We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Introduction to Ojochal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Castillo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added El Castillo Hotel to your Saves list
El Castillo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Perezoso | 300 Mtrs Este de Costanera, Ojochal 60501, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ojochal
White Rock, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Introduction to Ojochal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Went for a day trip from Jaco, Costa Rica to Uvita, Bahia Ballenas. Bob and Laurie at the Roadhouse served up a delicious blackened Mahi Mahi sandwich and recommended El Castillo for a nice overnight stay. One mention of the infinity pool convinced my spouse that we needed to see this one.
Beautiful setting, fantastic views, classic Spanish style and perfect service by John the manager made this a delight. Sunset was spectacular from the perch 600 feet above the pacific. Breakfast included was fresh fruit followed by pancakes and eggs. The large room (#3) was air conditioned and looked out over the lovely infinity pool to the Pacific Ocean.
Landscaping was very nice and no road noise disturbed the night.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
50
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My husband planned a surprise trip for my 30th B-day and wow did he do a great job picking the hotel. You will not be disappointed here. The service was wonderful and the entire staff makes you feel at home. The food was outstanding, the best we had on our entire trip. They really want you to have a wonderful experience and their love for the country shows.
It is about a 4 hour drive from San Jose which is the only possible downfall. However, you do get a nice drive down the coast which was an adventure all its own. Definitely get a 4 wheel drive and take a canopy tour. They will even have someone come to the hotel for a massage if that is something you want to do.
The rooms are amazing with views of the mountains on one side and the ocean on the other. We spent every evening with the doors open, watching the sunset. Beautiful. People around the area come to this hotel just for the views and the food so staying there makes it that much easier to enjoy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel has it all - amazing views from everywhere in the hotel, beautiful rooms with quality bedding and furnishings, great food, great service. Only 5 rooms in the hotel so it was often as if you had the place to yourselves. The breakfast was fantastic and very filling, including fresh fruit plate and a main entree that changed daily. The restaurant is open all day which is unusual for a hotel of this size. The infinity pool and sunset are stunning. All of the staff are very helpful and friendly with advice about the area, what to do etc. There are also several quality restaurants in Ojochal including Azul, located in the hotel. Very tranquil location yet completely convenient to all activities in the area and the larger town of Uvita.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The one night my husband and I had unbooked on our recent trip to Costa Rica had us on line Christmas day trying to book a place to stay on route from deep in the jungle on our way into the mountains. I either didn't get responses or I got a closed for Christmas reply. Except Scott from El Castillo. He was immediately responsive to my back and forth inquiries about the hotel and booked a room for us with no credit card deposit. I was impressed with the trust he put in our word that we would be there the next day.

Having just spent 3 amazing nights in Carate deep in the jungle on the Osa Peninsula sort of roughing it with the heat, humidity, rough bed linens, and not sleeping well, we arrived at El Castillo and greeted by Scott's brother John who couldn't have been more kind and hospitable. High up on a hill this Mediterranean hotel sits. I felt like I was in Europe. Being open air the breezes softly moved through the hotel, also the lizards make their home on the ceilings, but keep to themselves. Ahh, a break from the humidity with a/c, wonderfully soft linens. The bathroom is tiny, no place to put anything and water spills out of the shower on to the floor. I had an incredible sleep.

The infinity pool is spectacular. The padded chaise lounges were very comfortable. The breakfast was delicious out by the pool. Dinner was just alright; there are some incredible restaurants right in town that I would recommend going elsewhere. Try Citrus or Exotica. You should know that between the bar and restaurant and music they play, you can hear the sound and music in your room because of the open air nature of the hotel. It stopped early and didn't bother us at all. Check out the beaches close by, Ventanas Beach. I so appreciated on our way out to the beach, John offering to lend us a blanket to bring with us. All in all, it was a perfect stop for comfort, cool off, enjoy the beauty and all the area has to offer. John went out of his way to please us and make our stay fantastic!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiden, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

What a fabulous little hotel this is. Situated about 200m above sea level above the Pacific Ocean, it has an Infinity pool overlooking the ocean with its spectacular sunsets.
John, the general manager, was very friendly and gave us a lot of tips for things to see, places to eat etc and generally looked after us extremely well. We originally only booked to stay here for 2 nights, but we quickly decided to extend our stay and ended up staying for 4 nights.
The rooms all overlook the ocean, and since there are only 5 rooms in a villa-style building it was very cosy.
The place was very clean, the breakfast was good, and dinner in the evenings was excellent.
In the nearby village there are a number of good restaurants, and of course excellent beaches lie at your feet, but we enjoyed the atmosphere of the hotel and its pool so much that we stayed around the pool for most of the time.
This was without doubt the best hotel we stayed at in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2, but they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This hotel is amazing with large, well-appointed rooms and spectacular views of the ocean extending from the infinity pool. Its location away from the larger resort towns makes it an excellent getaway spot without sacrificing any amenties. The restaurant is casual, yet sophisticated with an electic menu that didn't disappoint. The communal table was perfect for our group, and the service everywhere from the bar to the dining room to the living room to the pool was attentive without being obtrusive. John was so helpful coordinating activities with local companies, all of which were a great time (whitewater rafting, deep-sea fishing, ATV tour, etc.).

All of that being said - John, Russell, Scott, Will, David and the enire staff are really what made the stay a memorable one. I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious with great views - the suites have private balconies which are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

I haven't ever described anywhere as "perfect" before. But this hotel really is!

You walk in to the most spectacular views imaginable - over the ocean and the surrounding countryside. The infinity pool merges into the sea view. The room we stayed in was beautiful - with a huge, comfortable hardwood bed and views over the ocean. Dinner was fabulous. And the team running the place charming and friendly without being intrusive.

My only regret is not being able to stay longer.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Castillo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Castillo Hotel

Address: Calle Perezoso | 300 Mtrs Este de Costanera, Ojochal 60501, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Ojochal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ojochal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Castillo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A serene spot with an incredible view perched 300 feet above the Pacific Ocean. This cozy boutique hotel boasts an infinity pool, large rooms, spacious suites, king beds, air-conditioning, wi-fi, in-room safes and small refrigerators. All rooms have a view of the ocean and sunset. Castillo also has one of the top restaurants in the area. Truly a special hotel in a beautiful spot in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Castillo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Castillo Hotel Costa Rica/Ojochal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Castillo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.