refrigerators. All rooms have a view of the ocean and sunset. Castillo also has one of the top restaurants in the area. Truly a special hotel in a beautiful spot in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your El Castillo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Castillo Hotel Costa Rica/Ojochal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Castillo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.