We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inspiring views with delightful service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Castillo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added El Castillo Hotel to your Saves list
El Castillo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Perezoso | 300 Mtrs Este de Costanera, Ojochal 60501, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ojochal
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Inspiring views with delightful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My first time in Costa Rica and it was a pleasure. Russell, Scott, John and everyone at El Castillo were amazing. We spent Thanksgiving here and absolutely everything was wonderful. It was one of the best vacations that I have taken in a very long time. Waking up to toucans in the morning and coffee by the infinity pool overlooking the pacific is absolutely breath taking. We took their recommendations for the masage therapist, local places to eat, zip lining ..... you name it, you cant go wrong.. This is exactly the type of boutique environment that I love and they made our vacation special. The people of Costa Rica are very kind and genuine. We will definately be back and will bring friends to El Castillo. Thank you guys for a wonderful experience!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    10
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
75
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My friend and I decided to go on a vacation from our vacation in Manuel Antonio to Ojochal. This hotel did not disappoint. We arrived just before sunset and quickly ordered a drink. The backside of the hotel completely opens up to an infinity pool that overlooks the ocean from a few hundred feet up. The sunset was one of the best I had ever seen. We quickly decided to stay for another night.

There are 5 rooms, I recommend one of the 2 suites, but all of the rooms have amazing views of the ocean down below and are very comfortable. The staff was very helpful and always there to talk to. John, the manager, even came out with us to dinner one night.

I can't recommend this enough if you are looking for a quiet get away from the more populated areas and really want to treat yourself. I will be telling my friends and family about his place. I wish I didn't have to leave.

Thanks to John, Will, Russell, and Scott!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

from the moment we stepped out of our cab we knew we were in for a treat -- before even walking into the house you can see the infinity pool, extending out over the river and into the ocean. the design and staff make you feel instantly right at home. i am currently working in manuel antonio - a very heavily visited area by tourists, and had chosen to come here to Ojochal with my friend to get away for a bit - what turned into one night resulted in three as it was a complete paradise - not to mention incredible food at their restaurant Azul - try the moroccan chicken, you won't be sorry!! and huevos rancheros for breakfast (which you get to have poolside with the panorama view :)
be sure to get there in time for a sunset. they have impeccably picked music that is played throughout the casa - so in combination with a glass of wine and great company -- John, Russell Scott, Will, the chef - the whole staff/owner team are incredible and attentive -- and the unparalleled views,,,this will truly make for a memorable experience.
i hope to return soon!

Room Tip: ocean suite on the south side has a papaya tree by the window so you will be able to see toucans!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

First of all, this is the first time I have ever been motivated to write a TA review, but we loved this place. We were in CR for 10 days and stayed at some amazing properties (Xandari, Nayara, etc.). El Castillo was right up there with the best of them. It's a beautiful property (pretty small in terms of # of rooms), offering great, highly attentive service. Rooms were very well appointed, gorgeous views, infinity pool and a pretty "happening" bar and restaurant (Azul), serving excellent Mediterranean food. You will almost feel like family, as Scott, Russell, John and Will are perfect hosts. Stay here!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazu, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We spend the afternoon playing games (cranium), taking advantage of the happy hour (good prices: $2 for a beer) and later ate dinner. The hotel is like a big house turned into a hotel. It has fewer than 10 rooms, great service (which is difficult to find in Costa Rica) and the food was good. I has a chicken parmesan and some homemade ice cream and it tasted good (not spectacular, but great, especially considering it is far away). For a couple or small family that wants to spend a couple of days in a very relaxing little hotel, this is your place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominical, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My fiancé and I dined at Azul last night and were nothing less than impressed! Photos do not provide an adequate picture of the peaceful ambience and luxury of this hotel! We arrived at sunset and saw unobstructed views of pink/purple skies that reflected off the tranquil infinity pool. The decor is beautiful, with french style windows and a clean design. Dinner was amazing, and the staff and proprietors were welcoming and hospitable. Don't pass up seeing this place.... you will regret it if you don't!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed at El Castillo for 3 nights during a recent trip to Costa Rica. We'd read the glowing TripAdvisor reviews and hoped that we would have a similar experience. Given that the hotel was so small and relatively new, however, we expected that we may encounter some kinks in service. What we learned very quickly was that the hotel was gorgeous and the small staff was extremely well trained and genuinely cared about everything they did.

Upon our arrival we were greeted by a staff member named David, who informed us that they'd been expecting us and our room was ready. He carried our bag upstairs and when we tried to give him a tip, he courteously declined and said that it was his pleasure to help. This is the level of service we came to expect from the rest of our stay at El Castillo; genuinely helpful and kind.

The hotel itself is a beautiful Spanish villa and each of the rooms are very thoughtfully decorated to maintain a certain traditional charm while still being modern. We noticed lovely oversized photographs of different parts of the world mounted on acrylic scattered around the hotel. We later learned that Russell was responsible for not only for taking these photographs, but also painting much of the other artwork adorning the dining room and lobby. The windows are oversized and offer breathtaking views of the Pacific ocean and surrounding jungle. There was a flowering tree outside of our window where exotic birds would perch each morning. The rooms also appeared to be fairly well sealed, which not only made the air conditioning extra effective, but we saw only one or two flies in the room during our 3 day stay. That's pretty remarkable for Costa Rica.

We ate breakfast at the hotel all 3 days, and each day they offered us a fresh fruit plate garnished with tropical flowers and explained the day's special. We were also informed that if the day's special didn't sound appetizing, they would try to whip up whatever our hearts' desired with what they had on-hand in the kitchen. All of the food was delicious and fresh, using locally sourced ingredients. Scott and Russell stopped by our table during every single meal to make sure we were happy, and we always were.

Dinner was equally special. We noticed a few locals each night coming to the hotel to have a drink by the pool or eat dinner at the restaurant. The menu was surprisingly large given the size of the hotel, which was nice because we didn't need to eat the same thing more than once during our stay. On our final night at the hotel, Scott anticipated our arrival and prepared a special table for us next to the pool. The view is spectacular at night: the infinity pool is lit up and beyond you see the twinkling lights of the nearby island.

The premises were spotless, the pool was immaculate and even the patio furniture covers looked pristine. The lobby was constantly being primped, dusted and shined by the staff. The same was true of our room, which was absolutely spotless from top to bottom.

The location was perhaps a bit remote compared to most hotels in Costa Rica, but we intentionally wanted to get away from the crowds and find a secluded hideaway. In that respect this hotel was perfect. It was about a 3.5 drive from the San Juan airport, but the highways were new and modern and made for a very pleasant and scenic drive.

Scott and Russell were both genuinely warm and hospitable people, as were the rest of their small staff. My husband and I couldn't think of a single thing they could've done to make our stay more special and enjoyable. We will be returning to El Castillo the next time we visit Central America; in fact, we will probably build our trip around it.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have AC and face the ocean. There isn't a bad room in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojochal
0.0 mi away
Alma de Ojochal
Alma de Ojochal
#2 of 4 in Ojochal
5.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
12.7 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
10.8 mi away
Kura Design Villas Uvita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#3 of 12 in Dominical
5.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
18.2 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#8 of 12 in Uvita
4.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mamma e Papa
Hotel Mamma e Papa
#3 of 4 in Ojochal
5.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Castillo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Castillo Hotel

Address: Calle Perezoso | 300 Mtrs Este de Costanera, Ojochal 60501, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Ojochal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ojochal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Castillo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A serene spot with an incredible view perched 300 feet above the Pacific Ocean. This cozy boutique hotel boasts an infinity pool, large rooms, spacious suites, king beds, air-conditioning, wi-fi, in-room safes and small refrigerators. All rooms have a view of the ocean and sunset. Castillo also has one of the top restaurants in the area. Truly a special hotel in a beautiful spot in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your El Castillo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Castillo Hotel Costa Rica/Ojochal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Castillo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.