We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtakingly gorgeous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Castillo Hotel

Save Saved
You added El Castillo Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
El Castillo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Perezoso | 300 Mtrs Este de Costanera, Ojochal 60501, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Ojochal
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Breathtakingly gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed here as a 'luxury' stop on a tour of Panama and Costa Rica in January 2013.
The location is up a steep track off the main highway, but the effort is rewarded by a fantastic hotel in a breathtaking location.
The view from the infinity pool overlooking the pacific has to be seen to be believed. You might imagine that a hotel with such an asset would be horribly expensive and / or not offer much else, but el Castillo hits the spot in many different ways.
The rooms are lovely - our room,the cheapest on offer and set slightly away from the main building and without the magnificent sea views, was large, clean, airy and nicely furnished. The staff are very attentive and the food is excellent.
To cap it all, prices for food and drink are very reasonably priced for such a top class hotel. If we ever return to Costa Rica, we will do our best to find a way of making this hotel part of our itinerary.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
40
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Our party of four had dinner here in early December 2012. The Okie owner/ managers we super friendly and very accommodating setting up a table, complete with linen, by the pool. The view over the ocean was gorgeous. Front has amazing view of mountains. Food was amazing. Although we did not stay here, this converted home was elegant.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angel Fire, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Having visited this part of Costa Rica.....and even this hotel....in past years, I can tell you that it is first rate in terms of service, cleanliness, views, room size and public accommodations. This part of Costa Rica has some of the finest dining in the country and the restaurant within this small hotel is also very good, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. People from the area come just to watch the sunsets in the evening so there is a liveliness to the place, but it still has a wonderful tranquility. And the swimming pool....for a lap swimmer, its one of the few pools you can actually swim laps in. Scott and Russell, the new guys in charge, have changed this hotel from one with some great potential to one in which the potential is fully realized. Highly recommend a stay here. The best hotel within 50 miles!

Room Tip: cheapest (and smallest room) is the garden room. But I'd recommend splurging and going for one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Plains VA
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We just returned from three weeks in Costa Rica and without a doubt enjoyed our week as guests in El Castillo the most. As first time visitors to this amazing country, we planned adventures in diverse destinations; Ojochal in the South Pacific, Monteverde in the mountain cloud canopy, and Puerto Viejo in the Caribbean. We loved each spot but the El Castillo delivered an unexpected international twist. The spanish architecture and infinity pool brought locals together for 'sunset specials'. German, French, Spanish, and English conversations blended with new age music and added to the romance of the orange and purple skies. Our meals, prepared by the charming chef, Gustavo, were delicious and beautifully presented. Breakfast started with hibiscus framed fruit followed by changing specials such as coconut pancakes and huevos ranchero. We also loved two local restaurants, both in walking distance of the hotel; Ylang Ylang for mind-blowing Indonesian cuisine and Citrus for French with a Tico infusion. Saving the best for last, our stay at El Castillo would never have been as special without our host, John Dinsmore. Always attentive and gracious, he had a special knack for knowing what you needed and when to honor privacy. He made us feel completely comfortable and like old friends without seeming to make an effort at all. That is truly a gift we will never forget.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Went for a day trip from Jaco, Costa Rica to Uvita, Bahia Ballenas. Bob and Laurie at the Roadhouse served up a delicious blackened Mahi Mahi sandwich and recommended El Castillo for a nice overnight stay. One mention of the infinity pool convinced my spouse that we needed to see this one.
Beautiful setting, fantastic views, classic Spanish style and perfect service by John the manager made this a delight. Sunset was spectacular from the perch 600 feet above the pacific. Breakfast included was fresh fruit followed by pancakes and eggs. The large room (#3) was air conditioned and looked out over the lovely infinity pool to the Pacific Ocean.
Landscaping was very nice and no road noise disturbed the night.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My husband planned a surprise trip for my 30th B-day and wow did he do a great job picking the hotel. You will not be disappointed here. The service was wonderful and the entire staff makes you feel at home. The food was outstanding, the best we had on our entire trip. They really want you to have a wonderful experience and their love for the country shows.
It is about a 4 hour drive from San Jose which is the only possible downfall. However, you do get a nice drive down the coast which was an adventure all its own. Definitely get a 4 wheel drive and take a canopy tour. They will even have someone come to the hotel for a massage if that is something you want to do.
The rooms are amazing with views of the mountains on one side and the ocean on the other. We spent every evening with the doors open, watching the sunset. Beautiful. People around the area come to this hotel just for the views and the food so staying there makes it that much easier to enjoy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel has it all - amazing views from everywhere in the hotel, beautiful rooms with quality bedding and furnishings, great food, great service. Only 5 rooms in the hotel so it was often as if you had the place to yourselves. The breakfast was fantastic and very filling, including fresh fruit plate and a main entree that changed daily. The restaurant is open all day which is unusual for a hotel of this size. The infinity pool and sunset are stunning. All of the staff are very helpful and friendly with advice about the area, what to do etc. There are also several quality restaurants in Ojochal including Azul, located in the hotel. Very tranquil location yet completely convenient to all activities in the area and the larger town of Uvita.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Castillo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Castillo Hotel

Also Known As:
El Castillo Hotel Costa Rica/Ojochal
Address: Calle Perezoso | 300 Mtrs Este de Costanera, Ojochal 60501, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Ojochal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Ojochal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Castillo Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A serene spot with an incredible view perched 300 feet above the Pacific Ocean. This cozy boutique hotel boasts an infinity pool, large rooms, spacious suites, king beds, air-conditioning, wi-fi, in-room safes and small refrigerators. All rooms have a view of the ocean and sunset. Castillo also has one of the top restaurants in the area. Truly a special hotel in a beautiful spot in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo and Priceline so you can book your El Castillo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Castillo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.