We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my favorite hotel ... in ALL the world” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Castillo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added El Castillo Hotel to your Saves list
El Castillo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Perezoso | 300 Mtrs Este de Costanera, Ojochal 60501, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ojochal
Cusco, Peru
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“my favorite hotel ... in ALL the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Coming off of a sweltering 4day camping experience at a music festival 30min away, arriving at El Castillo was a dream come true. After an exciting little spurt up a steep but wide gravel road, we were lead to paradiso!!
I have SO much positive vibe to share about this hotel & the incredible people running El Castillo~
First impressions of the grounds ... *jaw drop*
This hotel is BEAUTIFUL, impeccably decorated & immaculately kept.
"Labor of Love" are the words that come to mind upon first sight! The grounds are bright & teeming with flora!
I was so excited to see our beautiful room (#2) had a stunning view of the ocean & sunset from the balcony, king sized ultra-comfie bed with crisp linens & decor, air conditioning and a beautiful tiled bathroom.
John, the hotel manager, was charming, warm, engaging & the perfect host. Anything is possible with him on the case~ The moment he spoke 'make yourself at home' I felt utterly "home".
The food at Azul, the hotel restaurant ... *gasp* there was NEVER any reason to leave this space :: I completely appreciate the need to get out and explore new foods and whatnot, however, I was beyond satisfied with the rich flavors & quality of the food served ... morning, noon or night~ Seriously, there are great restaurants near by, but Azul is one of the best with a wide variety of tasty morsels (more than ample portions!) AND it's never more than 40 feet away. What a JOY!
I will be back & I will recommend this place & the restaurant to everyone who mentions to me "we're going to Costa Rica" ~
Thank you guys SO MUCH for making our reunion so memorable
Lots of love to you & continued success always!!
Sara & Brett

Room Tip: ALL rooms have a view of the ocean & sunset, a balcony I stayed in #2 with my boyfriend & w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
50
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I was treated like family with 5 Star service. Relaxed atmosphere and Stunning view from the infinity pool over looking the ocean. The presentation of the food was excellent with the actual food being even better. If you do not intend on staying i at least recommend grabbing a meal here and get there in time to watch the sun set over the ocean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed here as a 'luxury' stop on a tour of Panama and Costa Rica in January 2013.
The location is up a steep track off the main highway, but the effort is rewarded by a fantastic hotel in a breathtaking location.
The view from the infinity pool overlooking the pacific has to be seen to be believed. You might imagine that a hotel with such an asset would be horribly expensive and / or not offer much else, but el Castillo hits the spot in many different ways.
The rooms are lovely - our room,the cheapest on offer and set slightly away from the main building and without the magnificent sea views, was large, clean, airy and nicely furnished. The staff are very attentive and the food is excellent.
To cap it all, prices for food and drink are very reasonably priced for such a top class hotel. If we ever return to Costa Rica, we will do our best to find a way of making this hotel part of our itinerary.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Our party of four had dinner here in early December 2012. The Okie owner/ managers we super friendly and very accommodating setting up a table, complete with linen, by the pool. The view over the ocean was gorgeous. Front has amazing view of mountains. Food was amazing. Although we did not stay here, this converted home was elegant.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angel Fire, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Having visited this part of Costa Rica.....and even this hotel....in past years, I can tell you that it is first rate in terms of service, cleanliness, views, room size and public accommodations. This part of Costa Rica has some of the finest dining in the country and the restaurant within this small hotel is also very good, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. People from the area come just to watch the sunsets in the evening so there is a liveliness to the place, but it still has a wonderful tranquility. And the swimming pool....for a lap swimmer, its one of the few pools you can actually swim laps in. Scott and Russell, the new guys in charge, have changed this hotel from one with some great potential to one in which the potential is fully realized. Highly recommend a stay here. The best hotel within 50 miles!

Room Tip: cheapest (and smallest room) is the garden room. But I'd recommend splurging and going for one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Plains VA
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We just returned from three weeks in Costa Rica and without a doubt enjoyed our week as guests in El Castillo the most. As first time visitors to this amazing country, we planned adventures in diverse destinations; Ojochal in the South Pacific, Monteverde in the mountain cloud canopy, and Puerto Viejo in the Caribbean. We loved each spot but the El Castillo delivered an unexpected international twist. The spanish architecture and infinity pool brought locals together for 'sunset specials'. German, French, Spanish, and English conversations blended with new age music and added to the romance of the orange and purple skies. Our meals, prepared by the charming chef, Gustavo, were delicious and beautifully presented. Breakfast started with hibiscus framed fruit followed by changing specials such as coconut pancakes and huevos ranchero. We also loved two local restaurants, both in walking distance of the hotel; Ylang Ylang for mind-blowing Indonesian cuisine and Citrus for French with a Tico infusion. Saving the best for last, our stay at El Castillo would never have been as special without our host, John Dinsmore. Always attentive and gracious, he had a special knack for knowing what you needed and when to honor privacy. He made us feel completely comfortable and like old friends without seeming to make an effort at all. That is truly a gift we will never forget.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Went for a day trip from Jaco, Costa Rica to Uvita, Bahia Ballenas. Bob and Laurie at the Roadhouse served up a delicious blackened Mahi Mahi sandwich and recommended El Castillo for a nice overnight stay. One mention of the infinity pool convinced my spouse that we needed to see this one.
Beautiful setting, fantastic views, classic Spanish style and perfect service by John the manager made this a delight. Sunset was spectacular from the perch 600 feet above the pacific. Breakfast included was fresh fruit followed by pancakes and eggs. The large room (#3) was air conditioned and looked out over the lovely infinity pool to the Pacific Ocean.
Landscaping was very nice and no road noise disturbed the night.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Castillo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Castillo Hotel

Address: Calle Perezoso | 300 Mtrs Este de Costanera, Ojochal 60501, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Ojochal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ojochal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Castillo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A serene spot with an incredible view perched 300 feet above the Pacific Ocean. This cozy boutique hotel boasts an infinity pool, large rooms, spacious suites, king beds, air-conditioning, wi-fi, in-room safes and small refrigerators. All rooms have a view of the ocean and sunset. Castillo also has one of the top restaurants in the area. Truly a special hotel in a beautiful spot in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Castillo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Castillo Hotel Costa Rica/Ojochal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Castillo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.